Sort:  

I agree, I helped a user today by sending them 50 Steem as a Power Up for this very reason. There should at least be some warnings during the 30 day "training wheels" period to let them know they need to earn some Steem Power.

You shouldn't have to do that.

I'm glad there are people like you willing to do it though.

Hey people helped me (in different ways) when I was new here.....he had a shit ton of followers or I probably wouldn't have helped him!

If I remember correctly, the limit is simply a function of how the blockchain works. Adding something to the blockchain creates work, that work must be compensated somehow. The SP is that compensation (indirectly), demonstrating that the poster has a vested interest in the long term value of the platform.

I do think there is a possible solution here in getting new users and avoiding mindless spam.... but I haven't given enough thought to it. I know there was a post the other day discussing this. @timcliff maybe?

That said -- people aren't "charged bitcoin" to participate. Steem tokens are on their own blockchain. Purchasing with BTC is one method, but there are other means of exchange, just no direct from USD yet.

Further -- those are allocated to EVERYONE that invests. This isn't a centralized model. The @steemit account has plenty in reserves to pay employees. The only reason a token is worth what it is right now is because the COMMUNITY of investors and participants have deemed it to be worth that much, in the open market. If they deemed it worthless, it would be free to post and eventually the blockchain would die from lack of interest and witnesses.

In the chat today a user gifted another in this circumstance steem to power up to avoid the training wheels issue. According to the user with the training wheels issue they couldn't power it up and reimbursed the gifter.

When the gifter transfered as SP it worked fine.

So I'm not sure what the deal is. What do you think may have caused this?

The "training wheels" user stated there was an error message when trying to convert the gifted steem to SP.

well said, but I would argue witnesses wouldn't leave, they stayed for a year with almost no pay from this. Still I'm not sure

I have to agree here. I've been upvoting comments and even giving a vote to what I'd consider to be lesser posts for some newbies just to help them get the 10-12 SP that (I think) they need to resume activity on the platform. I feel a little bad. It's often difficult for newbies to make any kind of earnings on their posts, and, now, on top of that, they might sign in to find themselves sandbagged. I don't know, but it seems like that would be a bit of a turn off to what might be some great contributors. I know that the process of paying for new sign-ups costs money, which needs to be recouped somehow, but I feel that there's a flaw here somewhere. I'm no expert though.

Way too many shitposters are popping up lately, the new members that do provide real, nice content gain more than enough to be able to ride the bike with no training wheels in a few posts (all it takes is a bit of interaction with the network).

The problem, resides in the fact that many new users only join, copypasta some shitpost, and expect that people will read and upvote it just as if steem was some sort of shitty forum.

The solution would be to clarify what steem is and how it REALLY works, to prevent shitposters from even trying. This, with a nice "welcome" landing page, that we are sure shitposters will totally ignore.

this this this!

Yeah I mean an explanation would surely help.

And fuck you sir. I shit post with the best of them.

there are at least 20 posts listed in the welcome page, not to mention the 000000 posts written on the topic, how to do steemit,

Yeah but what you're failing to mention is that these posts go through the feeds at light speeds.

We need an "okay here's how it is" message before they start.

I agree with that, it's a bit overwhelming, I was reading a few weeks on everything in the welcome page and still couldn't finish up, luckily I started participating and that taught me more than going through all the material, I've forgotten how much time I spent on the tutorials here :D well gamification was coming sometime, but yes a short introduction, click, vote this is your power, now you have a follower, make your blog tidy :) something of the sort.

Yep. That's what I think.

haha my thoughts exactly :) meanwhile good content gets buried and botvoters don't care :D

They told me "memes are dreams kid, life is a kekwalk." But then steem told me I had, in fact, not earned enough good boy points.

In comedy there is truth.

The number of voting bots has decreased I think ever since the implemented this...

Back in the old days, when a pow (proof-of-work) calculation was found, you could create a new username on the fly for free. People created massive amounts of sockpuppets and made them into bots.

Now today it's a different issue. You can never seem to win at policy these days.

I was just more so concerned over the idea of people being forced to buy SP with Bitcoin. If this is not true I have no qualms as long as steemit puts forth an effort to a) make this clear during sign ups and b) to possible hire some help for the chat rooms. It is truly an epidemic.

@timcliff who is a great ambassador to new users on steemit and does FAQ submits to the github etc for them to see seems to have addressed this in his post:

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@timcliff/new-accounts-don-t-have-enough-sp-to-fully-interact-with-the-blockchain-should-witnesses-update-the-max-block-size-discussion

Got lots of comments that may help.

well said

As a newbie here, I just found out about this situation just yesterday, which I happened to stumble across by accident. I did not know that as a new member that I could run out of steem and would have to power up or whatever it is that I have to do. So many untold rules, which means countless hours of trying to figure out how this place works when I thought it was a place where I could share my art and have fun. But I am finding out there are people (whales) I guess they are called that hold the shots here. It's just like real life.. the power players and little pee ons. Am I going to be a star or a nothing. Its all another big gamble.. like going to junior high all over again and wondering if I or the other new members going to be accepted into the club or not?
I have posted and have not received much attention, I have commented but with not any real connections for me. So I wonder how many other new members feel lost?
I am not bitter or upset, I just think we all come here for a reason and then we find out there is a hierachy here also? I am not positive that is what I am seeing but so far that is what I am experincing, but I could be wrong and I am keeping my fingers crossed that I just wont run out of steem because I want to stay and play with the cool kids.

I'll check out your work.

There are cool people here you just have to keep grinding my friend.

Welcome, if you need help feel free to ask, I've said it numerous times, but it took m 3 month to get up to steem and by that time my account was totally worthless, luckily I took the uphill climb and learned a lot while doing it. If you'd like to save some 3 months starting up, just ask :) best of luck :)

While spam is always something that must be looked out for, it's not fair to newer users to take away priveleges just because we also have to watch out for spam. I believe that we need to come up with a new way to watch out for spam instead of taking away from new users, but what do you think could be done? This is a great post, and it really sheds some light on how newer users are being treated unfairly.

Thank you so much. I am only critical because I want the best for steemit. I love this place. It's really hard to filter and come up with a solution but I'm sure we can figure out something. We're a bright group.

dude when I got here I wasn't expecting anything, and trust me I wasn't posting, when I saw that my account was worthless and my votes were pointless, I started doing something, mainly it was @kus-knee that pulled me up from the .50 account worth, I agree it's not nice, but with the lack of respect kids have these days and the spam they spew, follow me they say but there is the blockchain and they are lying :D spamming, if someone want to be here they can earn it, it's hard, it shouldn't be free. Douches are cashing out their starting fund then whining, sure we need to be supportive, but they don't want support rather they want cash and don't care for shit.

Sorry for ranting, there are some bad apples, we can do better probably, I'm just saying I didn't get any delegated power or help and I moved past that. others can too :D

I think the limit shouldn't have been lifted for the same reason, but people like twitter and instagram so let's just bury the chain with links and pieces.

dude when I got here I wasn't expecting anything, and trust me I wasn't posting, when I saw that my account was worthless and my votes were pointless, I started doing something, mainly it was @kus-knee that pulled me up from the .50 account worth, I agree it's not nice, but with the lack of respect kids have these days and the spam they spew, follow me they say but there is the blockchain and they are lying :D spamming, if someone want to be here they can earn it, it's hard, it shouldn't be free. Douches are cashing out their starting fund then whining, sure we need to be supportive, but they don't want support rather they want cash and don't care for shit.

Sorry for ranting, there are some bad apples, we can do better probably, I'm just saying I didn't get any delegated power or help and I moved past that. others can too :D

I think the limit shouldn't have been lifted for the same reason, but people like twitter and instagram so let's just bury the chain with links and pieces.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54