My Steemit Hero: @papa-pepper (Daddy Warbucks)

in #steemit7 years ago

5.jpg

One of the things I dislike on Steemit is posts about how wonderful this guy is or that guy is... Give me a break- don't get too much shit on your nose blowing smoke up their ass! So now I'm writing one!!!

Anybody that reads my blog knows that I had some money troubles recently. The guy I take care of had his accounts hacked by some dude in India so the banks froze them all until things get sorted out. I posted yesterday or the day before about cashing in some SBD and had NO idea what was involved. I got some expert advice from several people. My friend @dwinblood was very helpful. I even had some expert coaching, step by step by @everettdmickey: BUT even with all of this extra help I'm 99.9% certain I would have screwed up the transaction. @papa-pepper to the rescue!

This great guy offered to drive almost all the way across Arkansas to pay cash for my crypto! Not only did he save me from starvation, he paid more than the going rate for SBD! But there was a side issue... as I warned @papa-pepper, the guy I take care of is a recluse. He's not really good around people so I knew this was going to be awkward- for me. I wanted to make this as pleasant for the Peppers as possible. My problem was to balance trying to be hospitable and making the Peppers feel comfortable against Mr. Grinch, the miscreant! When the whole Pepper clan showed up I was sunk!!! If the Grinch came home and saw (gasp) children... I shudder. He doesn't do well with adults but children... perish the thought. I have to go to visit my grandchildren. Don't get me wrong, he's not a bad person and I'm grateful for a place to live - he's just socially inept. I guess it comes from a life of privilege, I don't know.

@papa-pepper was right- it did feel kind of like a drug deal. I was trying to make them feel unweird, but at the same time, I have the guy that owns the house calling me up "Are they gone yet... call me when they're gone." I didn't feel awkward around @papa-pepper, @mama-pepper, or the @little peppers at all. I really wish I could have spent more time with them. If it had been my house, I would have insisted they spend the night. I wanted the @little-peppers to get a chance to play with Bruno who loves kids. His youngest daughter looks so much like my granddaughter it's uncanny...

6.jpg

And this is Sabina...

sabina.jpg

@papa-pepper...THANK YOU!!! God has blessed you with a beautiful soul and rewarded you with an incredibly beautiful family! I don't know what takes to be a credit to Steemit... it's just a place on the internet. I do know that you are a credit to the human race. I pray that someday we get a chance to spend some time in a more relaxed environment and get to know one another. I also hope Bruno gets to play with your kids. Oh, thanks for the bacon!!!

icross.jpg

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5drKKDEF48g4VXi1dMafh9xEmX1YQq.gif

Sort:  

Thanks to the pepper tribe, I am! Thank you... what wonderful people they are!!!

If you lived near Tulsa Oklahoma I'd come over and bring food until you felt better! Even if you are are curmudgeon, company is good medicine❤️

I try to be one of the good curmudgeons lol! Thanks so much!

So many great superhero kind hearted people here, oh my goodness!....
Wish i had known about this wonderful place earlier, but still thanks to @oluwoleolaide for dragging me to Steemit😊

Steemit attracts an interesting bunch of people that's for sure! @oluwoleoaide, is super cool and I'm glad you joined @the-commentator 🌼

And that's the reason I'm on Steemit! I have always felt this community consists of people who care and @papa-pepper is certainly one of the best. Thanks for this post - it has helped restore my faith in my fellow human beings.

I've only been on here for about 6 months and I've really been made to feel a part of the community... It was wonderful to finally meet one of them face to face- especially @papa-pepper and his wonderful family!

He sounds like the kind of guy you would want to sit on the porch with on a summers evening and have a couple of cold beers while listening to his stories. :-)

He is... like I said in the post...I wish it had been under different circumstances. I felt really comfortable with him!

If you're both in the same state, maybe you could start a steemit meet-up?

there's already one for the general area.

reminds me; gotta get off my ass and start a Meetup for Austin

I finally slept and I've felt so burned out from stress (which I used to thrive on) I can't even write today. Now I've got another worry... Looks like the SHTF in Qatar... My grandson is there in the Army!

I'm not that far from Texas.....

Internet nerds throw the best parties. Back when IRC was a thing, the Arkansas IRC groups got together pretty regularly. Would be cool if you and the peppers revived that in the crypto world.

There's a Steemit group that meets somewhere in the area... I think last time it might have been Kansas City, I don't remember. I had been on Steemit about a week then.

This great guy offered to drive almost all the way across Arkansas to pay cash for my crypto!

Wow, headed over his way to throw a few upvotes to him!

Glad you got the situation squared away

If the Grinch came home and saw (gasp) children... I shudder.

You have to live with this, but it can seem a little amusing to us that are a little grinchy ourselves ;>

He deserves all of the accolades he can get! On the other hand I love kids and papa's are great!

Complicated. But glad someone came to your rescue! ;)
Papa Pepper First Aid. Love it :P
Good to have you guys on board here!

Thanks... good to be here (still)!

that's great, long life to @papa-pepper

And a very happy one too!

What a good dude. A few days ago he sent 1000 Steem to @darthnava for his surgery. Now he drives across Arkansas to give you cash for SBD.

I would have tried to do something to help get you and @sharingeverybite home from steemfest too if you would have been stranded any longer on Iceland.

Incredible people... his whole family are spectacular!

Lots of blessings. Send with love.

Thank you very much!

It's the power and the beauty of the block chain community and papa-pepper stands out as a solid diamond geeza!!

You definitely have that right!!!

Really looks like papa-pepper has a heart of gold...

today i read another post from @darthnava who could not stop thanking him

https://steemit.com/blog/@darthnava/darthnava-update-expressing-my-gratitude-to-the-steemit-community#@bsameep/re-darthnava-darthnava-update-expressing-my-gratitude-to-the-steemit-community-20170607t121257443z

papa-pepper has already broken Steemit while describing his drug smuggling experience with you :)

It did feel a little like that lol! He's an incredible person and so too is his family!

Yes indeed!

As it should be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68225.97
ETH 3275.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66