Hello Steemit!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Ok I'm doing it! I'm sharing my story on Steemit.

Here's an action shot of me turning coffee into this first post:

steemit_first_post.jpg

Me:

  Coder, Thinker, Dreamer, Traveler, Artist, Outdoor explorer, Runner, Father, Husband. 

I'm here because I believe in the power WE have as a community. I love the idea of steemit and the possibilities for this platform are extremely interesting to me.

I've spent the last year or so learning to program and code. I'm kind on a personal mission to the best version of myself I can be. Not only for myself but for my young family. This time 18 months ago I was working as a painter, lost and with no real purpose in life.

I had traveled extensively for the previous 5 years, originally from a small seaside town in N.Ireland, I found myself in La Crosse WI ( more on that another time ).

Since then I've gone from knowing very little about technology to:

  • going back to school for web and software development
  • starting a local tech group
  • working as a computer technician
  • owning various cryptocurriences
  • helping others learn to code

and recently landing my first job as a professional developer 6 months ahead of schedule!!

I say schedule because none of this happened by accident. It's been a conscious decision for me to do this, to learn all I can learn and the give it my all.

The last year has taught me that :

It's important to remember that you are in charge and can shape your future with the small decisions you make today.

So listen up steemers, steemites and steemoids...

lace up your trainers, fire up your computer, finish that book, take care of that chore, watch that video again, take notes, set goals, pick yourself up again and be the best you can be in what ever way you can!

Thanks to those that have got me to where I am today, special mention to @matthewdavid for giving me my first start and encouraging me to pursue my goals.

Until next time, power up, type more and keep this steem engine moving!!

Sort:  

Hello @harps116 welcome!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for almost 2 months, and I can tell you that steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with it, latter I've decided to make posts about those and others helpful information in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper knowledge of steemit and its potencial.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

SteemBnB(this post is not mine, it is fruit of an amazing Idea from @chicosonico, but I've made a traslate to portuguese, you can find it at the comments section)
steemit awesome tools #2
Steemit-Police First official Investigator
The Randowhale
Minnowssupport!

Here is a post from @hannahlicious That i think Is useful to have a look too (she is also a great source of information and high quality posts):
Randowhale is CHEAPER Now!!

I intend to keep posting useful info that I manage to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

Welcome @harps116

Good to have you. I would like to learn some programming.

If you have any questions, ask me next time I see you! your doing a great job.

Welcome! Excellent post! And so very motivating! Glad you're here.

Thank you, great to be here!

Welcome to Steemit @harps116, good to see you here. Very interesting introduction you wrote. I love technology and coding too, if you like, you can check my profile ;) I followed you.

Thank you! I need to brush up on my Spanish.

I usually write in both English and Spanish, at least in the case of tech-content.

Welcome aboard.

Found you via your buddy @matthewdavid, who I just met today. It's amazing how circles on here grow and grow.

Yep, very cool. I love how the steem model fosters that idea.

Welcome! Good to have you here!

Glad we got to talk a bit more about Steemit today. Great to see you write your first post. I look forward to seeing more of your writing and code.

Thanks for encouraging me to keep on programming. Awesome to see you accomplish your goals!

Thanks Matthew, I think that was the conversation that finally got me on here.

Welcome to steemit. followed n upvoted

Welcome Harps116:) hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

I Upvoted your "introduceyourself" post. I enjoy learning about new people from different cultures. Any way if you and anyone reading this could Please Upvote and Resteem one of My [ isteemithard ] post I don't mind returning the favor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43