Get more out of Steemit: my list of people I recommend you read and follow

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

addtext_com_MjIwMjA3ODA1Ng.jpg

It's who you know

There's tremendous opportunity here on Steemit. Opportunity to make money and opportunity to learn. But Steemit is a social network, so connecting with people is one of the best opportunities on Steemit.

I've learned a lot by reading good posts and then following the authors.

Big Fish

You can learn a lot from people who have had a lot of experience on Steemit. There are a few influential people who have been here a while that I have gained good perspective from:

@teamsteem

He recently quit his job and is now working with crypto-currencies and Steemit full time. He writes longer posts with the desire to help new people understand the philosophical awesomeness of Steemit and crypto-currencies. Here are two of his recent posts that I recommend:

@firepower

A writer from India who suffered a physical accident. Down and out financially, he got a used laptop and started writing on Steemit more than a year ago. He's made a name for himself as a leader in the Steemit community. He has been successful in getting many people in India to sign up for Steemit and stay active. Here's some recent posts of his that I recommend:

Programmers

One of the reasons I'm here on Steemit is to improve my programming abilities and to connect with other programmers. Here are two programmers who are active in the #javascript community that I recommend you follow:

@pilcrow

He's a programmer from the Netherlands who is working on Steemit apps. The one that he's currently working on is called @spectacles and it's in beta, soon to be released. @pilcrow doesn't post often, but he's active in commenting on and upvoting other posts in the #programming and #javascript tags.

@jfuenmayor96

He's a full-stack developer from Venezuela and write posts about programming in both Spanish and English. He has recently posted an overview and tutorials on how to use Github.

@harps116

Adam has been my "programming buddy" and I've learned a lot from him. We've also had a good natured competition when it comes to studying programming and improving our skills. He hasn't posted a lot on Steemit, but I recommend you follow him. Here is his introduceyourself post

Family

@ch4nel

My wife is on Steemit. If you'd like to get to know me and my family, I recommend following Chanel. I think she's an excellent writer and photographer (of course I'm biased). Here's a recent post of hers that I recommend you read:

Also, my son Noah is @kid-coder here. He's excited about Steemit and he's trying hard to get better at writing to share his thoughts here on Steemit. My other children may also join Steemit soon.

Newbie to Steemit? Here's a series to help you:

I'd like to end this post by referring newbies on Steemit to an excellent series, "IF I WAS A MINNOW ON STEEMIT I WOULD..." by @cryptoctopus (an early adopter of Steemit):

I learned a lot from this series and also had some of my own thoughts about Steemit validated by his experience. Highly recommend reading these if you have been on Steemit only a few months.

Share your recommendations

There are more posts and people I'd like to share with you... but I'll write about them another time.

If you have any posts you recommend, or people who you think are worth following, please share in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

--- @matthewdavid

Sort:  

Matthew! Lately I've been very busy, I didn't see this post. Wow man, thank you very much for the mention, that meant a lot. I'll catch up with your Nodejs progress.

I hope to see more programming post of yours, so you can show off your new knowledge. Hope you're doing great! :)

Thanks Julio,

I've also been busy. Hard to keep up with my goals for posting on Steemit. I appreciate the encouragement!

Appreciate the shout out! I've learnt a lot from you as well, very grateful to you for giving me my first start in the world of IT. The healthy competition has often gave me the push to keep up with my studies. I've been lurking on Steem but I have got a little side tracked with other endeavours. I will be posting more once the dust settles. Great to see you gaining momentum on here! Great post!

Thanks Matthew for this post and for the mention! I'm getting started on reading the "If I Was a Minnow" series right now!

Thanks for this post. I'm a newbie on Steemit and will definitely need a lot of advice like this. Upvoted too.

The posts I linked to by @cryptoctopus really are worth reading... several times. Excellent advice there.

Ooh, thanks for the mention! I guess I should try posting more, but I'm too busy working on @spectacles to really take the time for it. Hopefully soon I have some more spare time :)

I know what you mean about time...

Thanks for taking action on strengthening the programming and javascript communities on Steemit. I think that decision will pay off well for you.

@matthewdavid, this has been a very helpful article. I have taken your advice and I am now following everyone you recommended, including your kid! I anticipate learning a ton from all these new additions to my feed. Upvoted, and resteemed this article, too! Thanks again!

Very useful post. I am following your wife and now I am following you too. Really liked her post Moving at the speed of me. My husband is a programmer and I have done a little bit as well... but I enjoy my sanity too much to become an actual real programmer :D

Thanks for your comment! I appreciate it. Good to hear that you've done a bit of programming. I feel that I've recently become a "real" programmer, but just barely and I have a lot more learning to do.

The learning never stops for a programmer. My hubby has been doing it for 20 years and he is continuously learning!

Between @cryptoctopus and @walkingkeys, I have learned a crap ton about Steemit in the two weeks I have been using this platform. Thanks for the recs ;)

I've also learned a lot from @cryptoctopus and @walkingkeys. Good to have you here on Steemit!

Thanks! I'm glad to be here ;)

Wish to be in recommendation list one day😜

That's a good goal... I think I'll work toward that. ;-)

good recs :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48