You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHAT A GREAT COMMUNITY Steemit Whale steemitsunday

in #steemit7 years ago

I would be lying if I said I don't love earning for my posts but it's not my main motivation for being here.
I'm here so my content can be permanently etched on the blockchain.
I'm here to build community. I've only given myself tiny payouts in the past (literally for food or a $20 pair of glasses) but the rest has been powered up or given away.
They could have done better about launching an experiment and informing as many of us as possible that it was happening -- even asking for volunteers to post and throw ourselves at the mercy of a flag.

Sort:  

Understood. I was downvoted on two comment confused about the huge difference in two memes both were clever but the one that took the time to create an original compared to the one that slapped on several words with a meme generator got 70 dollars more. As a newbie that made me question all these differences and the flag wars the whales were having. Being muzzled for comments? I then made a blog discussing all that came out that week with others discussing the downvoting, stating it's about content, its a popularity contest when I see dolphins who got popular downvoted. It's so confusing for a new person.

How or WHY a post earns what it does will probably always be a mystery to me. Some of my posts that I've spent hours or days working on made pennies, and yet some of my silly stories have done well. There is no consistency but I don't expect there to be because it's ever-changing here.
I've been pretty active on Steemit in the 7 months since I've joined. I'm fairly certain I am on someone's curation trail but because of the variance in my earnings, I rather believe (and hope) that the majority of the upvotes I receive are organic. Comments are the life blood of this community in my opinion. Did the meme that was made with a generator have a lot of comments and community interaction? How did it compare to the one that was original? Are you comparing the memes or the creators behind them? Has one been on the platform longer than the other? How many posts do they have in their body of work? These are all things that need to be considered before something is labeled as a "popularity contest". We've got to look beyond what one post made...or didn't make.

whales are upvoting whales and dolphins who've been here for awhile still struggle with small change. It looks like a scam to new people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44