Make Steemit Great Again!

in #steemit6 years ago

What's up gang?

I've already mentioned what's the problem with Steemit in one of my previous posts (basically the average reader here SUCKS) and I promised a solution.

Most people aren't gonna like what I have to say, but oh well, I don't care.

29vocx.jpg

First Of All, Let's Get One Thing Straight: Although The Title Suggests Otherwise, Steemit Wasn't "Great" For More Than A Couple Of Months

If we are being honest, 80% of people are here to make money directly off the platform. The other 20% are here to make money indirectly from the platform.

You will notice a trend. When the crypto market is booming, everyone is happy, screaming "We are going to the moon", like a gay man from the subburbs, holding a dog that looks like a cat.

When the market is bearish, we put on our "serious" hats on and we start complaining about @haejin, because instead of making $1 per post, we make 90 cents. WOOOOAH.

Steemit is good for those 2-3 months when the Chineese buy #btc.

We are entitled little cocksuckers who want free money. The guy tweeting 1000 times per day isn't complaining he's earning FUCK-ALL. Ask that poor Joe Nobody who writes increasingly progressive and politically correct posts on Medium, if he's ok with earning absolutely fucking zero dollars.

But here everyone feels they're the shit and they should be earning a lot more and new people should be allowed to be on the trending page BLAH BLAH BLAH. Meanwhile, they write 2 times per week and it's usually a shitty picture of their shitty meal, in their shity country.

Steemit is the only place where you can earn money just by posting your crap. Do you think that writing on a blog, magically earns you money? No, there's A TON of stuff you have to do in order to monetize it. Steemit does that for you automatically.

What I am trying to say is that you only care about your bottom-line and you don't really give a fuck about Steemit and its community as a whole. As long as you make enough money to buy drugs, you don't care. For a platform that rewards you for nothing, it's natural don't worry.

Look, I am not saying we shouldn't aim to make the platform better or that I don't want to be on the trending page as well. But in order to make Steemit somewhat organically functional, major changes have to happen OUTSIDE of Steemit

There are 6 kinds of people who use Steemit:

  1. Cryptobros. The usual spergs who jump on every shitty ICO, think that everything will reach $1 and believe that you can smoke a hash.

  2. Actual Nerds. The guys that are here because they can't get laid, but are geniunely interested in the technology, they know what the fuck they're talking about it and have actually zero idea how the real world operates. The only thing close to marekting and social influence they understand is posting memes.

  3. Youtube and Instagram Rejects. Anyone who wasn't able to make it on the more popular(and more competitive) platforms, comes here and hangs out with the other rejects, posting void and dull content. It's usually the semi-attractive female posting semi-naked morning routines or the semi-ugly male posting semi-clickbait videos.

  4. People from shithole countries. OK, I've used that term before in said previous post. Bascially, people from poor countries, where the government fucked the economy up, trying to make ends meet. I respect the hustle, but that's besides the point.

  5. Big brands and companies or grinders. Examples are the plebian version of Buzzfeed, Adsactly and people like Trevor James buttfucking the pool with massive spamming.

  6. Actual content creators, who write quality posts. Or paint or record music or take unique photos.

Now, let's make that little head of yours work.

Who do we want to come and be active on Steemit? (*Insert "Jeopardy" theme *)

That's right! The correct answer is #6. You win ONE MILLION DOLLARS! Don't spend it all on hookers and cocaine you degenerate...

OK, how do we attract these kind of people here?

It is obvious that the fate of Steemit is tied with the fate of the crypto world in general. If the latter dies, our beloved platform dies as well.

Two things have to happen to see a real change around here:

  • Cryptocurrencies become mainstream OUTSIDE of the internet culture.
  • The mean IQ score elevates one standard deviation, so even the plebs around here can start producing quality content.

The first option seems more probable.

Steemit needs more exposure to establish a prestigious presence, outside the current perception of "the site where you post 100 words posts and you earn free digital fake coins".

GABISH?

That way, the people who visit this site actually come for the site itself and its content, not for its utility of earning money.

Obviously, if people really understood the value of free exposure, things would change automatically, but most don't (hence the IQ point).

monopoly-3d.jpg

Does that mean there's no hope for an average creator to be at least somewhat relevant on Steemit, without dropping serious $$$?

Beats me!

A more interesting question would be, "Can you make it to the trending page, without using any of you own money?"

Notice that I didn't say "without using bots". I want to find out if you can make it only using the Steem you earn organically here.

How to write a post that will hit the Trending page?

Again, beats me! I've written at least ONE post that I know is more valuable than most posts on the trending page (How to earn $1000 with niche sites), yet it barely made $8, WITH an upvote from a bot.

But I have some basic idea now.

  • Write about crypto and bitcoin
  • Use a clickbait title
  • Use a sexually suggestive photo of a F E M A L E
  • Be part of Adsactly
  • Make a 50/50 deal with a whale

OK OK I am somewhat joking here, but you get the gist, don't you?

Will this post make it to the Trending page? Fuck no, are you crazy lad?

- Thatredbeardguy

P.S- Did you like the manifesto? If so, feel free to UPVOTE, RESTEEM AND WHATEVER ELSE ALL THE COOL KIDS ARE WRITING IN CAPITAL LETTERS TO MAKE SURE YOU DUMBFUCKS DON'T MISS!!!!

Church-Van-Park-Outside-Adult-Bookstore-Funny-Van-Meme-Picture.jpg

I have candy in my van, come in:

So, You Want To Be A Writer?
Why I Smoke?
Nothing In Moderation

Sort:  

Well, I appreciate your honesty, even though you are extremely offensive to everyone. You left a category out though. Don't forget the conspiracy minded tin foil hat wearing whack-jobs! (I can say that because I'm one of them. ;)

A lot of what you see depends on who you follow though, and maybe your following the wrong people seeing that you're so cynical about this platform??

The highest paying post I ever made without bots was $160, and I'm pretty sure it wasn't on the trending page. Anyway, have a great day! :)

I don't see how I am offensive, unless people take everything I say literally. Nonetheless, even if I was offensive, it wouldn't matter. An honest conversation has an incurring risk of offending each other. I don't want to agree with everyone.

Thank you for your feedback though!

Congratulations @redbeardguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Pressed enter and I posted this without editing it.

F M L

A way to avoid this is do not type the title into the title bar.
If you leave it blank, it will not accept the post.

I type various titles in the first lines of the post, until i get to the end of the editing, and then decide which I want to put as the title.

That's actually useful, good stuff!

People with brain are slowly getting in here, you are the living proof :))).

I used the same arguments when I started this Discord server and we (the team) were thinking whom should try and bring on Steemit. I was like," All the never made it people from the others platforms" :))). I am going to resteem this, I know some guys who can use a slap like this in their face. Many thanks for the bully of Steemit :P.

P.S. I know my written English is rubbish, not a writer, so meh!

How did you get here?

I am everywhere, you already should know this ;).

With your Steemit Academy or Cryptopanic like me?

That Academy it went apart already, at least for now. I am here because this writer is one of the fewer who speak my language. I can't write like this anymore, age and other things changed that :P.

You probably write better thn 90% of native speakers LMAO.

Yeah, as long as crypto is relevant, Steemit will attract quality people. Time will tell.

LMAO awesome post 😂
Editing looks fine to me but then again I'm a n00b so take from that what you will.

Even as a n00b though I did notice the 6 kinds of people you mention (I only started using my account yesterday, I'm hoping the quality of my content will get better over time).

Not sure if I'll ever create a trending post, but whatever I'll do will be achieved organically, under my own... Steem (ha)

Thanks for writing this, will take a look at your other posts 👍

Go ahead and read everything, you'll hopelessly fall in love with me.

Loading...

"If we are being honest, 80% of people are here to make money directly off the platform. The other 20% are here to make money indirectly from the platform."
Yay I am special because I am staying here not only for money. This place is beneficial for me and my art. Here I found great models and inspirations. But-t that is still about money!? Sure. If will be able to make a higher quality art it will be worth more. no shit, sherlock. But more importantly this place makes me feel alive. Here I feel various emotions. They might be positive or negative. Both cases are fine. It is better to feel negative emotions than not to feel anything at all. I am introvert. I love myself. In real life many people settle for mediocre goals and mediocre lives. I can't relate with them at all. that means that interacting with them is a dull, pointless expierence. I want more than that. Genuine, interesting expierences and emotions. Here I found people who can give me the thrill I seek. People who I consider worthy of my time and my atention. People who can make me grow and help me get closer to reaching my infinite potential- the best possible version of myself. Sure this place is full of shity comments and shity content. Even still here are some rare gems. And I feel like gem and shit ratio is much more acceptable here.

Yup, that's all fine! People didn't really understand the first part of the post, were I basically said that Steemit is the only social media platform where EVERYONE is about the money, compared to blogs, twitter etc, where people use them as a way to find like-minded individuals.

Did someone say free magic internet money?

"Boarding group number 3!" 🙋🏻‍♀️

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS

This post has received a 2.06 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @redbeardguy.

Resteemed to over 18200 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

#resteembot #bestofresteembot #winwithresteembot

@resteem.bot

Feel free to join our partner crypto exchange: https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705.

@resteem.bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85