How To Go From Follower to Followed ===> @positivesteem Did it, So Can You! [ How To - For Newbies]

in #steemit8 years ago

Imgur

From Follower to Followed

The other day, @papa-pepper wrote a great post about people Jumping Ship from STEEMIT.

Imgur
Jumping off the Steemit Ship
Source: Pixabay

Then, @williambanks left a brilliant idea in the comments section about some of the STEEMIT users that have 100 or more followers should recognize some of their followers that might be overlooked by the STEEMIT community. Hey it happens, it is a new site, and there are a lot of people joining, and some might get overlooked.
Imgur
You Get Overlooked and No Votes
Source: devianart.net

I started looking at my followers to see what user account I would like help promote that wasn't receiving the exposure here on STEEMIT, that maybe it should. I looked at one, then another and then a few more. When I thought I had finally found a follower that I could stand behind and promote, I would look in their blog and I could NOT FIND a Verification Post or a PROPER introducemyself or introduceyourself post.
-----------

Yeah, baby! Verified
Now FOLLOW, please
per @streetstyle
Thank You!!
Imgur
Meet @positivesteem

That is where @positivesteem comes in. I saw that he had been on STEEMIT for a couple of months now, and that earlier he had attempted an Introduceyourself post. (Back then that was THEE hash tag to use). It seems that it didn't go too well, then @sykochica tried to help, and finally after a month, it seems @positivesteem did post in his comments section a pic of himself.
-----------

I communicated with @positivesteem via STEEMIT.CHAT (take notes newbies!) on one of the channels. I asked him if he would be interested in properly verifying his account, and he was more than willing. So today, AFTER posting his verification picture, he went from following to FOLLOWED.

And that is it folks, all it takes is for you to verify your account. Here is a great post on How To Verify by:
@reneenouveau

@sykochica has a newbie template for you to check out and use as well....Make it Easy

And if you don't believe verifying your account with a face works, then check out this user who just joined us a few days ago... @joanaltres and her recent Intro post.

Imgur


---------------------------------------------

10/17/16
Full $teem Ahead!
@streetstyle
My Top Blogs
- Pancho Villa
- Geronimo

sources/pics:
google.com(images w/ lic. for reuse)

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Good to see u are helping new people.
Upvoted.

What does that have to do with success on Steemit? Why can't you be successful anonymously?

@charlie.wilson You can remain anonymous. You don't have to put your mug up if you don't want to. Did you look at that last user I posted.... anyway, you can verify a blog or a twitter account too. It just makes it easier for newbs, doesn't guarantee success, I don't think I put a money back guarantee? or Did I ?

It's funny, because when I posted my intro with verification, I didn't expect to earn much - maybe a dollar or two - and I was researching project curie, thinking that might be necessary to get a little initial attention. But my introduction earnings disqualified me. Lol. But all is good. I'm pleased with the results, and I hope this community experiences another stage of growth.

That was a little sarcastic... You are pointing out a correspondence between verification and success, aren't you? I'm just asking what the two have to do with each other... I see plenty of successful users on even other websites that aren't officially "verified." Speaking of which, what does it mean to be "verified" officially anyways?

Yeah it's quite difficult to define. I guess there just needs to be a sufficient amount of people vouching for an account. Statistically, I don't think people would give money to someone who's totally anonymous, or who hasn't built strong enough relationships on a network, in which case is an identity (or more importantly, market actor) that's not sufficiently distributed / decentralised into non-colluding parties.

(and yeah that was somewhat sarcastic lol)

It sounds easy to do a fake verification...

@charlie.wilson yeah, I guess even the Steemit block chain has its limitations, as far as nested comments.
I do see a lot of newer users post and get bypassed, but I think a lot aren't properly introduced to steemit, or they read an internet article and think get rich without doing "homework" on how steemit works and what doesn't.

I didn't mean too... I replied as I was thinking. And as far as easy, well I have seen a video of a guy with a PC w/ 4 GPU's crack like a million passwords in seconds.... so yeah, faking an account is not too hard. Photoshopping a face wouldn't be too hard with a fake steemit sign too.
But like kev says, it is about relationships and not giving votes / steem to someone who does not deserve them. I was asked to help promote some users that might be overlooked, and I believe that it helps to have a pic with a sign.

@streetstyle, it's cool man. I was just wondering about those things. I think its really cool that you are helping people get some fame that deserve it. And have people used pictures with a mask on and a sign?

You can't go past 6 nested comments? never knew that...

I saw this post previously and considered verifying, but for whatever reason put it off but perhaps I'll just do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85