Why I think the subscription bot model is good for Steemit, and my review of the available services.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I've always been a fan of subscriptions bots here on steemit and I think they are good for the platform.
It's a model I've very fond of here on steemit. This is when you pay some fee in advance to have ongoing votes on your posts. There are quite a few here on steemit and I'll offer a list and review at the end of the this post. Of course I'll also disclose my own conflict of interest right upfront that I run a subscription bot @silvergoldbotty.

subbots.png

I'm not going to spend much time talking about or bashing bit-bots I think that's been debated extensively already, they certainly have there issues and perhaps no bots at all would be best, but that's for another discussion.

I think these services have many benefits over the traditional bid-bots.

Screening members

I think this is the first benefit in that usually there is a process with these services to apply and that usually includes screening members to eliminate any spammers or plagiarizers. I do know that many bid-bots create and share blacklists and that helps, but I know others don't and it's much easier to slip through the cracks.

Creating community and curating content

I think this is an important aspect of steemit to create community and connections between people. Most of these bots have a discord channel where people can meet and connect and often friendships are made. Many of these bots also have daily or weekly content curation when they share some of the posts and/or resteem some posts to help promote good content on steemit.

Increase posting

By subscribing to these services often people are more motivated to post daily or at least on a regular basis to be sure to reap the maximum benefit. Of course this can also be a double edged sword as some people may resort to "shit posting" just to maximize the reward.

Rewarding creators

Of course this also happens with bid-bots, but they of course help reward creators with larger post rewards which of course can also be motivating and keep people engaged with the platform.

Simplicity

This is one of my favorites, is that it's just simpler. You just send you payments and the vote starts rolling in on your posts, no need to drop links anywhere or send any additional wallet transactions. It can save you some time and hassles on a daily basis.

Putting you SP to better use

Many of the subscription bots accept delegations of SP as the subscription fees. I think this of course is the best way to subscribe and will net you the biggest rewards. When paying STEEM/SBD for subscriptions you will likely get lower rewards over the term and you of course have to recoup this investment, but when your delegating SP you are getting much larger rewards in return. In fact delegating to these services and getting a vote in return is much more profitable then delegating SP to bid-bots and getting a portion of their profits.

subbots.png

Comparison of Services

I know a lot of people may not even be aware that these exists, so I'm going to present the one I've aware of here in a chart with a bit of details. Otherwise I would suggest investigating further if you decide to join.

Bot and most recent postLogoDiscord channelSubscription methodTotal current SPCurationTiers
STAX @silvergoldbotty Linkhttps://discord.gg/C5scqRPDelegation only131,277SPYesCustom (delegate any amount between 50SP-5000SP
Qurator @qurator Linkhttps://discord.gg/pJtWp57Payment for lower tiers, Delegation for Higher120000SPYesYes-11 different tiers
KiwiBot @kiwibot Linkhttps://discord.gg/WBVTmQ6Payment or delegation5,079SPNo1 tier
IncinCommunityBot @cryptowithincin LINKhttps://discord.gg/VmR96baPayment or delegation3,039SPNo3 Tiers
Jumbot @jumbot Linkhttps://discord.gg/kxSFrGBPayment or delegation10,587SPYes3 Tiers
Moonbot @moonbot Linkhttps://discord.gg/GNQxMaPPayment4,597SPNo1 Tier

Chart optimized for viewing and posted with busy.org (not sure why it won't scroll on steemit.com)

Hope it helps raise awareness and lets people know of other options for their post promotion

Sort:  

One of the best reviews of this small ,but very important part of the eco-system subscription based upvote bots that has sprung up on SteemIt! @phelimint thanks for posting it. I'd like to add some to it and agree on behalf of the @moonbot community!

Simplicity
This is one of my favorites, is that it's just simpler. You just send you payments and the vote starts rolling in on your posts, no need to drop links anywhere or send any additional wallet transactions. It can save you some time and hassles on a daily basis.

I couldn't agree more.No messy link spam , or having to find a bid-bot to vote on. Just do what you love to do write and get upvoted automatically. This is a huge advantage with subscription based upvote bots. Your time.

Creating community and curating content
I think this is an important aspect of steemit to create community and connections between people. Most of these bots have a discord channel where people can meet and connect and often friendships are made. Many of these bots also have daily or weekly content curation when they share some of the posts and/or resteem some posts to help promote good content on steemit.

I couldn't agree more. Our theme for our service is based on the famous saying, "To The Moon!" - in doing so , our discord has become a warm and welcoming and fun place to hang out! We recently, invited @kiwibot & @cryptowithincin to our discord as some might think we are competitors ,but in reality we are a tight knit group just trying to improve the user experience of Steemians!

One other thing we'd like to add people love seeing some sort of activity as a new user on this platform. Even if it's a .10 cent upvote every day on the posts they make. It makes people feel someone is watching and paying attention and we've seen them coming back. I believe this is a good rention helper for the platform too.

I had actually only heard of two of these, so thanks for posting this. I'm not sure what the column with the last number is supposed to represent though. I will still give some of these a look though, as I have grown tired of going out and paying for upvotes for all of my stuff. I would much rather be able to post it see things just come in more naturally.

Yeah the whole chart has a few other sections, but looks like it got cut of on steemit.com. I posted using busy.org and they have a slider to scroll to the side. It shows the SP of the accounts, the tiers and if they do post curation.

I have never understood their working before reading your post. Thanks.

Hi,

I will look further into this to see if I want to use subscription based bots..

You have been defended with a 52.08% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 17.44% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @phelimint!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

@rewards-pool works on a similar model but includes an element of chance.
Your delegation gets you a ticket in each day's draw for upvotes.

Yeah, I should have included them as well. It's a fun little extra dynamic to have the draw included.

good work..very informative..(and thanks for your support.)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65