IF I WAS A MINNOW ON STEEMIT I WOULD... - PART 3

in #minnow7 years ago (edited)

fish-ocean.jpg

Introduction

Hello steemians! I'm back with the third part to the "If I was a minnow" series. So far I've covered a few aspects of what I would be doing if I had to start from square one. You can find part 1 here and part 2 here.

I've decided to really dedicate myself to help the minnows get off the ground. I do this partially by upvoting good comments as well as writing what I believe one must do to get started right.

I want to clarify something beforehand. I am writing this article for someone "who want to accumulate a lot of SP and become a dolphin or a small whale". I am not writing this for the person who just want to post pictures of their cats and have fun. What I talk about requires work, patience and perseverance.

If I was a minnow I would...build a network the right way

Now, this is really important and I hope that people just don't read the header. Networking is the thing that most people do wrong...incredibly wrong. When I was younger, I was in direct sales for a bit and I went to a lot of networking meeting. I've seen my share of good and bad networking.

The classical "bad" networker would be the one having a conversation only in the hope of giving you their business card. His goal would be to distribute their business cards to as many people as possible in the hope that someone call them in the future. I tried that at the very beginning and it was a miserable failure.

The great networkers would do something completely different. They tried to find someone they could genuinely help either with a referral, a connections or sometimes just a good advice. Then, they would keep in touch with them, building a relationship until the other person got interested in what they did.

People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care...

So one thing that I would do for sure if I was a minnow is to find a project that I'm interested in and get involved. So if you are a scientist, you should contact the @steemstem and participate. If you want to help curate good content, get in touch with @curie. You know a language that is not english? Participate in helping apps such as @zappl, @esteem and others to have your language supported.

There are more project than I could list at this point. Find one that has good backing and start getting involved.

Find a way to be useful then tell other about it

Something that I've seen devs do is record what they have done on their blog for the projects they participate in. There is nothing that withhold you from doing that! Let's say you decide to help curate content for project @curie, how about documenting how you went about doing that, tell about your experience. What makes you consider a piece of content "noteworthy"?

Connecting and Building Your Network

Basically, you want to connect one on one with the movers and shakers on the Steem Network, by being useful and bring more value than the other minnows who just write comments and write blogs about their pets.

Get around whales and talk to them, find a way to help them and solve their problems. You will be rewarded.

If you have a good idea...start your own project

This is a great way to get attention and klout. FIND A PROBLEM and solve it with either a process, a system or a software. You will attract of a lot eyeballs...especially if the problem you are solving helps a lot of people.

There are also problems that only whales are facing. Here is an example. Some whales may not have time to write articles anymore but they have a good following and fans. If you are a good writer, you can go to them directly on discord or steemit.chat and propose to them to be a ghostwriter for them.

Conclusion

I've given you a bunch of ideas you can pursuit right now and there are much more that I didn't cover. The basic principle is this: solve other people's problems and people will reward you. The bigger the problem, the bigger the reward.

Sort:  

Helpful as always, there will be a 4th part?!?

Find a problem and solve it.

Absolutely!! This is what I'm trying to do with my SteemSQL Analyses.. Although my time is quite limited between traveling for work 80%+ of my one, then trying to have a relationship with my wife and son on the days when I'm actually at home.. all while keeping up with house chores and attempting to have a social life and keep up with current events.

Anyway, that's a long-winded way of saying I will have more analyses in the future! I just need to find the time to be able to finish them.

Also, great post!

I am trying to build one with great people out here lets see how it goes :) anyways a big thanks for the 3rd part of this series :)

My pleasure. Keep on blazin!

I agree wholeheartedly with you @cryptoctopus and really appreciate this entire series. I'm new here and looking for a way to contribute so what you talked about here really has lit a fire under me. Thanks for your advice.

I'm glad I can help. Keep on keeping on!

that's very helpful post!!
thank you ;)

Very sound advice and much the path I am trying to take. I find the "caring" point to be an often missed because many aren't concerned about the value they themselves are providing to the "network" and are only worried about what they can get out of it.

I also have launched a small project myself that is about the steemit community by providing trading cards to members. I am working on my 10th one right now! The 9th one I posted below.

Good to read this post and see I have many of the same thoughts

you will do well, my friend, because you care about others

These cards are sick. Great work!

Hello @cryptoctopus, welcome back , i hope you really had a relaxing weekend! I was really looking forward to this part 3 of the series.
Again some great advises you pen down there, I will take my own case as example; i am really fully interested in food blogs mainly. So since I joined 2 months back, my focus has mainly been looking for great food content creator, original ones of course. By engaging with them daily, these people finally came to my blogs and it became a habit for them.
Now everyday the come to check what i've posted and it's just a great feeling.
I've also participated in various cooking contest and been really very successful till now, I won 8 contest prizes in all since i am here.
Now on top of that I have also launched my own cooking contest which will be live as from 01.09.17, and when i see the amount of interest it is getting, i feel like the hard work i have been doing all these days will start paying soon.
I am someone who want to accumulate a lot of SP and become a dolphin or a small whale as you said! Will work for it and for sure put your advises in practice!
Thanks so much again mate!
@progressivechef

Amen! That's the way to go. Soon a community feature is coming and we'll be able to hangout with people of our niche. It's going to be epic!

I'm really looking forward to that man! Looks so exciting! Btw thanks a lot for the vote earlier on my post, really means a lot and is a great support to my forthcoming contest!

Make new friends and keep engage with them is really first to success.Thank you for such a nice series "If i was a minnow" @cryptoctopus I am regular reader and learn precious ideas from your blog.

Best series of posts going on Steemit. I really appreciate the advice and great ideas @cryptoctopus.

This series is so helpful. They have all been bookmarked for ideas down the line. Building a community here works in all our favors.

There is a community feature coming soon...it's going to be epic.

Absolutely. Organizing the political content creators here would do wonders. The only creators in that realm that have any influence came with their follower base from elsewhere. A lot of good minds here that deserve a community to discuss their views with.

Yes, I agree with you. If you solve other people's problems then people will definitely reward you.
Thanks for these good ideas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99