You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Max Accepted Payout? Mystery Solved by Community

in #steemit7 years ago

Hmm. No clue! Are you only noticing it on posts that are close to payout time? If so I'm thinking it could have something to do with the final period of time where only downvotes count into value calculations. When that period starts perhaps the software sets a certain cap that still leaves room for activity elsewhere on the site and fluctuation in Steem value to alter the payout tally.

Sort:  

Updated the original article with more examples. Thanks for mentioning the time frame.

What interface are you posting through? I found this example that does show how max payout is something that can be user set with the reward split feature. If you're posting on eSteem, ChainBB etc. maybe they have a default set?

Also, on my steemd.com info I can see my max accepted payout set to $1,000,000 SBD on my posts created through Steemit. I don't see any details on yours when I glanced at it.

Steemit.com I don't even see anything like setting beneficiaries and such.

[

Yeah, it's not available yet on Steemit... I do see some posts of yours set at that $1,000 max, no idea why. Here's one. I don't know if this is a glitch or what. Hypothetically if your post went huge, if this setting was on you'd cap out at $1,000... It's definitely a legit field in the blockchain. Setting it to 0 is the same as declining payout. Why your getting this arbitrary value I don't know, I haven't noticed it myself.

Weird. I have only posted through Steemit.com (I have a couple of posts through Streemian but they have nothing about Max Accepted Payout). I don't think I am even signed up on ChainBB or the other one you mentioned.

See if you can figure out if it's isolated to the posts made through Streemian. It could be they have a couple decimal places off in the info that's submitted when they post to the blockchain and need to fix it. That number has to be submitted whether there's a user interface you see or not. On Steemit here it seems that decline payout = 0; accepting payout = 1,000,000. But it can be set at anything as the Steemwhales tool I linked demonstrates. It's the only thing I can think of.

Looked up the Streemian scheduled posts. Each does indeed have the Max Accepted Payout alert and the non-streemian posts don't. That must be Streemian then. Thank you for your help.

No problem! I haven't signed up through them, but I'd definitely drop a note to any support link they have or link the developer to here. $1k is artificially low and could accidentally screw someone out of a big payday!

The nice thing is this shows just how much untapped power is under the hood of the Steem blockchain as we await the tool development to give us great control.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68493.85
ETH 3838.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64