We're Early. Like, Really, Really Early.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I just had a random thought pop into my head after seeing my BitShares account number: #114583

Remember ICQ? It was one of the first widely adopted chat / messaging platforms, and I remember creating an account pretty early on (1996 or 1997 maybe?). Most of my friends had never heard of it, but once it became popular it seemed everyone was using it. My account number was somewhere around ~130,000. Everyone else I saw had account numbers in the millions.


I was early at over 130 thousand.


Edit: It's possible I've completely misremembered my account number and it was actually 130,000,000. A friend mentioned they had a number around 120M and remembered signing up around when I thought I did... I've been searching through old computers and backups trying to find my original ICQ info. I found a forum post of mine from 1999 on the Licq forums, but didn't have my number in the signature... so, yeah. If you have more info, please let me know. I'm curious.

My BitShares account number is even less than that.

What about Steem?

13,452

That's really, really early.

Anyone with an account number less than a million is early, if this platform takes off as we all hope it will.

Back to the ICQ example:

At its peak around 2001, ICQ had more than 100 million accounts registered. At the time of the Mail.Ru acquisition in 2010, there were around 42 million daily users. Since 2013 ICQ has 11 million monthly users.

How many accounts will eventually be created on the Steem blockchain? How many people will want direct rewards for their social media activity?

What we need, I think, is patience and time. 1996 to 2001 is five years. ICQ provided a valuable solution for its time. Steemit is doing the same, rewarding content authors and curators with real tokens of value. I'm proud to be a pioneer here, and I hope you are too. I can't wait to see what the future has in store for us.

Steem On


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

It's seems to mu guys that you are using Seemit and STEEM only to pump yours BTS. Next will be EOS. Good luck with that.

I didn't use or buy BTS at all until I started using Steemit. The success of Steemit is what got me interested in BTS. Once I figured out how we can short the USD with bitUSD, I was hooked. What's not to like about that? As I started buying and using BitShares, I posted about the process so others could also benefit from the fall in USD value:

As to EOS, I think it will be an amazing technology, far superior to any existing blockchain technology in terms of performance. Why do you say "good luck with that"? Do you have reason to believe it won't be wildly successful? I think early ICO investors will get burned because they aren't being rational which I discussed in detail here:

I'm trying to help people understand how this ICO works so they don't lose their shirt. That said, I still think the long-term future price of EOS will be quite high because it solves scaling problems ETH can not solve due to the parallelized versus serial nature of the way things are handled.

Thank you. Good luck.

Unlike you I bought my STEEM.

BTS: 21,954
STEEM: 10,929

You're an original gangster. :)

Ping me when you get settled, we definitely need to hang out.

BTS... 11,000ish and still hodling for all I'm worth (literally, BTS is almost all I'm worth :)

Great post! Puts things into perspective. I joined Steemit 1.)For the social media aspect 2.) As a long play crytocurrency investment. Out of all the various crytocurrencies I have read up on this one seems to make the most sense and have the largest impact moving into the future.

I agree. Of all the projects out there, this one (and BitShares) is actually delivering on promises and providing very real value. I love it.

We are off to Nashville tomorrow btw. Whats the #1 cant miss place to eat? If you have a recommendation for best brewery I will take that too 😁 We might get lucky and the wives let us dads out for a bit.

So sorry! I saw this reply right before shutting down and then forgot about it the next day!

How long will you be in town? If you want, drop me an email at luke.stokes @ gmail. Maybe we can grab a bit somewhere or something. As for food... there's a number of places, I guess it depends on what kind of food you want. :)

Hey Luke! No worries. We had a good trip. The weather wasn't the greatest for outdoor fun, but we made the best of it. I hit up some good breweries and had a lot of southern Nashville hot chicken from varies places. I'll let you know if I ever make it down again. Thanks!

Glad you got some hot chicken! :)

i remember ICQ lol

yeah i was user 170860 i can't seem to shake that for some reason.

Hah! You remember the exact number. That's awesome.

of course, some things you just never forget. my icq is one of them. ha! :)

ICQ was so hype... I was using irc at that time tho

Ah yes. I spent a bit of time in the various #warez channels as well. IRC was the best. The purist still think it is.

Haha, yeah #warez was also where I hung out :D

Back when the internet was scary and you were never supposed to give any personal information away to anyone.

Ha! That's a good one. I guess I know who is behind that! ;)

Ahaaa so now I upvoted myself :P and now I see how it could work, just to get attention ;) Sneaky!

my mother still lives in that era of time lol. The good ol' days man, i remember HTML Yahoo Chat before they programmed it in Java. So slow, but so cool back then.

I love hearing stories of those who pioneered the Internet on BBS's using slow-as-molasses dialup connections. I came in the second wave, what I call the AOL adoption wave. :)

Ha yeah same here, i marvel at the stories of the old BBS systems and the old school pirates. I came in on AOL 1.0 too lol

You mean you guys never had NetZero? or NetZero 3G?! (still slow as fuck)

i had netzero when it was actually still free lol, they had another one in NYC that was free too, metro something dial up. lol

9,387 - yikes!

You're a pre-10k-er. :)

Now we need a badge or something.

I was here before all, y'all.

762 =)

BALLER!

Very nice. :)

I'm in for the long haul myself, I've already positioned some of my other coins into Steem Power. I believe in this platform for sure, crypto is the future and so is Steemit!!!

Yes indeed sir. I like looking at my steemit account number too. It is under 40k. Now we have over 200k and it's still early :-)

Very early indeed. I'm pretty stoked to be a part of this.

Yes I guess we are early adopters. I like the small community though, it's spam free, ad free, polite and friendly. If it goes too big those could change :(

Change is constant.

Wait, that sounds weird.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67