Ads on Steemit and The Dreadful Contact Form - A Complete Disaster and An Epic Fail

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

For some of you this might come as a shocker, but as of recently Steemit.com is displaying ads. While you might not see them, trust me when I say that they are here. The reason you aren't seeing them is because you are logged in. Try logging out and you will be surprised to see a wide range of harassing ads all over the website. Every couple posts, user-experience is diminished by a scammy-looking ad interrupting the free flow of information.

Free angel reading? Are you fucking kidding me?

I don't know how you feel about this but imho, they could have at least set more appropriate ads to show rather than these low lvl, possibly fraudulent services.

This not only ruins the user-experience of people browsing through articles on Steemit, but it also kills all credibility and trust one would normally have when visiting this website.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not against ads on Steemit but for God's sake, at least make them optimized to my liking, don't bother me with freaking free angel readings and whatnot.

This debacle just adds another layer of incompetence to an already highly incompetent team over at Stinc.

If that alone wasn't enough, then there is the eyesore of an ad for ads on Steemit. I mean common'. The fuck are they even doing? The design of their own ad to market the ability to buy ads on Steemit, is of such low quality, I bet @ned himself made it in MS Paint. If he hasn't, then I really feel sorry for them for paying any amount of money to whoever made this horrific banner.

Then there is the form which they couldn't have made worse, even if they tried to. It's so vain, I really can't understand what was the point of it in the first place. No serious business owner would even consider filling such an ill-conceived form, let alone buy ad space.

  • There is no indication of pricing
  • No statistics for page views
  • They can't even spell "Crypto" correctly, instead they spell it as "Crytpo"
  • They don't accept STEEM (only ETH and BTC) - What the actual fuck?

giphy (1).gif

This whole thing is such a mess I don't even want to continue writing about this as it only further enrages me because it clearly shows the incredible level of incompetence of Stinc and whoever is working in their marketing and design department.

One fail after another, this private company is showing how little they are truly worth and how small the value of their "work" is to this chain of blocks. All while they hodl more than 20% of all STEEM in circulation.

FFS!

I really wish they were to disappear, or someone bought them up and started doing things right, because it seems like Stinc can't even handle the most basic of things.

Sort:  

I have only used Steem on my mobile browser and I fortunately haven’t seen any ads yet, but I do agree that Steem should filter the advertisements they show to make sure they are relevant and respectable to the platform.

You mean Steemit, right? Steem is the blockchain while Steemit is the interface which I think you are referring to.

Nevertheless, yes, they should put in a lot more effort in order to make the ads more relevant an unobtrusive.

Yes, I am refering to Steemit. I am still new to the community so excuse my inaccuracies

hahahha I just had a good laugh :D Free angel reading! C'mon bruh, if you didn't click on that ad, I don't want to be friends with you anymore hahahahaha :DDDD I'm still laughing xD

But yeah, I agree with your point. It's just... Free angel reading! MAAAAAAAAAAN!

hahahah now when I think about it maybe I should have clicked just to see the shit we are letting be promoted here but sadly I didn't.

Learn from this experience xD #stilllaughing

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I think this is a result of panic decision making to bring revenue into their funding needs which was obviously not strategic. Given the amount of data available, they should leverage it to not only attract advertisers but also provide a better experience to those viewing the pages to align with their interests. In the new world of AI and big data, this should not be a reinventing of the wheel!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, most of what @ned did in the last month, or two was done in such a rush that it was inevitably going to be an outright fail.

Lol!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @runicar!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.159 which ranks you at #901 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 906).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #22.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43