Steemit Logo Vectorized and cleaned up, with slight improvements for better promotional material for steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

featured.png

Hey guys, I wanted to share this with all of you. It's the steemit logo that's totally vectorized and ready to go for use in any sort of graphic. If you don't know already, I am a graphics designer with a few years under my belt as a freelancer.

TLDR: The download is below.

The reason why I vectorized it, was very simple, there's no source file for the actual logo. At least not officially.

There is a vector of the logo, but after careful and close examination of the file, I noticed a lot of inaccuracy. Most noticeably offset paths.


Illustrator_2017-06-14_05-54-37.pngIllustrator_2017-06-14_05-54-15.png
Illustrator_2017-06-14_05-54-49.png

As you can see, this is not quite accurate. Usually, these kinds of inconsistencies are created when you live-trace an image. After noticing these errors, I set out to create a replica.

Now, after careful re-creation, I noticed a bit of an inconsistency with the original logo. The steam veins are not symmetrical.
Now there isn't anything wrong with asymmetrical logos, but usually, when a logo is asymmetrical, it's usually done on purpose and then focalized.

original steemvein.gif

As you can see here, when you flip it upside down, you'll notice that the shape does not match up. I'm not quite sure if this was intentional by the original designer. But, I did decide to go a little bit further and clean up the shapes for more consistency. This is not meant as an insult or any sort of that to the original artist. I just thought that it might be a better idea to have the shapes consistent so that other designers and producers can have an easier time in using the logo for promotional purposes.

I know for motion graphics, symmetrical shapes are better to work with.

In this version of the logo, I made it more symmetrical.
steemviens.gif

Either way, this vector is in every way the same as the original logo. Just vectorized and cleaned up, so people can use this for any projects that they may want to create. I know for a fact some of you promoters out there are going to find a good use for it.

I know that @someguy123 is going to be happy that he no longer has to use a rasterized image for his projects.

So for all intents and purposes, you can use this file for whatever you need it for. You do not need to ask me for permission nor do you have to credit me for it. If you need this file, it was made for you to use in any shape or form.

This post is all about giving back to the community as a whole. I'm going to be shifting focus on giving back to the community as whole for a while, and I have a very long list of ideas of how I'm going to make that happen. I would appreciate any support you guys can give me.

Here's the File


Logo Giveaway

Alrighty so, In my introduction post I mentioned that I would like to help contribute to the steemit community right?

Well, I came up with a very fair and awesome way I can do just that. I will like to announce that I will be doing a weekly logo design giveaway.

Under normal circumstances, I would advise no logo designer to give away their product for nothing. However, steemit has embraced me, and I'd like to keep good on my word and return the favor.

Once every week, on Monday, I will select 1 random follower to have a one totally free logo design from start to finish. All that follower has to do is provide me a brief, and I will take care of the rest.

So perhaps you're a startup and are looking for a good mark for your company, be sure to follow me for a chance to get yours!

For more information, check out my post


Looking for server hosting? @privex has you covered! Get your cheap hosting with privacy guaranteed!

Also if you're into program development, Steem, Peerplays or even some good old political posts from the UK @someguy123 has got you covered!

Want to follow some genuinely interesting makeup and special effects blog? @mysterymerr is new and needs your support! Please show her some love!

Thanks for reading!!!!


Sort:  

Cool, perhaps you can help out with eSteem logo as well, better symmetry is always great to have :)

Sure thing. The lights in my apartment went out but I'm heading to somewhere there will be wifi. We can discuss how I can help on steemit chat?

I modified one to put as my FB banner. Let's hope it helps catch us some FBers for Steemit XD

Steemit_SVG_logo_sideways.jpg

I got something cooking that might help with that. Coming really soon tm. Very clean graphic btw

'Course it's clean... it's the one you made with the logo moved to the side XP

All this being done, of course, while I was supposed to do something else entirely !

looks great -- i would like to see one in aqua-- haha- just kidding -- rock on

With the SVG file, you can make it any color you want man! Look how easy it is. http://imgur.com/Z99ZZLB

Thanks for your support!

good on you bro -- thnx for the info - i am going in

Dude! Red is my favorite color.

Thank you! Upvoted! :-)
Followed.

Nice work! The logo looks awesome!!! Thanks for the contribution :)

I spent roughly 5 hours on analyzing this logo and recreating it to the original specifications. I just hope people will find a use for the Source files. If someone finds it useful, my job has been accomplished.
Thank you for your support!

Good job! I like it. Steem needed this facelift.. followed!

I wouldn't even call it a facelift... It was more like, resetting a dislocated shoulder. Well, at least to me it was. I'm sure it can be philosophically argued what design is better. But really, my aim, is to give people who want to produce steemit a resource that they can use.

Thanks @lepton for your support!

No arguing there, just one last detail: the smaller wave on the left is higher than it should be (compared to the one on the right side).

I noticed this too. I'll get it corrected asap. I actually had this file open on my desktop and mac. That small change was corrected on my desktop but forgot to change it on my mac. Thanks for pointing it out.

Cool, keep up the good work!

Thanks a lot, a must have for Steemian creators! :D

Great work Malice !

If you need a relatively novice coder for any of your ideas, you can always kidnap me ;)

Woah, I appreciate that. When it comes to critically thinking, I'm not so great at that. But if it's big picture thinking, I'm very good at that. I think that's why I chose graphics design rather than coding. If I do have any ideas, I'd definitely let you know! Thanks for your support man!

No problemo :)

I've already gotten myself involved in the Steemit LIVE idea, though I've informed them that steemQ is in development and we should contact @furion to see if he wants a hand.

I keep getting myself involved in projects lately... I think that's a positive sign !

So, I recently "lost" a pay-it-forward amidakuji, and I got the objective of doing SOMETHING to support @steemshop. Be it try and sell/buy something or promoting it in some way.

I've hit on the idea of designing a couple of 3D models that one could print, maybe even a STL file for laser cutting, and it just occured to me my life would be easier if I could use your SVG logo in my designs.

It won't be anything TOO glorious, probably take some pre-made train models that are Creative Commons on a 3D print model sharing site and adapt it with the Steemit logo, or just make a big circle around your SVG logo, turn every line inside the right shade of black for engraving and voila, Steemit placement mat for your cup... XS

Can I have your blessing for this mini-project ?

Seeing as it'll be for the @Steemshop, I'll probably sell the finished model (after going through a few virtual checklist to make it/them as ready as possible for 3D printing/laser cutting) for 1 SBD. dunno if you want a cut XD

Of course you can use this file in any shape or form. Getting this created and available for consumption was specifically for you to use. For everyone to use. And when I was going through this I knew for a fact that no one was going to be able to use the original file or any files that were out there for 3d printing or video making. Of course you have my blessing, everyone has my blessing to use this file as they want or need, free of charge or credit attribution. Godspeed!

I'll still attribute credit nonetheless XP

Thanks, I'll get to work creating a model or two compatible with 3d printers.

Hmmm... there's definitely going to be a train...maybe a cauldron too... got to be Steem-themed XS

As far as I can tell, your SVG is NEARLY compatible with a Laser Cutter. Just gotta make it black and white and adjust the color of the lines to the defined Engraving line color of a LC, then make a form around it with the right line color to be interpreted as a Cutting line.

Would definitely use this!

Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52