What Are My Top 5 Most Relevant Witnesses On Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

This is Day Four of @ dragosroua’s #challenge30days writing challenge. For more info on the challenge, Click Here. Today’s prompt is “What Are The Top 5 Most Relevant Witnesses On Steemit? Why?”

Obviously this can be a delicate topic, as Dragos points out in the prompt article, but it’s also one where we each get a chance to highlight some of the people who we think are doing well and making a difference in the Steem blockchain and community. Most of the people I highlight will be ones with whom I have interacted personally. I like them and want to support them/their goals.

photo-1495510096779-5fbe73258c83.jpg
A Witness in His Natural Habitat
Source: Unsplash

My Picks

@steemcommunity

This is a join project run by @abh12345 and @paulag. ABH has been running an engagement contest for the last few months that is one of the best things about Steemit. The contest is designed to reward meaningful engagement with other Steemians based on a number of metrics, but overall it’s about connecting with people. People are what make the platform great (and valuable), so this is something I’d like to see more of throughout Steemit. Maybe each witness could be required to have their own engagement league. (No, you wouldn’t be allowed to enter multiple leagues.) Paula has been collaborating with ABH to keep this contest running and by sponsoring prizes to the best performers. This team is a witness based on engagement!

@dragosroua

Yes, it may seem like I’m sucking up, but being that I haven’t given all 30 of my witness votes and I’ve been voting for Dragos for a while, maybe you can see this for what it is. I starting voting for Dragos because he is relatable and because he explains things in terms that a newer person can understand. I’ve been here for a few months now, but if I run across something that doesn’t make sense, I can almost predict that Dragos will post an article explaining it before I can ask the question. Yes, he’s that good. He also has a strong engagement with the community. He votes for as many comments as he can (even if they’re not works of art) and will actually comment back if you reach out. I appreciate that he’s reachable.

@mahdiyari

He’s the one who created SteemAuto and that is one of my favorite apps for Steemit. It has made my life so much easier since I started using it, and he’s improved it since then. If you want to automatically vote for a friend you’re supporting, SteemAuto will allow you to do that so you don’t miss giving them any votes. You can set the weight, the timing, and now you can even set the number of their posts that get votes each day. This is a great tool for helping reward authors who create great content and are helping build the future of the platform.

photo-1455165814004-1126a7199f9b.jpg
Actual Witness At Work
Source: Unsplash

@ura-soul

Here’s a witness who’s trying to shake things up. Sometimes things can get stagnant and settle into grooves, but I like Ura-Soul’s creativity and vision for making it so all Steemians can succeed. He’s the creator of Steem Ocean which “looks at voting patterns and ranks users by their ability and willingness to upvote others users.” This helps give visibility into people’s voting trends and actions (e.g. Are they self-voting 95% of the time?)

@danielsaori

As you can tell from my list, I really value community engagement. Daniel is one of those people. He has been running comment challenges for quite a while now that have been getting many people talking with each other and connecting with new people. This is one of the things that is critical to the long-term success of Steem(it). He recently started his witness and has been doing great. After missing the first block due to the spam attacks that hit the witnesses, he hasn’t missed a block since. I’m excited to follow his progress as he continues working to make Steem great!

Conclusion

There you have it, my top Five picks for witnesses. In case you missed it, my main theme was community/engagement. I appreciate people who brings others together and who are willing to take the time to connect. The main reason I spend time on Steemit is there are people here who I like and want to support. People and tools that help me reach that end are likely to get my support.

- What witnesses have been impactful for you?


Previous Writing Contest Entries


Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

@danielsaori once blessed me with 200Sp delegation. I'm a witness... Yaaayyy...It was awesome. #smiles

It's fun getting a delegation from someone. I know it has helped me to be able to spread more around to different people. When you know that someone is helping others out, it makes you happy to vote for someone as witness. :)

Yeaaa... Sure.. There are rare gems here.. He's one of them
You are too... Even if we dont know your name 😊😊

Thank you! I'm glad you've found my articles entertaining/useful. :)

Thanks for the sincere mention @themanwithnoname! We are doing very well on @dragosroua's writing comps! :D

It's funny how when you ask the community which witnesses they like that they would choose the ones who engage with them. Well, not really that surprising. You're doing a great job being a leader and I hope more people are able to see that you're worth their vote for witness.

Great pick of witnesses you support , these persons has contributed greatly to the success of this platform in their various fields and they truly deserves our supports @themanwithnoname

I'm glad you think so. What are your favorite witnesses and why?

Awesome Themanwithnoname! :) I appreciate the shout-out and your kind words.
I wish you a nice weekend!

You're welcome! Love what you're doing. I hope it continues to go well and that this helps you get more exposure. Enjoy your weekend as well!

Great picks! Thank you for your suggestions. :)

You're welcome! I'm glad they were helpful for you. Have you changed any of your votes as a result of reading articles?

I just finally got all 30 of my votes in, so I haven't changed any, but I have selected new ones based on recommendations. How about you?

I'm still filling out my 30, so no changes yet. We'll see what happens.

I thought, "Oh, great, he's copying me!" but then you diverged nicely with your last three picks. :)

I just got to get with it and get around to these folks' blogs I guess. I've seen danielsaori around and both you and Dave like him (and how bad can a guy be with a penguin as his avatar? or are penguins the chickens of the south pole?). I don't know much about the other two other than I think I see the occasional comment by uras-soul.

Just gotta keep getting out there.

Ha ha, no, I actually hadn't read your post until I saw your comment and realized that I must have missed it. I just read it now, but I'll save my comments for it for there.

The cool thing about Steemit is that you keep meeting new people. Interactions in one area will open up even more interactions as you meet new people. I can't remember how I encountered the first #ssg person, but I'm glad I did because now I have a whole group of people that I can follow and see their posts on silver (and gold). I have a shared interest and that opens more doors.

At one point early in my career, I would see who was commenting on my "friends's" blogs and visit those people's blogs. I would also see where certain people were commenting and check out the person they were commenting on. Just ways to find new people to follow.

Take luck! ;)

I guess I'm still looking for that niche group to interact with. I mean, the leagues bring together those who want to engage, but that generally takes us all over the place across all kinds of subjects, and each one of us has our own likes and such.

I'd try go get in with the creatives, but I'm not so much into talking about the craft or critiquing as I am actually crafting, so I don't know. It's early into my time here on Steemit so who knows what I'll come across in the next few months. I've already discovered things I didn't even know existed. Like flat earthers. I thought that went out of vogue centuries ago, but nope.

Yeah, the engagement league topics can run the gamut. It's often not hard to get interested or connect with topics at least a little, but to truly become a engulfed in the topic, it has to be specific to your tastes.

I don't really have any recommendations other than keep trying. Eventually you'll find something. Or maybe someone else is looking for something and just waiting for you to create it. The resurgence of the Flat Earth Theory has baffled me. Granted, I haven't traveled the whole earth, but I have been in a plane. From 30,000 feet you can see that there's a curvature to this thing. I've been hearing about some basketball player who thinks the earth is flat. He's been in planes too and should have been able to look out the window and see. Maybe he always got stuck with an aisle seat. Poor rich guy.

My guess is there a part of the group that persists that we've never gone to the moon, and that all of the satellite photos we have of earth and every other planet is faked. At any rate, baffling is a good word.

Oh, but see, you're not really looking out he window. You're only seeing what they want you to see.

I had to look up the basketball player. Unless there's more than one, it was Kyrie Irving, and it happened on a podcast that may have been out there to begin with. I think he's been walking it back, and just got caught up in the moment.

So many things going on that we need to know about and don't, and yet we have to expend time and energy on things that just don't make sense. Why would the government want us to think the world was round, enough to fake every photo, the moon landing, and apparently every related scientific study. I mean, come on people. I know the government is big, but they'd need entire departments dedicated to keeping that secret. Plus more departments to keep every other secret.

Probably should stop.

I wonder if the flat earthers know they're siding with the early Church on this one?

Okay, now I will. :)

I'm sure there are people who still don't think we've made it. I don't know what they seek to gain other than attention, but they have a right to their ideas. Baffling is a good word for it.

I heard that they project movies into the the plane windows that make it appear that the earth is round as you're flying. It's all a scam, man. ;)

Kyrie Irving sounds right. I honestly thought there were multiple guys, but I can't keep track. I don't know how he got to that point to begin with, but he should just keep quiet about it and then come back later and say we were all stupid and gullible, that it was a bit he was doing to audition for a movie role.

I think the government has a wide reach. I don't know that it's big enough to fake all that though. I'm just going to go back to writing about things on Steemit and if I fall off the edge, I fall off the edge.

Great job here Blondie! I like your selections and it just proves that maybe my name is really not known :P (ie that would make me your brother) ;)

I'm glad you agreed. I thought about including your name, but didn't. I don't remember my decision-making process on that. Yes, that does make us brothers! Welcome to the family. The newsletter comes out soon. We're really excited about the reunion this year. It's going to be amazing!

awesome, I've found my long lost clan :) ... I can't wait to see the newsletter, the Nameless Gazette :D... And yes on the reunion I will be happy to attend, but I hope we don't have it at the place with no name because my GPS might now find it. :P

Actually, now that you mention it, we just call it "The ______ Gazette." ;) Don't worry, you'll know the place when it's time. That's how we all know that we haven't been disavowed by the family. It's built into our nature. Wait, that's starting to take a strange turn. Ha ha.

I'm loving these 5 witness posts @themanwithnoname. It's great to get some new ideas from people you trust. And to see that @abh12345 is doing well from it! 😁

You have added a couple more I be looking into so thank you!

Hope you're having a fun weekend! 😊

I'm glad it was helpful. I think a lot of people doing the challenge felt it was too political, but I just talked about some of the people I have talked with who I think are cool. They seem to be nice and have good ideas for the future of the platform.

That's cool you were able to get more ideas for new ones. Hopefully you're able to find more witnesses that you like and can vote for.

Yeah, weekend has been good so far. I hope you're enjoying yours as well. Maybe go for one of those walks by the water. :)

Until I started reading these witness posts I had no idea that the whole witness thing was so political @thehorsewithnoname.

It seems from a post I read yesterday it's just like elsewhere on Steemit, the ones with the most power make the most money and control most of the important decisions about the future of the platform. Pretty depressing I felt.

I didn't get to the water today but got out into the countryside to take some pictures.

Tomorrow we have the grandchildren again and the plan is to go to a big country park so I can photograph the bluebells before they're over. The ones I saw today were already going to seed.

Then, hopefully we'll get back in time for another session on the beach! 😁

It's like most places, those with power keep the power. I chose to focus on the smaller fish that I know than the power players.

Yes, hopefully you're able to get out and take some awesome pictures before you have the kiddos come visit. Have fun!

Yeah. Me too @themanwithnoname. I'm really enjoying being able to upvote more with the delegted help from @abh12345 and, if the price of Steem goes back down I'm seriously considering investing some FIAT and buying me some more power! 😂

I had 500 Euros ready to invest at EAster and never got around to it as I was too busy enjoying myself. Then the price of Steem went up so I bailed.

Have you invested at all?

Yes, the delegation from Asher has helped immensely. It's nice to be able to spread the votes around to more people rather than dropping 100s on everything. That's a quick way to blow through your VP.

I haven't invested any fiat. My account has all been through organic growth. I considered getting more Steem when the price was lower, but I like the idea of growing this account on it's own. Good for you if you choose to invest more though!

Yes @themanwithnoname. I started out wanting to see how well I could do without investing but then saw people who joined at the same time streaking "ahead" because they'd invested which made me have a bit of a rethink.

i would like to invest int cryptocurrency anyway so it makes sense to start with Steem. But, as I said, I'm waiting for the price to come back down which, of course, might never happen. 😁

That makes sense. It's hard to see someone who started at the same time making a lot more progress than you. Although, if they're not self-voting and their payouts are low, it might not be benefiting them much. Although it is a help to the platform. In the long-term it can be worth it though.

Yeah, it makes sense to start with what you know. If you're already Steeming then you have inside insight on how things might go. The price will come down. I don't know if it will be under $1, but there will be more opportunities.

This was very informative for me.

I too like community/engagement from witnesses and did my post pretty much with that in mind too. You brought up names I was not familiar with so you gave me more information to ponder and search out!

@ura-soul's name keeps coming up a lot in the day 4 question posts so I guess I need to find out more about them!

so much to learn if you want.

I'm glad it helped you get a better idea of some of the witnesses that I think are making Steem great. Glad to hear that you support witnesses that are community-minded as well.

I'm just getting to the point of understand the witness voting. I realize I need to start using my votes. I will be checking out the witnesses you wrote about. I like you believe that a witness' community involvement is important.

I also love steemauto and have given @mahdiyari my vote.

I'm glad it was helpful for you. As an almost-minnow I don't have a ton of influence on the witness list, but it's still important to vote for people who we think are supporting Steem. I'm interested to see who you end up voting for. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65