WHAT A GREAT COMMUNITY Steemit Whale steemitsundaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit is going through a lot of growing pains. As a newbie minnow I have a word for all my fellow newbie minnow creators.

Don't despair and post your talents, passions and works. As a minnow it's hard to know what is expected when whales don't want anyone to discuss their confusion and frustration while a flag war is going on. We came here because we heard great content was rewarded and when we get here something else is going on... and it's not pretty.

steemit-is-a-popularsity contest? 

Not many whales will stand up to the good old boy /whale system but here is one we all can depend on to help the whole community not just SP whales.

 Everyone will want to follow, resteem and upvote this brave whale every chance they get. 

He is a hero to all Dolphins and Minnows and even the good Whales on steemit who want to see good content fill the featured pages and see Steemit grow.

Drum roll.... please   @abit < Hero to all Steemit Dophins and Minnows

Check this out > Whales No Up-Voting Test by @abit A few big whales are whailing on abit for doing this. 

What I want to know is . . . 

Where were these whales who are so upset when minnows and dolphins were being downvoted?


@abit gives me a renewed faith that all whales on steemit are not out to control Steemit community, reward pool and recognition/featured front page.


Sort:  

This warning has come to you because @fuzzyvest the gentle and faultless God Whale has noticed you have some people voting for you who have what (I CONSIDER) to be too much steempower...since you have the backing of those I would call whales (dont ask me for the criteria), if this post gets another upvote from someone with equivalent sp i will be forced to flag your content.

Mind you I fully understand that your post has not met the criteria stated on steemit itself as the times when flagging is not considered abuse. But you have too many people voting for you already! And 1 with over 50k sp???
This is wrong and keeps those with only 1 or 2 upvotes from receiving telhe payouts they want and deserve.

One more account with 50k+ sp upvotes this and i will ensure i negate the value of these upvotes with my benevolent whale account!

please will you kindly make a post about how amazing I am now? I could use the love about now...

What? Where do you see that? LOL is this a joke?

What do you mean is this a joke? You have whales upvoting you. This is part of an experiment to make sure everyone earns an equal amount regardless of content quality...because it is what we whales deem "fair". It is not fair to people who just joined today that you have 25 people upvoting you within an hour of posting! One of your supporters even has 50k+ steempower!

Why are you calling this a joke when im doing the SAME thing abit is doing?

That makes no sense. I have only .21 and you're saying a whale upvoted me? Why are you confusing me when you have 3 votes almost matching mine. I think you are either messing with me or not explaining where you are getting this....and I am confused... so if that is what you want. You win.

This isnt about "winning". I havent even flagged you! I just warned you i WOULD if too many whales upvoted you. You dont get to decide who whales are for my account anymore than i get to for abit....

But you are ok with him doing it to me. Hell you even wrote this post talking about how amazing it is!

But u are mad at me for just warning you? He never even warned me!

Hmm....maybe...just maybe you can noe understand how foolish this "test" is then...?

I don't know who he is doing this to. No I am not mad at you. I don't know you. I'm new here trying to figure things out. But all I seem to be learning these days is why all the wars and hating on minnows and downvoting wars. As a new person this is not at all friendly or what it was promoted as.

Exactly. You are new here. No other social media even pays you much less gives you a safe place to store your value and a censorship free chain.

However, because of a test that attacked a person who has put nearly 15k (actually rounding down quite a bit) into trying to make steem better for minnows and others (instead of creating whale wars) and who just so happens to think MAYBE if i prove to people I am a good steward for what i earn and use it to save me from having to Pay Out Of Pocket to support Steem with my skills, knowledge and platform...just maybe they will support my efforts with whatever funding they can.

You know what most people who were new to steem and bitshares have done with the stake they have earned/mined in steem? Sold it...

Why? Because they are not oaks who you can seek shelter under because they weathered storms and sacrificed for something. Many whales and overnight dolphins still remain but many left us for the next new thing. Many of the dolphins are GROWING INTO whales and being oaks in the community!

I wont give up because i know we NEED TOOLS to make it better on minnows. And we need to consider the HONOR of EARNING Steem through the long held trust of an entire community as a RESPONSIBILITY. I need the money cause I refuse to keep paying out of pocket for things I know need built. Why? Not just because im helping myself. Indeed I do what I do at great risk to myself.

As you said...you are learning which is fine. But at the same time know where you are walking and when your words are based in ignorance...they can light fires you cant put out.

I didnt like having to put you in a situation that shows the hypocrisy of this post...but I was forced to by seeing people pumping this idea for whales to attack posts all over the place. Id much prefer abit simply DOESNT VOTE AT ALL and thus gives some of HIS stake away (since he is a Kraken...not a whale).

HINT...you can fix steem better by UPVOTING MORE MINNOWS @abit and other whales!

Spend time doing benevolent things.

This isnt rocket science. But you have an excuse @pitterpatter new guy...

These whales doing this "test" should know better...

Not saying they are openly being malevolent. But their behavior nonetheless is more than a bit ridiculous.

P.S. i dont joke when it comes to blockchains...you have likely met very few people who have worked for free as long as I have. Enjoy everything and try not to get caught up in the bullshit of judging someomes intentions. We never can. But mentioning your mr double standard is merely stating a fact: "double standard" which is displayed for all who read this...forever on the blockchain. Dont take offense. Instead be honest with yourself and change it. I understand I mess up at times and am willing to admit it. Ask my wife ;)
But this isnt one of them. I simply call things out based on logic.

I have been spending time with the community and the experience I've had with the minnows and dolphins have been great along with a few whales like ned and others. That is why in all my ignorance I find it refreshing to see a whale care about minnows because a good bit of it has been so bad with a few whales. I know there are more but these whales seem to be silent when the smaller fish are being downvoted and stripped of their rewards. Sorry it's hard to understand especially with your belittling tone.

Great question. No parameters or variables were established for this "experiment" so there is really no way to even establish a set of guidelines with which to establish a baseline.

Like i said...if this is an experiment...they did it ALLLLLLL Wrong..

Id much prefer abit simply DOESNT VOTE AT ALL and thus gives some of HIS stake away

That way the experiment would work even less, 'cause other whales would keep on upvoting.

(since he is a Kraken...not a whale).

How much SP to be considered a whale? This is still not clear to me.
Sure 1,000,000+ SP is really big fish.

I upvoted this not because of the "belittling tone" comment....

But because your heart is in the right place. Still being wrong is being wrong.

Some whales are amazing. Here I have 48 votes .27 cents and you have 3 votes for your comment and have .21 cents. You are a joke. Whales might think it's funny to mess with new people coming to Steemit to try to understand the platform but it's not funny it's frustrating and it makes steemit so unfriendly.

Mess with them? Why would u say im messing with you mr double standard? Can you deny that you have more whale power votes than most newbies get? We want this to be fair for everyone right?

I mean why are YOU protected from having your whalevotes nullified?

As for my comment earning 21 cents from my upvote...dont worry! Another whale will downvote and nullify it to keeo it fair! That is the job of whales now! (At least during this test)

I don't get you. Name call all you want you are not at all friendly.

Time out...dont LIE and say i am name-calling here.
Just answer the question: doesnt it just seem fair for me to do this for the new users?

Im doing EXACTLY what your wealth redistributing hero @abit is doing!

"you mr double standard" No you don't name call. Listen give a minnow a break. You have far more understanding then I and you must assume I am getting all you are saying. I am not and you are confusing and unfriendly. You are not at all friendly to new people and I wish you would stop.

I would be lying if I said I don't love earning for my posts but it's not my main motivation for being here.
I'm here so my content can be permanently etched on the blockchain.
I'm here to build community. I've only given myself tiny payouts in the past (literally for food or a $20 pair of glasses) but the rest has been powered up or given away.
They could have done better about launching an experiment and informing as many of us as possible that it was happening -- even asking for volunteers to post and throw ourselves at the mercy of a flag.

Understood. I was downvoted on two comment confused about the huge difference in two memes both were clever but the one that took the time to create an original compared to the one that slapped on several words with a meme generator got 70 dollars more. As a newbie that made me question all these differences and the flag wars the whales were having. Being muzzled for comments? I then made a blog discussing all that came out that week with others discussing the downvoting, stating it's about content, its a popularity contest when I see dolphins who got popular downvoted. It's so confusing for a new person.

How or WHY a post earns what it does will probably always be a mystery to me. Some of my posts that I've spent hours or days working on made pennies, and yet some of my silly stories have done well. There is no consistency but I don't expect there to be because it's ever-changing here.
I've been pretty active on Steemit in the 7 months since I've joined. I'm fairly certain I am on someone's curation trail but because of the variance in my earnings, I rather believe (and hope) that the majority of the upvotes I receive are organic. Comments are the life blood of this community in my opinion. Did the meme that was made with a generator have a lot of comments and community interaction? How did it compare to the one that was original? Are you comparing the memes or the creators behind them? Has one been on the platform longer than the other? How many posts do they have in their body of work? These are all things that need to be considered before something is labeled as a "popularity contest". We've got to look beyond what one post made...or didn't make.

whales are upvoting whales and dolphins who've been here for awhile still struggle with small change. It looks like a scam to new people.

-=- Steemit -=-
Come for the rewards
Stay for the community
Quit when rewards are dropping

Is that suppose to be you you're talking about?

I'm interested in @abit experiment.

With my comment I was talking about posts like https://steemit.com/steemit/@mynameisbrian/the-abit-experiment

Someone complains about being flagged by whales, but they're obviously fine in being upvoted by whales. No logic in this.

You are so right and this experiment brought a lot out in the open. Shhhhhhhh I could be wrong about this, but, I think it's all about automatic upvoting which overrates a few steemians on the top allowing the rewards to trickle down. If you are not on the whales automatic list you are doomed to disappear with little to no rewards. Whales keep saying the community can't tell them what to vote for > it's all subjective. Really? Automatic daily upvotes is a subjective choice? It's proven by the automatic upvotes from the whales who are ahead of this experiment it is not a subjective choice. The automatice upvote certain community members are getting are hopping mad but, hold on.... it's OK ... not to worry, because it's only a temporary experiment. Soon it will all go back to normal and all will be well. Better, yet, no one will even notice the minnows quietly leaving.
Sharks-and-Minnows.gif

I didn't know that whales upvoted minnow or whales. My first post was upvoted by a whale but I had no idea and I'm just learning how to see who voted. It just seems (and I could easily be wrong) from my experience that whales get huge rewards and minnows and dolphins with sometime far better content get far less even less than a dollar. It's a mystery why more whales haven't come to comment when that happens. So when I see a whale step out of step for the majority of the community I see that as rare. Maybe youre experiences are different but as a new person I find all this crushing of minnows and dolphins depressing.

You're right but abit experiment is not about giving more rewards to minnows, it's about giving more voting power to minnows (we as minnows can vote whales of other minnows, it's up to us).
I think the experiment is not working at the moment, my vote still counts for less than 1 cent. There are also lots of bots sucking from the reward pool, not just whales.

I don't know if it will work but at least he's got the ball rolling. All I want is the few whales that are warring with the dolphins and minnows to stop. As far as looking for votes and rewards I have given that up. Some whales act like bullies and find it alright to hate on new people.

I don't know that much about bots. Do they get rewarded for posts? Tell me more.

I don't know that much about bots. Do they get rewarded for posts? Tell me more.

I'm new, like you, as far as I know bots are doing automatic upvote in order to take curation rewards, most after 30 minutes from posting because of complicated curation rules. Some bot is upvoting everyone and others are upvoting whales. I didn't see much bot posting, just commenting ( @cheetah for expample).

The abit experiment worked for some accounts, I mean they were able to see a raise in upvoting power. I have too little SP to spot any difference.

Yes I have too little, also. Thanks for the info.

Strange days have fond us (aka steemians)!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44