Good Steemit Karma – Steemit depends on it!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

A couple of days ago I had my first successful posting that started trending very quickly. It being my first hit, I eagerly began monitoring replies and responding to them to show my appreciation to those supporting the post. Things were going great until I received a comment from @rnobrega

someone stole your post https://steemit.com/steemit/@panenka/real-time-visualization-of-steemit-users-activity-on-the-steem-blockchain-steemitpond

This comment is good karma combating bad.

The plagiarized posting was beginning to gain traction and I thought to myself,

“Is it possible that this stolen post could overtake mine?”

After all it did have extra bot support that my posting was not receiving, it was trending just below mine under key tags, and it was beginning to show a decent payout. I was a bit worried, but to my pleasant surprise users such as @moonjelly and others that had supported my original post came to assist. The plagiarized post was downvoted and filled with replies making it clear that it was stolen. Again - good karma combating bad.



Over the next couple of hours, I ran some searches with key terms from my post and found two additional posts that pretty much copied my work verbatim. In both instances the community and users with good karma did their best to stifle the progress of the plagiarizer. Unfortunately, this plagiarized post was actually able to get a $9.30 payout which means the bad actor has incentive to try this again. Nonetheless good karma did its best.

The whole experience exposed a dark side of steemit that in my naivety I had not really thought about or considered.

People are earning real money here and inevitably this means that nefarious individuals will try to take advantage of the system. As steemit and the steem market capitalization increases so will the attempts at gaming the system. Spam bots, plagiarizing posts, hacking accounts – there are so many possible routes leading to undeserved payouts for individuals that do nothing but damage the community. @ned and @dan and the dev team are doing their absolute best to fight this, but it is impossible for them to do on their own.

Each one of us needs to cultivate our own good karma; use our votes, our comments, and our time wisely. Squelch bad actors whenever they are encountered in the community and show support for the good. My experience shows that this is already occurring, which is great news, because without the good karma of its users steemit doesn’t stand a chance.

 

Sort:  

Yes ! you're right ! Yesterday we launched the steemit our first movie I continue I did a few times saw in the film ! it is very sad ! we tried all day, and someone steals and spoils the reputation of himself and us and

Sorry to hear that @maximkichev

One thing I learned from this is that if you are going to create content like a video or a website to share with the community you need to brand it. I had my username hidden in a menu not visible unless the user clicked a button. After the first plagiarizing post I quickly added my name right next to the site title - Take a look. Not sure if it helped but makes it more difficult to copy.

If you make another video plaster your username to it right at the beginning. Maybe that will help to prevent someone from claiming as their own.

Yes, we wanted to make his name at the beginning and end of the video ! but thought that it would look like self-promotion . We wanted to start a viral video , and did not want fame . you can see by the way ! Next time take your advice , it is a pity that many people do not want to do a high-quality unique content . easier for them to steal a ready-made idea.

Yep. Some people are going to be like that regardless of what you do. Its best to just take steps to protect yourself against it.

Yes you are right !

I'm glad you managed to withstand! Wise use of social proof is definitely helpful to Steemit. When following mechanism works in its full, there will be a decline in wasteful posts, I believe.

I hope that you are right @sanbir - I really wish to see steemit become a huge success. Regarding my issue with plagiarism I am also quite glad it didn't cause me much of a problem; however, I do wonder how things would have played out had I not had ample time to monitor steemit activity and my post.

I am not a giant whale but if you send me (fuzzy) pm's on steemit.chat with these good karma warriors I will gladly upvote their efforts :)

Awesome. I'm not in the chat, but I'll try to setup an account this weekend time permitting and I will pm you.

This kind of thing is why I'm resorting to giving out votes by asking people to come to my post. I have one going today where I'm asking people to tell me how they found steemit an I upvote the response. I'm hoping it's a way to actually engage the community instead of just blindly voting. I believe steemit needs to become a community that empowers itself if it's really going to go anywhere. If you want to take a look you can head over here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@robsteady/tell-me-how-you-ended-up-at-steemit-and-get-an-upvote

Agreed. Super important to get to know some people here, at least to the furthest extent possible given the online nature of steemit. Without developing that sense of community this place will turn to garbage. It's very similar to a real-world community like that -> you've gotta engage.

excellent. good post!

Gracias!

Vi tu perfil. ¿Cómo está todo en Venezuela? Soy gringo, pero yo he estado viviendo en Panamá durante los últimos 5 años . Muchos de sus compatriotas aquí. Triste.

bueno lla situacion aca cada vez esta peor, el dinero no alcanza para nada! x eso la mayoria de los venezolanos, recurrimos a dinero por internet como lo es steemit! pero yo he ganado poco x aca, pero tengo las esperanzas de que steemit me sera una ayuda muy buena para esta terrible situacion que vivimos los venezolanos.!

Lo siento mucho. Si la situación es horrible . Un voto para ayudarle.

gracias. tambien acepto donaciones! :P XD lol.

Cuando yo soy ballena amigo :)

From what I see on steemit now, I am still trying to figure out if it's plagiarism if it's written in a different language. Do you know if this is true or not?

That's a super good question and it would be incredibly hard to detect. It doesn't appear to be much of an issue at the moment though because English seems to dominate. I would be inclined to say yes, translating and not crediting the original author is plagiarism.

Why not cite and link to the original work? The reader likely won't go there anyway because it is not in their language and any upvotes received are warranted because the translation is adding value to the original work.

Every single time, your photo for the title is always eyecatching...and that's how I knew it was you because you were known for using the hello sticker :)

A good photo is quite important for getting people to take a look

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 11.0 and reading ease of 56%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63119.91
ETH 2695.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56