SteemStem, Steemit and Entitlement: Grow up

in #steemit6 years ago

Today, I read that @steemstem are going to take a break to restructure...

GOOD! It is about time.

 
As the more scientific community at planet Steem, this is what has to happen and should happen more in my opinion. Projects, apps and teams need to take a step back and review their goals, processes to achieve them and success rates. They also need to take a long, hard objective look at their behaviours and think if what they do is in the best interest of the community, or just their community.

Not enough projects are doing this and seem to take the approach of, as long as people don't complain too much about our behaviour, all is well. Kudos to @steemstem management for stepping up and I hope that you will make some good decisions for the future that support the larger community.

Now, I have nothing to do with Steemstem and from what I have heard from reliable ears, SteemStem likes it that way. But, I am interested in behaviours and their reason for the hiatus, Entitlement, as it runs rampant through this system and the system encourages it to some degree.

Lets have a quick look at Entitlement for a moment:

Entitlement

  • the fact of having a right to something.

  • the amount to which a person has a right.

  • the belief that one is inherently deserving of privileges or special treatment.

Which one do you think Steemit users have?

In this world, you are entitled to nothing. Sounds harsh I know but, all of the rights are not laws of nature, they are laws of society and can change at any time. However, in regards to the laws of Steemit, you do have entitlements. When it comes to voting entitlements do you know what you are entitled to?

Your vote.

 
That is it, that is the only vote you have any rights over, it is yours to do with what you please but, even this has caveats (at least for me) as my vote is made possible by the community that has granted it. Without Steemit, development, followers, commenters, investors, friends, family and everyone else who has granted me their support, my vote is worth 0. In fact, less, it doesn't exist at all.

You may even argue "Hey, I bought in!", but what have you bought into? It is a community with a public pool with a value granted it by a community who has decided it has value. You have bought into the right to be part of that community, act like it for F* sake.

This means that even though you 'own' your stake and can do with it what you wish, if you think that what is yours is yours because you have earned it alone, you are sorely mistaken. There are a myriad connections, relationships, people, ideas, services, markets, sites and who knows what else that have aligned to give your stake-based vote a value. Grow up and open your eyes, you have a responsibility to the community that has granted you this opportunity.

Now, back to feelings of entitlement. Kill them. They are harming you, they are harming the platform, they are destroying your content. How so?

When you get used to circumstances and expect certain reward and treatment, you become soft, complacent, uncaring, automatic, lose your edge, get fat, lazy and out of touch with reality. You lose sensitivity to the world around you and become blind to the many problems it faces, and blind to those who support you. In my opinion, you become undeserving of being part of the community and do not deserve reward for your behaviours.

You take it all for granted.

 
The harsh reality is that for the majority of people here earning high rewards, in the 'real-world' their content would get exactly what it is likely worth, zero. The exact same value as their entitlement level. We need to all get over ourselves a bit here and take a look at what we are actually doing at times.

I am under no illusion that my content in the real world would struggle, or at the very least, I would have to jump through a large amount of hoops to monetise it either on various platforms or, to get it published. Some people here have published real-world books, how much do you think they earned on them and what did they have to do to get it? All those Youtube stars are here for a reason too and it isn't just censorship concerns.

But again, I am under no illusion that in regards to the level of most content here, mine is at the higher end of the scale. Does this entitle me to high rewards? No, it doesn't. What it does do is open up the opportunity to people who may be willing to upvote some quality work from time to time from someone who is pushing himself as hard as possible and trying to still build the community. But still, I am not entitled to a damn thing here. Neither are you.

That is the reason for this place if you haven't realised, it is meant to take away the entitlements of the privileged and level the playing field a bit, it is meant to give opportunity to a wider community. Unfortunately though, early distribution of stake and people's thinking that it truly is theirs means that the same entitlements of the real world are replicated here.

You'd think that they would have learned because for many here, the real world hasn't treated them too kindly, yet here they are, acting it out word for word again pretending that they are somehow different to the authoritarian oppressors and the privileged upper-class it has maintained for centuries.

We have a large opportunity to make this place something brilliant but people's sense of entitlement needs to be abolished and replaced with a sense of duty of care to work and put back into the community that has granted them an opportunity. People need to start taking responsibility, not value.

Community builders should take precedence over extractors but, that is up to the community to decide and no matter what someone does here, they are still entitled to nothing.

In these early times, perhaps it should be less about quality of content and more about quality of character that is deserving of support.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

When you get used to circumstances and expect certain reward and treatment, you become soft, complacent, uncaring, automatic, lose your edge, get fat, lazy and out of touch with reality.

An article with some very harsh but true words. We're entitled to nothing and we shouldn't take this platform nor opportunity for granted. If you expect nothing, you only have everything to gain. Always good to read these articles and keep the feet on the ground.

If you expect nothing, you only have everything to gain.

I think this attitude allows for a more honest working methodology too.

Brilliantly put. I will be a bit soft on the newbies if they feel a certain sense of entitlement, I will blame those that brought them to the platform instead for not infusing the right ideology into them. I was once in this situation but my orientation changed after a while. I dropped my 'sense of entitlement 'quite fast and reorientated myself to work for the growth of steem and steemit at large. I believe every little effort adds to the bottom line.

I believe if newbies are given the right orientation before joining the platform, we will have less of this problem. I curate for steemstem and sacrificed a lot in the process but never complain for once because I have a strong believe in the future of steem and steemit which we have to work for now. Steemstem would be back, stronger, better and more focussed. ☺️

I believe if newbies are given the right orientation before joining the platform, we will have less of this problem.

I think this for many areas, some people should not be onboarding yet as they themselves haven't the knowledge or means to support them. The information coming in isn't great for newbies either.

In this world, you are entitled to nothing. Sounds harsh I know but, all of the rights are not laws of nature, they are laws of society and can change at any time.

Oh if only more people shared this view the world would be so much better off. Don't understand why people think they deserve anything in life. If you aren't willing to earn it you don't deserve it.

yep. and when they do decide to 'earn' it, they think it requires being an ass.

It's funny how this issue crosses boarders and has infected what feels like the entire lot of "1st world" countries. How is it even possible that the global powers could allow such a major step backwards in human production. It isn't even about work production, it's everything. Ask someone to cook, to install a new faucet, replace an electric outlet, sew a button on a shirt, hell just iron a shirt and they just can't.

People are becoming sloths. They think because they woke up in the morning they have accomplished something. They feel their life is so busy because they cram in all sorts of unproductive activities that something was going on most of their day. They feel connected with their "friends" and family because of social media yet they don't actually talk or see them.

OK off my soap box...had to rant for a minute. Feel better now.

Well said @tarazkp

the way I write is too hard, the words too difficult and structure too complex for them to understand.

  • This post is very easy to understand.
    • You are stepping on some toes with extreme tact.
      • I think what you say applies to a lot of communities I've seen around Steemit in my short time here (36 days)

you said it and the post your referred to said it...

One small team cannot replace the engagement of a community: commenting, voting, encouraging each other. That is what we hoped our members would do. Some do. Most do not.

  • I was extremely excited to see SteemSTEM, thinking in this decentralized world of Steemit, we might find open discussion of technologies that exist, yet which were bought by big corporations and set on the shelf. (End of discussion... No upsetting the apple cart...)
    • I was very disheartened when I found out it was mainly corporate science, bought and paid for through corporate and government grants that give you the hypothesis and the hopeful (perhaps recommended is a better word, for if you do not come up with the proper result, you probably won't get any more grants from us...) end result of your experiment.
      • After reading the comments for awhile, I stopped even checking them out...
        In fact if I saw SteemSTEM, I ran away as fast as I could...

These words would ring truer if the behavior of many of the upper crust here acted as you. It seems many of the witnesses here (at least the ones more well known) have led the way in the declaration this is a platform to solely profit from in the short term. Many of them do not seem to curate a damn thing, that would take away from their ability to sell their votes, often at a profit (yes, bidbots are more often than not a loss for the buyer of the vote, a profit for the bot owner).

Yours is one of the few voices I see talking about the long term vision, which is why I have followed you (I don't follow many). But truthfully it looks from my newer perspective this will not get better, just worse. I am ignorant of many things still in regards to this platform, however from what I see it appears to be a train out of control. Signups are waiting weeks to a month to get in (is this so they have to pay for their account?), then you have these whale personality wars where the reasons giving for warring seem to be fake as they mostly all seem to exhibit the same behavior they are claiming to fight.

I like your assessment of what this platform should be, but honestly I don't see how it ever can be when the top dogs decide it won't be. My little puny not even worth .01 vote is shit in influencing anyone. I do know I am convinced now after a month of being here I will not buy any more Steem to send to this platform. Whatever crumbs I may earn I will put back into the system, but the authorities here crying doom and gloom have convinced me that while Steem might be a good investment, this platform is not.

It is a reflection of society, where the politicians sell out the people through bribes. Here, even many of the witnesses sell their votes for profit knowing it is hard to be seen for newcomers in the 30 seconds your post shows up in new.

In my view, the entitlement is coming from the top down, not from those who are new. We are fed this line of crap about making money for posts, no censorship, communities of people etc. The only part that is true is the community part, but only if you seek them out. They will never find you in this mess where visibility is being sold.

End of my rant, and for what it is worth I thank you for saying the things you do, your actions bearing witness you believe the ideas you write about.

I am not sure if they predicted the bidbots with HF19 but they definitely are a negative and even though people claim them for visibility, it does very little in my opinion to solve that problem.

There are witnesses here who are thinking long-term though and they are often also the ones who are acting in the best interest of the platform. It is hard to see them though isn't it amongst the creators and supports of bidbots?

Entitlement comes at all levels in my opinion here as everyone has an expectation of earning. The amounts they expect vary greatly though.

It is a reflection of society, where the politicians sell out the people through bribes.

Yes, yet many claim they are ancaps but act like crooked polies and colluding conglomerates.

If people want this to actually be significant in the future, people need to step themselves up, all people.

and even though people claim them for visibility, it does very little in my opinion to solve that problem.

This is absolute truth. I bought them to get on the hot page for at least an hour or two so my posts would be visible for more than 30 seconds. I have even gained followers. Yet those followers don't vote, they don't comment. The few real votes I have had all have come from others I initiated contact with on their posts. My advice to all newer people is don't pay these bots.

I haven't made my investment back on them once curation rewards are taken out. This would still be ok if not for the fact not one person was interested enough to engage with me. Now, I realize my personality and topics won't appeal to the majority, but surely if many people were using the hot list I would have found a couple. I am unsure how many even look at those lists. I don't for the most part. After my first week of using them I found enough people who I identified with that I use those they resteem for the most part to find others, or people who comment on their posts.

That is the only real strategy a new person will find any success with. You will not be found by the community, you must take responsibility and find your community. Any other way is just a hustle in the hopes of a quick gain that usually won't be for anyone but those selling their favor. Throw out any ideas of making money and if it happens it happens slowly over time. If not, then at least you found others who you click with.

I agree 100%. I believe that some of the behaviours and values some community's empower and promote have lasting and detrimental effects on the platform.

I've heard a lot about SteemSTEM from @alexdory and @svemirac and it's very promising to here what they are all about.

We have been creating a community called BuddyUP which is centered around encouragement and engagement. We've built a platform that rewards these two traits and hopefully over time we will see a ripple effect within our community.

Too many people who aren't willing to express thoughtfully and continue to fall into the trap of unproductive and detrimental social patterns.

@buddyup

The quality of character is what defines the direction which we are headed are a community. We've witness a lot of damaging wars here for sometimes now and what's the cause of it, disagreement over the quality of characters and entitlements to votes. The truth still remains that those who are at fault knows exactly that they are, but for some selfish reasons, have decided to justify their greed on the ground that this is a free society. Often times when I looked at certain behaviours here, I have a feeling there will be no salvation for mankind. For most part, our heart is black and we decide not to look beyond our nose as long as our stomach is filled.

I think that in time, some of the issues will sort themselves out as is the way with most 'new' communities. It is hard to see that happening at times though.

You're 100% correct that we are entitled to nothing here. The part of this post that I think EVERYONE needs to takeaway is how difficult it is to monetize your content outside of steemit. 99% of posts that go to Steemit would receive 0 cents if you simply started out a website.

I got to know about steemstem recently and wrote a post by using that tag only on today.Unfortunately,no one is going to read it as always as steemstem team is taking a break.I had interactions with some regular steemstem beneficiaries on discord..They are fearless of their own future on steemit as far as steemstem is present.Most of them have quality of content; not quality of charecter! I love those authors for what they are contributing here..They really make much efforts than many of us,But at times seem to forgot community!

When an organization is starting up and people want it to grow, people need to forget about their own personal benefits and think more about how to give to the organization and make it grow first

I feel that mostly, people do not see themselves as investors in a startup; they see themselves as bloggers who are here to make money not friends.

As a result, they do not see that they have a responsibility to keep the platform running. They think that because they own stakes not only in steem but in other cryptos, they can whether the storm, if steemit goes from beta to zero.

Until we come to realise that these steemit is a three layered project, we will keep on failing at it.

First steemit is a game and everybody wants a win but it is a game that demands you be a part of a community, an active part, to win.

Secondly it is a social experiment. I believe that enough data on how human beings behave when given power and authority, can be collated from this platform. The blockchain has all the info and it cannot be edited.

Steemit is backed by faith in the system. The moment that faith fails, everyone will pack their bags and go home.

Therefore, what we do or not do with reflect on the health of the platform and will make the difference between a decentralized wealth sharing system or a refresh of the old modus operandi.

Agreed, this is a good way to look at the platform and all three points I try to cover at various times. Thanks for summarising it so eloquently.

It is a start-up philosophy that gets lost in a decentralised community of people who likely have never had any experience with one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46