What is Max Accepted Payout? Mystery Solved by Community

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I see Max Accepted Payout on some of my articles. It is set to $1,000.00 but what does that mean? I am wondering as I see it more and more often.

maxpayout.jpg

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Edit to add these I found after @bryan-imhoff brought up time left on the articles.

15 hours left:

12 hours left:

11 hours left:

Cashed out:

Weird if you ask me. I have searched Steemit for "max accepted payout" and got nothing. Complete mystery.

Mystery solved

Thanks to @bryan-imhoff for his help in solving this problem. It is my using @Streemian on a few posts. As you can see, the scheduled posts through that service all have the Max Accepted Payout.

Sort:  

Hmm. No clue! Are you only noticing it on posts that are close to payout time? If so I'm thinking it could have something to do with the final period of time where only downvotes count into value calculations. When that period starts perhaps the software sets a certain cap that still leaves room for activity elsewhere on the site and fluctuation in Steem value to alter the payout tally.

Updated the original article with more examples. Thanks for mentioning the time frame.

What interface are you posting through? I found this example that does show how max payout is something that can be user set with the reward split feature. If you're posting on eSteem, ChainBB etc. maybe they have a default set?

Also, on my steemd.com info I can see my max accepted payout set to $1,000,000 SBD on my posts created through Steemit. I don't see any details on yours when I glanced at it.

Steemit.com I don't even see anything like setting beneficiaries and such.

[

Yeah, it's not available yet on Steemit... I do see some posts of yours set at that $1,000 max, no idea why. Here's one. I don't know if this is a glitch or what. Hypothetically if your post went huge, if this setting was on you'd cap out at $1,000... It's definitely a legit field in the blockchain. Setting it to 0 is the same as declining payout. Why your getting this arbitrary value I don't know, I haven't noticed it myself.

Weird. I have only posted through Steemit.com (I have a couple of posts through Streemian but they have nothing about Max Accepted Payout). I don't think I am even signed up on ChainBB or the other one you mentioned.

See if you can figure out if it's isolated to the posts made through Streemian. It could be they have a couple decimal places off in the info that's submitted when they post to the blockchain and need to fix it. That number has to be submitted whether there's a user interface you see or not. On Steemit here it seems that decline payout = 0; accepting payout = 1,000,000. But it can be set at anything as the Steemwhales tool I linked demonstrates. It's the only thing I can think of.

Looked up the Streemian scheduled posts. Each does indeed have the Max Accepted Payout alert and the non-streemian posts don't. That must be Streemian then. Thank you for your help.

very interesting!

Yes very interesting. I hope you find an answer so we can all know!

I have never heard of this before, but it was nice to learn something new about Streemian! It won't affect me in any way, cause I won't ever get a $1,000 post, but it's still nice to know.

It makes me wonder if some people have actually written a $1,000+ post on Streemian and been limited by this before?

Good question. Adding to that, what happens to the extra? The portion above $1,000. Does that got Streemian or to the null account here on Steemit?

I don't think anyone gets it. The amount over $1,000 just stays in the reward pool, just like what would happen if you put "decline payout" when making a post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61905.09
ETH 2902.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55