A MESSAGE TO THE WHALES FROM THE KING OF STEEMIT!

in #steemit7 years ago

It's been brought to my attention that my analysis of the whale problem on steemit has been flawed in previous posts. To quote @tolkatore:

"All the whales do is create their own posts, generally pertaining to Steemit and or cryptocurrency, and then proceed to 100% up-vote themselves.

Oh, and when they're not doing that, they're up-voting little Asian girls who travel the world, and then post about it on Steemit..."

If this is true, the problem is deeper than I initially understood it. If these posts are more lucrative simply because the whales are up voting themselves, this is an even worse disrespect to real content creators than before. Not only that, but the problem could easily be remedied by instilling a rule against up voting your own content. If the platform is really interested in content and isn't a giant ponzi scheme as it's been called in the past, wouldn't this rule make sense? What is the argument against it?

It may be that even a rule as drastic as the aforementioned one may be too late, as many up vote bots have already picked out the whales they know will up vote themselves and up vote them correspondingly.

Instead of great content, like reddit, we're getting stories like this:

"wow no kidding, thanks for saying like it is... first off thank you for posting this, I have max upvoted it and resteemed and now following you. Here is my experience so far. I transferred about a grand $1000 over here 3-4 months ago and have spent considerable time creating posts of relatively somewhat valuable content, and tried to get discussions going but overall to no avail. If it wasn't for a few generous whales taking pity on a few of my postings they all would have flopped completely. My account is now worth about $800. That may be partially due to the drop in the price of Steem on the marketplace, so if it had stayed where it was I would probably be around breaking even at this point. What I am seeing is a platform where 3% of Steemit members are raking in 97% of the Steem. So instead of networking and trying to help new users I am desperately trying to not lose more account value. I wait for my favorite whales to post and max upvote as early as I can to try and generate "vests" or curation awards? I don't know exactly it is confusing - but I have stopped posting because it is frustrating to be ignored, especially when just attempting to get a discussion going about a coin or the overall crypto space or whatever - people are ignoring me because I am not a whale, and they also are trying to not lose account value, so to upvote my content would be a waste of money. On one of my posts regarding my children raising money for a kids with cancer, I received 100 upvotes and it sat at $5 for about a week, then I guess a few whales saw it, and the upvotes went from 100 to 103, and the post jumped to $23. I don't know, I have not given up entirely but I am powering down because after watching this thing and attempting to participate for 4 months, I am definitely seeing a Social Media platform that imo is not sustainable. When Jerry Banfield can do a post of how be brushes his teeth, and get $400, I call bullshit. And no disrespect to Jerry, his content is AMAZING but is it worth 20-30 thousand a month? When he is also raking it in on YouTube for the same posts, I mean, c'mon. Anyway I do hope Steem succeeds, it is quite addictive, but if I am experiencing frustration and feeling ignored, how can I expect my 800+ Facebook friends to transition over? No way. I don't see that happening. There need to be some fundamental changes to how value is distributed and some caps put on the amount whales can earn here. I mean nobody should be able to make more than $20 grand a month here, or be able to upvote their own posts up $300 bucks or whatever. Obviously I am foggy on the details of how the payouts are structured, but I know something needs to change or this house of cards will fall in on itself, so that is just my 2 cents worth, a random view from a new user. I am remaining active on Steemit but powering down my account to get what I can back out in case it does implode due to inequalities. But much luck to everyone here, I mean no disrespect to anyone, I have learned a great deal, and will stay here -a bit more of a passive user, as with 4 kids and a full time job I don't have the time required to create valuable content and fight through the long process of being basically ignored for the most part. So good night my Steemit friends and always remember this message from your friend @cryptoted"

And I can assure you, @cryptoted isn't the first, and he won't be the last. I've seen the exact same thing play out before my own eyes, both in person and on the platform. Steemit needs people investing heavily in the platform, as @cryptoted has, but steemit also needs these people staying, and they aren't for the reasons stated above.

This software will only gain mainstream adoption if all content is valued, as it currently stands, it is not. This will never happen if the whales are allowed to continue to up vote themselves and make large quantities of money with little to no effort compared with remarkable effort put into posts by various content creators.

Sort:  

@steemking777 got you a $1.22 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@steemking777 got you a $1.22 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Selfgoat is the best goat! :))

Thank you for sharing that quote. I second that. However, maybe we should just post articles, because publishing makes us pleasure and without having the goal of making money in front of our eyes. That could make the whole situation less "frustrating".

Maybe some day you become a whale and ...?

I have the money to invest in steem to become a whale if I wanted. However, with the current flaws in the platform, I feel that isn't a good investment.

But payment is what makes this platform unique, don't you agree? without it I would use the much more stable and efficient reddit platform.

I do agree with you and I also share your critique. My point is merely, that we might take a different point of view, which helps to overcome the initial frustrations, when going through the minnow-stage: if money is your motivation to write, so pleasure is something external, that you cannot control. You might be lucky and people upvote/like you from the start; most of the time, this is however not the case and we get ignored.

On the other hand, if you write for the sake of writing (and you consider upvotes/earnings as an additional pleasure), then pleasure becomes something endogenous.

But as I've said, I share your critique and I think the Steemit-developpers have to change the incentive-structure. What I'm proposing here is merely a psychological trick.

I upvote many post, but others don't. By upvoting yourself you get a tiny fraction of profit for your invested time.

I guess some people have multiple accounts and profite by upvoting themselfs.

The richest get richer like in the real world.

I don't mind the rich getting richer on steemit, just not absurdly richer. The disparity is too large as it stands now, and people are leaving the platform left and right because of this.

If I remember right the profit was expontial to steem power in the past and is now linear, right?
Maybe it should be sqrt(steem power) instead?

Yeah I remember when that happened. I think the way it works now is fine. I like that You have power in relation to what you've invested in the platform. If @tolkatore is right then it would be a simple matter of disallowing people to upvote themselves, as long as they really are monitoring the creation of new accounts

Yes, maybe. Need some coffee right now. Can't think.

I don't know the relation between steem power and rewards.
It would be easy to create bots and upvote efficiently, and Steemit would be more difficult to police by the good whales if the power is lowered.

Steem can be converted to steem power that give you upvote power. Some people got it very cheap, but in my case I bought for 1$ per piece.

You cant just lower somebodies account.

It sucks not being a whale, doesn't it. I pour my heart and soul into some piece of writing and it gets two votes and if I am lucky two cents.

Yeah, the platform needs to change. It has the potential to be as large as the other social media giants, but it needs to fix things, and it doesn't appear to me that these things are being fixed.

Great post steemking. I resteemed it.

It is discouraging to see some spell out something after being an active participant here for so many months. It does, indeed, appear that the system is rigged and the whales take full advantage of it. People need to have a chance and the idea of steem it is that all could profit. However, if this is a forum where only the few profit while the masses starve, well isnt Steemit just like Facebook, Reddit, and the rest of the banking controlled mechanism that are out there?

I really hope the coders can come up with an answer to some of these problems.

I'm actually a developer (not for steemit of course), stopping the whales from upvoting themselves would be a trivially easy fix.

In regard to the banking controlled social media giants, I would say steemit is better than them, even with this flaw, because it's on the blockchain, so this flaw is auditable and we're able to have an open and honest discussion about it. This is not the case with the other social media giants.

That was interesting. Nice post!

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @droida. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @steemking777 to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Well you have to fight for your 🎂 portion!

I think people are more than willing to fight if they feel the fight is fair, or at least manageable. As it currently stands it isn't manageable to content creators so they leave. I'm certainly not saying I'll be going anywhere soon, but I've seen far too many people leave the platform for the reasons I've stated above.

I can see what is happening too
But it is somehow about how much you invest in steemit.com from time to cash
I know you have invested cash and time but I strongly suggest you to make more friends use Discord Pal and all the other chat Rooms
I guess you have to stay around whales to become one!
I wish you a lovely time Steeming and please never quit steemit.com
The Value will skyrocket in years to come ( I hope) So it's All worth it as long as you like to post and don't do it to live of it

I disagree. I don't think the value is going anywhere so long as the control over content stays as disproportionate as it is. Which is why I won't invest a cent in steem

Let's hope it will better for all of us in the future
Have a lovely time Steeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62