If you’re going to Comment, Up-Vote me Dammit!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Yes this is a bit of a gripe and a moan and groan, but as the title says show some appreciation for the author.

I have written something that is unique to planet earth, so if your going to pay a visit and comment then up-vote the article.


upvote.png
Source: https://pixabay.com/en/arrow-green-glossy-up-upload-top-145786/

I don’t care if you contribute $0.00 as your vote, it really doesn’t matter. I would love votes of $10 each from everyone, but even $0.00 shows that you appreciate the author and the work, and that’s what counts with me.

We are not all whales or dolphins, in fact according the a recent article I read from @tarazkp, anyone who has more than 500SP is in the 1% bracket of wealthy Steemians.

Technically 99% of people viewing my post will have less than 500SP if this is true, but it doesn’t matter…., I’m repeating myself now.

While I’m at it, another thing that is annoying is self-up-voting on comments. I don’t mean posts, I mean your own comments. As far as posts go, yes I do self-up-vote my own posts but I also shell out a lot of votes to others as well.

@shanibeer mentioned in a recent article that she is very choosy on who she up-votes.

Self-Vote.JPG

If your self-voting percentage is >10% then don’t expect a vote she says. Mine is currently at 8.16%, but never breaches 10%. There has been a lot said about self-voting recently so I’ll leave it there. We all make our choices.

@shanibeer does come and visit me sometimes, so I think I’m still in her good books

What instigated this article is a certain Steemian who visited my blog recently, commented and didn’t up-vote. I checked this persons self-vote percentage and is was almost 94%.

I won’t name names, or point fingers, but if this person thinks I don’t notice, then they need to think again and start sharing the votes. Suffice to say, they didn't get my vote.

I’m aware that everyone has their own opinion about these things, and you can do what you like, but people will notice your behavior and may change their stance toward you, if you don’t adhere to what their perception of good etiquette is.


rules.jpg
Source https://pixabay.com/en/hammer-books-law-court-lawyer-719061/


So my personal rules are:

  • I will never comment on a post without up-voting it.
  • I always up-vote comments if reciprocated.
  • If you don’t up-vote my post but comment, I may reply but don’t expect an up-vote.

I’m not a self-righteous bigot. Do what you like on Steemit, but expect people to notice if you don’t behave. It’s really your choice.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I agree with your rules but if you reply to this reply and don't self upvote and I upvoted your reply solo my upvote would go to waste if you don't use @dustsweeper. My solo upvotes are worthless because they are below the payout threshold.

Yes they would be dust votes if I didn't use @dustsweeper (which I do), but my gripe is about posts, not comments.

I'm not expecting you or anyone else to up-vote my comments, that's a preference.

I think people care too much about having high voting power on here. I'm happy if my voting power is above 10% and real happy when it hits 20%. lol Hopefully eventually my votes will count at 10% in a few more months. They would count now if I was at 100%.

Sorry you've had this experience - I think it is the only thing on steemit that has irritated me. The University of Leicester did some work in the evolutionary biology department about collaborative behaviour and came to the conclusion that turn-taking and reciprocating was part of our hard wiring, and this is why we have a strong reaction to cheating - whether that is someone voting for their own comment but not the original post or cutting you up in queuing traffic.

Lots of people don't realise the value of their votes - I mean the value of giving them and using all of them. Some people are sitting at 100% VP for days. This is all value that could be contributing to shaping steem and the kind of community we want to have. In my post (thank you for mentioning), I was trying to encourage people to use all their votes and to use them for posts they enjoy and which bring value to them ... and to have fun 😎.

The 100% VP is very wasteful. I try to keep mine about 80% but its below that now. I want to give bigger votes so I have powered up.

Not everyone can do this, but I felt I wanted to give back to my original supporters and also to others. So when I see this kind of behavior it does wind me up a little.

What if the comment was written as a disagreement? Maybe my standards are low but I'll take any genuine reaction I can get.

I'm fine with constructive criticism, we all have our opinions. If I was to visit a post and disagreed with the writer, I would still up-vote it, but that's just me.

Personally, I upvote most comments, even those that disagree with me but, I have some people putting 10 dollars on their own comment for visibility but not voting the post at all. The funniest was when there was only 3 other comments so far.

'some people putting 10 dollars on their own comment for visibility'

I don't know how these kind of people can possibly make any friends. Everything is visible what we do here. I haven't seen this behavior yet to that extremity, well except from a certain person starting with H, but lets leave that cat in the bag.

@slobberchops I really like the passive aggressive approach. Upvoting those people + spammers with $0.01. Also completely ignoring them. Before we had Dustsweeper they'd just lose that anyway.

I had someone outright lie to me on Discord the other day. They asked me to join a curation trail and promised me to upvote on of my posts in return. That didn't happen of course, so I obviously didn't follow their trail. There certainly are some scummy people here on Steemit.

I looked at this person's blog and you can see right away the behavioral patterns. The no votes for anyone else stuck out like a sore thumb.

Steemit is so great for that, you can see what people are like by just observing their behavior. Dan and Ned designed it to be just that I think, an experiment in humans and how they do things.

There are times that I will comment without upvoting if my VP is getting low. I have made some changes to some of my automated stuff to fix that though, so it really doesn't happen now like it used to. I have had the comment voters myself like you said. For instance I had a post were a guy left a spam commented and upvoted it for 0.47, but only upvoted the post for 0.07. Pretty shady. Unless there is a catch 22 where it is part of a trail that I upvote, I don't typically upvote my own posts right now. My vote is just worth too little to matter.

I'm surprised a spammer would have the SP to give himself a $0.47 self-vote. I would have thought they would have learned by the time their account was that fat. These are just my opinions, even a 1% vote is a vote in my eyes.

I hear you and I totally understand what you are saying. Yeah it was a crazy situation with that comment upvote. I never upvote my own comments and I try to upvote comments on my posts as much as I can if my VP is high enough. It will be easier when I get the slider. SmartSteem only lets me adjust on posts, not comments.

The devil is in the details and we all have all of the details (at least if we look hard enough).

I agree with the main point of your post and my personal rules are similar to yours. It is true that we all can make our own choices, but the idea of reprocity (even when both parties can not give evenly) is a nice gesture.

I upvote you just to keep the sweaty guy pacified.

word-up.

It's a steemit pet-peeve of mine, too!

"Hey, awesome post, amazing photography, but I'm not going to upvote the post, I need that upvote for my own comments to get them seen."

I'm 'guilty' of having upvoting my own posts too for some time. But I never will upvote my comments... (I do upvote they particular post then though)... But it's, for me, a kind of code of ethics. Steemit isn't developed for self-enrichment.. As a matter of fact, I am more and more convinced that you can do great things on steemit for 'the others' in need... And the fact everything is open (you can see any transaction of vote made by another) I am convinced the people here only for their own wealth become extinct sooner or later....

I don't think I have ever seen you up-vote your own post though you probably should. @tarazkp put a different twist on this in his article.

He maintains that if you do upvote your own posts then you get a larger reward and can reinvest more of this back into Steem, then that gives you a bigger account and so you can give out bigger votes.

That's a big of a mouthful.. I know ;)

My intent is to become a dolphin, remove no steem from the system and spread the votes out so to encourage more people to get hooked. Its an addiction, but a good one.

My percentage is indeed 0.00 now. Because I haven't done it for a long time now.... And having the luck of having a serious amount of SP delegated to me an own upvote feels a bit like betrayal LOL... I will have a look at the article of @tarazkp , it does make sense.. And for me it's the same, Steemit is an positive addiction. It give's me so much joy writing and reading... I also put all my earnings right back into the system just to be able to encourage and reward other great people...

You are right, if we are creating we need to be commented and upvoted, even if the upvote worth nothing, we need that very much !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62