The Visual Rise And Fall Of Every Social Network

in #steemit6 years ago

Behold - a visual representation of the ascent (and descent) of (most) social networks, plotted using data from Google Search trends on a 6-month moving average.

Social 1.jpg

Also, it was created by someone who doesn't know what a social network is.

I found a few things about this chart interesting, in no particular order.

First, ICQ. That really takes me back. It was with the venerable ICQ that I arranged all of my Ebay deliveries back when I was a competitor of oddball Brok Pierce/IGE and Yantis. I tried to login to my ICQ (8 digit code, anyone better?) just recently and it was regrettably unable to recover my account.

I was surprised to see how many users ICQ maintained and for how long. Of course, it should not even be on this list. ICQ is definitively NOT a social network. It is an instant-messaging program almost identical to AOL Instant Messager. Having ICQ on here makes no sense. Having ICQ on here without having AOL Instant Messager on here makes even less sense.

Second, Slashdot is not a social network. It was a news-conglomeration site with comment posting on each article. Honestly, it wasn't much different from 1000 other sites that post news and updates from around the web and enable comments on their posts. Slashdot is no more a social network than the comments of the New York Times online articles are a social network.

Social 2.png

Exhibit B - Not a social network.

Honestly, MySpace ought to be the first site featured on this chart, as it was truly (and generally considered to be) the first real social network. I was truly surprised to see the peak so late for MySpace, as I recall my roommate was already deeply entrenched in MySpace by 2004, in an attempt to woo the internet ladies who I'm told may have actually used that site.

Social 3.jpg

Little did we know, we were already living in the future (ahem.)

WhatsApp is certainly putting in a strong showing, more than I had expected.

Reddit, on the other hand, is peaking more slowly and later than I expected. I grew disgusted and mostly swore of Reddit by the massive censorship/UpVoat exodus, but had been wanting to leave for some time. That was already at least 4-6 years ago, 2012-2013. They've managed to continue to climb in the face of increasingly negative public sentiment and user exodus, however I suspect they will be the next star to fall from grace.

Try SteemEngine and get rewarded for every follow or vote!
See my explanation of SteemEngine here.

Post via Busy.org for added exposure and upvotes from Busy!
See how to get extra votes from Busy.org here.

See my explanation of SmartSteem here.

Try SteemFollower today and get rewarded for every vote!
See my explanation of SteemFollower here.

PAL Logo.gif

Join us at the Minnow Support Project! (click me)
We also have a Radio Station! (click me)
...and a 10,000+ active user Discord Chat Server! (click me)

Join the Steemit Poker League! (@spl)
World's Largest Cyptocurrency Freeroll Poker Site, open only to Steemians!

Sources: Google, KnowYourMeme, SlashDot, Reddit, ZH
*Copyright: SmartSteem, PALNet, SPL, MySpace, Slashdot *

Sort:  

I never used my MySpace, but I have many vivid memories from my teenage years of chatting in the early morning hours on ICQ. Hahahaha.

I think Steemit will be an exception to the rule because of the monetary incentives to participate. However, Steemit could go down that same path if other crypto-social-media platforms, which offer better monetary incentives, sprout up.

Beautiful .. Interesting
Great post from you, thank you for this information
Thanks for sharing

some interesting analysis, wonder how steem's graph will play out

The death of my space.... Lets have a minute silence for the space it left in our heart lolz

I wonder how they are getting their data, or which data they are using!? I'm kind of surprised Pokémon Go isn't up there! Haha
Interesting post!

You got a 16.47% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @lexiconical!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

I feel tgat opening and reading this article was a good investment of my time. It was short enough so I had no time to get bored while I got a better picture of how the social media platforms popularity evolved in time.

I have one question not directly related to the article itself but: is it profitable to use voting bots these days? I mean I have tried it and lost money with almost each of them...

Tiny profit margins if you do, but you'll more often make a loss - people mostly use them to get views, but you can still use upvote selling services like this one to make a profit.

Thanks for the news on what is happening to the social platforms!

Awesome post, social media, like technology is equivalent to Moore's Law...observation that the number of transistors in a dense integrated circuit doubles approximately every two years. Meaning things continue to evolve and get better and if things don't remain competitive, they will be tomorrow's old news and extinct like Sears, Kmart, Toys R Us, etc.

Does anybody still remember Friendster?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48