Does anyone else feel like blogging on Steemit is like talking to a brick wall?

in #steemit7 years ago

I've come across many great posts here on Steemit, posts that definitely are of great interest to others, but get few (or any) reads at all. The underlying problem is that there seems to be difficult to have blog posts reach its relevant audience.

As an attempt to bring attention to some of these posts, I've just started this initiative: https://steemit.com/life/@protoken/which-posts-do-you-think-can-impact-lives-and-should-reach-even-more-readers

This initiative will only do so much, we'll still have have to problem of connecting posts to interested readers. My understanding is that Steemit sometime this winter will launch Reddit-type functionality, which probably will remedy this issue more or less completely. But in the mean time, I'm guessing many Steemit users will get disencouraged. These users create great blog posts, but simply doesn't get many readers.

Do you guys also see this as a problem, and if so, what is your take on it?


image source

Sort:  

when i heard about steemit at firs i thought that it would be more like reedit, pretty well organized and with pretty clever people, but seems more like a forum to me, and closer to facebook n twitter by their chaotic organization.
Of course you can find interesting topics and people right here but it seems pretty hard.

Of course man! A few tricks I've read is to try and write about niche topics - and use the primary tag as a more generic one - if you use Steem or Steemit or Life, Crypto - There are just wayyyyy too many others using the same - so when someone searches steem they have a 1 hour feed of 1,000 posts - but when someone searches "politics" or "wall" or just anything that doesn't get a huge feed - people who search "wall" for example may get 25 results and people wanting to read abort "walls" will likely read or at least see your post -

There is a good breakdown list updated daily of the top 200 tags and the tags most seem, tags that generate most revenues etc - try to stay away from using steem, or steemit as the main tag as it will never get seen unless by your followers -

I like the initiative though - there are other just like it to promote unseen great content - maybe take a look at how they use the system to help people out - Just my thoughts

Using less popular main tags is actually a great advice. I've often used those popular tags as my main one, but then my posts get lost in the masses.

yeah, that's why I like to comment a lot :D

You actually bring good points to the discussions, so for the community it's a good thing. I see from your blog roll (https://steemit.com/@thatgermandude) that you've managed to attract some visitors, so I believe it's better than most other users.

Well that has multiple reasons. I think one of the biggest is that I came when started that there are a bunch of new people. Many were interested in helping me.

With people asking for follows and votes in the comments a lot of good will of the whales, sharks and dolphins was destroyed.

A 2nd reason is that I rarely post, so some people who want to support me upvote and comment a lot of my posts. I tend to post "newspaper article"-style posts which are sometimes quite annoying.

Oh and 3rd I engaged a lot with people in the comments. @dwinblood pushed some of posts with resteems and mentioning, so I surely got some audience from him. And I held really long discussions about his topics before. People will care more about what you have to say when you care about what they have to say.

4th the #deutsch community helped me alot

I plan to make some other accounts like @tgd-links where I post more frequently but with much lower quality.

Seems you've got a number of things going for you.

By the way, how do you create multiple accounts - do you use SteemConnect?

@msg768 made an app for it. You convert 6 SP for your new account and 2SP go to msg for the app. It is not anonymous.

Thanks, I'll check it out. I'm considering creating other accounts in the future, so that each account aims at different audiences. With only one account, and writing about multiple topics, probably throws a lot of followers off.

yeah, thats my thinking as well

Does commenting a lot seem to be lucrative for you in terms of rewards - (posts, curation, comments) which gives you personally the best payouts

sadly not. I just prefer it to writing fledged out posts and ofc it helps me in the long run since I get to know people that might be interested in what I post.

Steemit isn't a great interface for community. The reward system and UI incentivises following who you already know. Discovering new quality writers is hard.
ChainBB is more forum like, so it's easier to build community I think. Anyways the UX needs some fixing.

I do use ChainBB too. What's missing is allowing users themselves to create forums and sub-forums, since as it is now every topic has to be fitted into broad categories. By allowing users to create forums themselves, we could get more fine granulated topics, which I believe would attract more users.

@jesta, if you see this, consider it a feature request.

I thought those were based around steem post tags and number of posts determined sub-boards. Heh.

Ah, I didn't know that. Do you have a link to more information about the details of how this works?

I suspect I was mistsken. You probably know as much as I.

Actually, I'm a little confused. Under "How can I request a new forum?" on https://beta.chainbb.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbb-frequently-asked-questions-faq, it says that new forums must be created manually by @jesta. How ever, under "How does chainBB work?" on the same page, it says that "It takes these posts and organizes them into user-defined categories (aka sub-forums) to help organize all of the content by topic.". So it looks like the sub-forums are user-defined, which in case gets us a long way.

At a guess: I think the user-defined is a future wish and for now, user-defined means defined by @jesta.

I does seem like that's the case.

Congratulations @protoken! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @protoken! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82