You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemStem, Steemit and Entitlement: Grow up

in #steemit6 years ago

These words would ring truer if the behavior of many of the upper crust here acted as you. It seems many of the witnesses here (at least the ones more well known) have led the way in the declaration this is a platform to solely profit from in the short term. Many of them do not seem to curate a damn thing, that would take away from their ability to sell their votes, often at a profit (yes, bidbots are more often than not a loss for the buyer of the vote, a profit for the bot owner).

Yours is one of the few voices I see talking about the long term vision, which is why I have followed you (I don't follow many). But truthfully it looks from my newer perspective this will not get better, just worse. I am ignorant of many things still in regards to this platform, however from what I see it appears to be a train out of control. Signups are waiting weeks to a month to get in (is this so they have to pay for their account?), then you have these whale personality wars where the reasons giving for warring seem to be fake as they mostly all seem to exhibit the same behavior they are claiming to fight.

I like your assessment of what this platform should be, but honestly I don't see how it ever can be when the top dogs decide it won't be. My little puny not even worth .01 vote is shit in influencing anyone. I do know I am convinced now after a month of being here I will not buy any more Steem to send to this platform. Whatever crumbs I may earn I will put back into the system, but the authorities here crying doom and gloom have convinced me that while Steem might be a good investment, this platform is not.

It is a reflection of society, where the politicians sell out the people through bribes. Here, even many of the witnesses sell their votes for profit knowing it is hard to be seen for newcomers in the 30 seconds your post shows up in new.

In my view, the entitlement is coming from the top down, not from those who are new. We are fed this line of crap about making money for posts, no censorship, communities of people etc. The only part that is true is the community part, but only if you seek them out. They will never find you in this mess where visibility is being sold.

End of my rant, and for what it is worth I thank you for saying the things you do, your actions bearing witness you believe the ideas you write about.

Sort:  

I am not sure if they predicted the bidbots with HF19 but they definitely are a negative and even though people claim them for visibility, it does very little in my opinion to solve that problem.

There are witnesses here who are thinking long-term though and they are often also the ones who are acting in the best interest of the platform. It is hard to see them though isn't it amongst the creators and supports of bidbots?

Entitlement comes at all levels in my opinion here as everyone has an expectation of earning. The amounts they expect vary greatly though.

It is a reflection of society, where the politicians sell out the people through bribes.

Yes, yet many claim they are ancaps but act like crooked polies and colluding conglomerates.

If people want this to actually be significant in the future, people need to step themselves up, all people.

and even though people claim them for visibility, it does very little in my opinion to solve that problem.

This is absolute truth. I bought them to get on the hot page for at least an hour or two so my posts would be visible for more than 30 seconds. I have even gained followers. Yet those followers don't vote, they don't comment. The few real votes I have had all have come from others I initiated contact with on their posts. My advice to all newer people is don't pay these bots.

I haven't made my investment back on them once curation rewards are taken out. This would still be ok if not for the fact not one person was interested enough to engage with me. Now, I realize my personality and topics won't appeal to the majority, but surely if many people were using the hot list I would have found a couple. I am unsure how many even look at those lists. I don't for the most part. After my first week of using them I found enough people who I identified with that I use those they resteem for the most part to find others, or people who comment on their posts.

That is the only real strategy a new person will find any success with. You will not be found by the community, you must take responsibility and find your community. Any other way is just a hustle in the hopes of a quick gain that usually won't be for anyone but those selling their favor. Throw out any ideas of making money and if it happens it happens slowly over time. If not, then at least you found others who you click with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63564.17
ETH 3401.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45