You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Question Of Growth

in #steemit6 years ago

Great post @headchange. Sadly it's true. A lot of us have grown together some faster some slower. Which that mainly has to do with the amount of personal funds invested. Today is officially 206 days. Almost everyone that I met that started about the same time as me are all now well over 50 and heading into 60. The main difference is I have not had the means to put personal funds into this. The gap is there though. I know a few that have made friends with other dolphins and with some whales to get a little guidance but the 'community' seems to be these are the people that run the newbie groups without any support for themselves. At least that's what I am seeing.

Just like now we're in an oddball gap. We're not newbies, we're not even officially minnows yet. We have a great amount of knowledge, a decent amount of support but have to do a lot of work on our own to keep growing. We still have to sell ourselves.

Where as @simplymike, @lynncoyle1, @wolfhart and @abh12345 now all have known reputations people look up to them and look to them for guidance. I know I do. How @simplymike does it I don't know. I think everyone is right she doesn't sleep. If not for her @newbiegames wouldn't have started or stayed as strong as it has, plus keeping up with her own postings. I know each one has busy lives and yet they give so freely back to us. I guess that's why I go cheerleader mode. I want them to know at least someone appreciates what they do. I think @lynncoyle1 and @wolfhart know that if it weren't for them I probably would have gone by the wayside like so many. One of the first people that actually commented on one of my first posts was @abh12345 I don't think he knows that..but the number cruncher he is, he might. It made an impact on me too.

Maybe we need to create a group Dolphins R US Minimum 50 rep with 300 SP. Closed invite to keep it to just those in that range and to keep the right attitude. Have it more of a think tank type of support, bounce ideas off of each other. Larger players, larger followers, larger upvotes and at least comments. Who knows.

Sort:  

Hi and thank you very much! The ability to add funds I thought was a huge advantage. I am beginning to wonder about that some. I was able to put in $70.00 early on. Right now my account value reads at 62.00
I had $500.00 set aside and was waiting for steem price to drop. About the time it did my FIL had a heart attack and a stroke. Naturally I used my play money to help him out with prescription and all the other assorted medical expenses that follow such events. At the time I was a bit deflated. Lets face it getting that first 500 Sp is extremely difficult.
I am starting to see a different perspective. Having that I would not have qualified for some of the contest and things that I now do. I would not be making the connections and gaining the knowledge and experience from those contest either. So there you are with that SP but having no support built up and not qualifying for many of the things that help to build that support.
But I do agree with you those who feed us must be fed. otherwise it slows up the whole system.
The oddball gap we are in is hard enough to navigate. Figuring out where to put time and effort is a job its self. I can't even fathom the added pressures of trying to be so helpful. I also owe a great dept to many. I read and study the workings of the platform quite a bit. I would have never figured out how to navigate at all without the guidance of those ahead of me.

I see a discussion group forming up in the #payitforward discord. I am sure the topic is going to be discussed quite a bit. I am very interest to read the input and ideas. I myself would love any opportunity to be an asset to those who have helped me along. I am positive many of us feel the same way.
I believe "where we go one we go all" surely does apply here.
I am very grateful to have met people like you who are so motivated. Nice to watch the process as we grow together.

He didn't know that, but is happy that it is the case :)

That comment really made me smile:) Thanks so much for stopping by.

A tag is really helpful, I don't know where to start some days and so I usually start with Ginabot 😊

Sorry I am still learning tag etiquette. You know the part about avoiding tag spam? I got that part down.😁

I love that he's talking in third person :) Of course he's the kind of guy that would be happy to hear such news!

A bit weird? I blame beer 😁

haha not weird...hilarious.

I hear he likes beer. A lot :) As long as he's not licking toads, it's all good :)

Only at the weekends!

😜🐸

haha @abh12345, my problem is once you retire, every day is a weekend 😎

I feel like this right now :D :D

Then let's just agree that we're both fine :) Enjoy! Cheers!

Good morning @lynncoyle1! Up before 🌄, I am "in here" doing some "curating," still reflecting on @abh12345's advice about it ...

"... once you retire, every day is a weekend ..."

Made me smile! Sounds like a tough problem to have, but presumably you're up to it! 😊

Looming larger for me, I hope to be joining you soon "in the struggle" ... 👍

Now, off to one of your posts, as something in there stood out to me, but at that point, didn't have the time (or frankly energy at day's end ...) to do justice to the "curating" I had in mind ...


P.S. Reply to your post, now delivered ... Off to my "day job" ...

hahaha @roleerob, it's a tough job, but someone has to do it :) I'm hoping that soon, you too can help bear this burden!

Now I'm off to have a look at your comment :) Thank you for this one..it made me smile!

I'm glad he knows that now :) and that he's happy!!

I don't have 300 SP yet... (almost 200 now with another 50 delegated to me from one of my roles.) I'm working on it as quickly as I can - though, like you, I don't have any money to invest into it, so it's literally everything I can build. I watch for opportunities such as contests and curation opportunities to help me increase my SBD.
I'd definitely like to see more initiatives to help dolphins to do better.

@viking-ventures That's good though, you're doing great!. I pretty much follow the same rule. The only thing that I have had happen is one of the groups I was very much a part of has kind of come to a halt. Personal issues :( I hope everything is ok with them, it's just hard to watch it fall apart. So now I need to find an alternative. I am finding out it's not good to have all of your eggs in one basket on this platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73