SCAM EXPOSED and yet nothing is being done about it! ARE we going to allow this to become the new norm?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The scam has been clearly exposed on the thread of this https://steemit.com/introduce/@meiisheree/introducing-myself-a-little-girl-and-her-story just by reading the first few comments you clearly see how fishy this is getting with all the troll accounts made to counter the scam accusations.

Thanx to the steemians who are clearly speaking out against it even if they are powerless, are we going to allow this to be the new norm?

This below is my main post of 12 hours ago when I saw this fishy post that directly skyrocketed to 2500$ in under an hour.

Sorry but this has to be noticed urgently

So i was browsing hot topics to see what people were upvoting and were the hot discussions were happening.

I fall on a few introducemyself threads, lovely read and very enjoyable to see some great people adding themselves to our community WITH AT LEAST A STEEMIT VERIFIED PICTURE!

Then I fall on another one, a very hot one. A 14 years old girl, that have apparently been referred by her brother to steemit, without a verified picture but a very cute story where she introduces what she likes. A very developed English language for a 14 years old girl indeed, maybe too developed?

So here is my point, how can someone create an account , stating she is 14 years old and she like mangas with a very good english and no one question if this is a legit post that just reached 2500$ within a single hour? While you have these other people who took the effort to make their steemit picture, to introduce themselves and end up with pennies basically.

I hate to say it but this smell rigged as hell.

Here is the few hot posts I noticed in the last few hours

https://steemit.com/art/@roula/hi-steemit-my-name-is-roula-i-am-new-here-i-don-t-know-much-about-cryptocurrencies-but-steemit-makes-me-want-too-here-s-more

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@yanulyarus/my-second-love-steemit

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@hannahp/a-steemit-welcome-from-england

https://steemit.com/donate/@blinova/steemit-s-first-donate-post

Look at these posts above , legit people introducing themselves to this great community.

Now look at this one https://steemit.com/introduce/@meiisheree/introducing-myself-a-little-girl-and-her-story

Seriously, I need to understand how is it possible to give out these many upvotes to people that could just be anyone else making another account to upvote himself with the help of a few of his friends. No one has questioned the authenticity of this post and it will most likely reach 5000 + in the next few hours but these legit guys I posted about, above me are ignored by the whales. EXPLAIN THIS TO ME.

She writes: In my perspective, life is too short to waste, so try not to focus only on one thing and discover more (such as learning a new musical instrument or go hiking with your friends).

a 14 years old girl talking about life being too short ? lol come on already It's written rigged whales all over the posts. Steemit dev please wake up before its too late.

Sort:  

If only this was a pyramid, this kind of behavior is more mafia related.

corporate syndicate

the post is obviously ahhh stretched....

And yet when I try to expose it for the 3rd time, ill never get the exposure to bring the truth out to enough people because most whales , not all of them but most of them will never upvote it.

I would love it if my daughters at 14 wanted to go hiking...I am sure all I will hear about then is boys, boys and more boys. sigh

Lol im pretty sure your daughter doesnt claim that life is short at 14 years old! lol This is clearly a grown up talking.

I will let you know in 4 years time.

There is very real money to be made by being vigilant and blowing the lid off scammers and spammers. I talk about it in my latest article here
https://steemit.com/steemit/@condra/who-are-you-in-the-steemit-economy
See the section called "Spam Cops". Once you've done some research and are sure something fishy is going on, make sure to call out these people in the comment section on their threads. You should be handsomely rewarded with Upvotes.
Anyway thanks for this post. You are doing the whole community a good service when you expose scams. We need this place to be kept legit.

If you are going to call your post "scam exposed" would you mind exposing something at least? Your post doesn't contain a shred of evidence and doesn't even articulate what you think is the so called "scam". Is it that supposed 14 yo poster intro post? Is it the fact a bunch of account auto-vote every intro post with images?

So basically you downvote my post for pointing out an obvious scam? If I do not go deep in detail within my post, you decide it deserves a downvote? I'm doing something wrong here? pointing people to an obviously fishy thread so we as a community don't get scammed so easily in the future? I can't legitely think about a good reason of why you would downvote my post right now for pointing out an obvious problem in the system as if I was trying to harm the system. And your downvote takes down my .12$ of earnings, But I don't even care really I just wonder how are you downvoting a post that seek to point out that we have to clearly start thinking about not allowing scammers to get away with this kind of behavior.

If I do not go deep in detail within my post, you decide it deserves a downvote?

Making serious accusations without a shred of evidence is diffamation, and yes I think it deserves a downvote. I'm not saying the post you are pointing to is legit, it didn't pass the smell test for me either so I didn't upvote it, but I've looked at it and couldn't point out a single thing that would be sufficient to support the claim that it's fake. In that case the right thing to do is refrain from voting or ask for further verification elements. You can voice doubts. You can challenge people who upvoted in spite of the fact legitimacy is uncertain. But calling it a scam without any evidence is jumping the gun.

Another problem I encountered today with the Intro section...

If you flag a suspicious intro post or demand verification, you might quickly get mobbed by people sticking up for the poster. They may be well meaning users, or more like, accounts that are in on the scammy post.

Honestly by the looks of things, there is widescale abuse of the Intro section.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55