My little STEEMIT Rant! (Don't mind if I do...)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I can honestly say that when I joined this community, I would NEVER have guessed just how MUCH it would consume me. No, I was clueless for the most part… My eldest brother who is a big crypto fan, knows that I love to write and had spent almost a year trying to convince me to register here and that is the reason I am here! When I eventually did join, it was “all very exciting” as you can no doubt relate…

Little did I know, that despite being a complete social media enthusiast on every other platform aside from Steemit, I was about to hit a whole new level of junkie!

Yeeeah… you ALL know EXACTLY what I am talking about! – and before anybody mounts their horse… I am NOT saying this as a bad thing…

Yes, sure, I am completely sleep deprived, my back is officially screwed from the long hours of sitting and I now work at a standing desk, my eyes… well… what eyes… BUT – I love this place and I am quite happy to be all consumed!

I will say however that my most recent endeavour in aid of supporting the steemit community… has taught me the most! I recently launched a discord server called Steemit Bloggers and although only a few months old, we have an amazing community of people there.

But DAMN! some of them are hard work! - and this is coming from a business owner in the design and print industry - going on 17 years now! I am actually gob-stopped daily at how little attention people pay to detail anymore. Now don’t get me wrong, our core members are nothing short of fantastic, but them aside, we are all met daily with individuals who are simply… simply… let me think how to put this eloquently… yeah, screw eloquent… they are simply damn LAZY, DISINTERESTED, EXPECTANT and well, FULL OF SH!TE!

I cannot help but wonder how, if a person cannot read a simple 2 page document, they could EVER hold down a basic job or let alone pursue a career?! My mind truly boggles!!!!

Brainstorming is one thing, it is a healthy and constructive think tank where EVERYBODY contributes, but what I am seeing more than anything else is people who don’t want to put in the effort yet simultaneously want the rewards.

Life does not work that way “mofo’s” – get your heads out of your arses and start giving some elbow grease – just like the rest of us!

Quotefancy-1713511-3840x2160.jpg

Image Credit

I am most likely “frowned upon” daily in my server – not by our core members, but by the “audience individuals” because I take a hard stance in the way I want things run. But I am ok with that because we are all big people here, and whilst assistance is willingly granted – spoon feeding is simply something I CANNOT swallow!

What the hell happened to the human race while I was building a business and raising a child…

No SERIOUSLY!?! It is DISTURBING to say the least how people just want everything handed to them on a golden Fncking platter! Well, guess what chum… NO! How about you go and grab your tools like the rest of us had to and you start ploughing the ground!

I do not and never will have a problem offering advice to those that are truly and honestly enquiring, but I have absolutely NO time for people who ask questions because – in short – they want you to do all the work for them. They want answers at their fingertips. They could not be bothered to read, they could not be bothered to contribute and the sad reality (for them anyway) is that they will never get anywhere on the Steemit platform – and I cannot help but wonder how they fare in the REAL world!

When you want something in life you have to get off your butt and go and get it. Not unlike lifting your rear-end off the couch to go and get food when you are hungry. Expecting people to do everything for you…. REALLY?! How is this going to help you long term?! What on earth would you do then, if alone and had nobody to pass you the toilet paper?!

I was raised with a mind-set of determination and the thought process of never giving up! This quality does not seem to be particularly prevalent in our younger generation. Yes, I know that is a generalisation, and YES there are MANY exceptions… but more often than not, we are seeing individuals who simply throw their hands up in the air, waving their white flag… “help me, help me – I am helpless – tell me how to fix it”.

Yes, sure – no problem… I will GLADLY tell you how to “FIX IT” but guess what… then…. You ACTUALLY have to do the rest FOR yourself, BY yourself!

Empowering is one thing.

Enabling is another!

The first, I will gladly jump at – the latter… NOT SO MUCH!

Steemit is SUCH an amazing platform and community, so it REALLY frustrates me when I see the level of people trying to juice it for all it's worth without actually having ANYTHING of any real substance or value to offer. In the grand scheme of things, I am a nobody on this platform, I did not come here with any millions to invest and "bump me up" - no! I came here, registered, got my username and password, got approved and have worked my butt off ever since! I have not complained, I have not whined, or asked a thousand questions without at the very least having tried to find out for myself, nor have I judged those that are successful - I have simply continued!

For the LOVE OF GREEN GRASS, can everybody else that joins this platform on a similar basis, PLEASE just do the same! Find out how it works - and then WORK IT!!!

Pixabay Rocks!

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

ENTHUSIASTIC about BLOGGING?

Got AWESOME content?

well, what are you waiting for?!

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Steemit Bloggers Discord BANNER NEW.jpg

Sort:  

you bust your hump for that server jaynie,

even though I' ve only been a member for a few weeks. its prevalent how much you care for us in there and want to see us do well.

sometimes people just need to be "called out" . I put quotations on that because sometimes people feel that is what youre doing when youre trying to get them to fix their mistake. youre just communicating.

but thats life huh. lol.

Thank you :) I appreciate that! - no, like REALLY! lol ;)

and yes you are spot on... such is life... but onward and upward yeah :D

I have been watching the server for a while now and still see mostly the same people really active. Quite frankley @jaynie don't waste your time on those that dont want to play along, its not worth the frustration, you get upset ..... and they dont care. Remove them if you can and let them join other servers which are better suited to them. Thank for all the hard work and effort you have put in.

Thank you for your lovely words @claudiaz - that means the world to me, really! And yes, I am getting to that point now of simply implementing the hard route. People must simply read and comply or go! hehe :)

Hey jaynie 👋🏻

Haha! Rants are so fun to read sometimes!!!

Got me all emotional and excited! Keep up the good work snapping all us slackers into line!!

I may just pop in there sometime!
Peace

hahahaha @em3 I am glad you got a giggle out of it! And yes, I shall continue to crack that whip lol

good post i have joined already

thank you dear :)

You are quite amazing and I love the group SO much. Best group on Steem in my opinion. BUT... I can't post right now. I get a message telling me I have to be a member for at least 10 minutes....and I've been around much longer than that!

Thank you love. Please try again now and let me know if you have the same problem.

I'm in! Thanks for taking care of me so promptly and have a good night's sleep!

only a pleasure x

Help I'm locked out of the group again!

eeek this only seems to be happening to you angel... give me a few min

Am I doing something that makes this happen?

Thank you! I'm in again.

I'm a new member in your community and from what I've seen so far you do the lord's work there. It's easy to get discouraged under the constant torrent of noobishness, but those that prevail will undoubtly be remembered.

Tat is very true @zeroooc - I hope that you will persist in your endeavors here :)

I am the warchief of the orcish horde.
If i can subsist on twitch, then I'll be fine here too.
Besides, most people here are way more supportive so it should be easy ;)

YAY!!! Glad to hear such awesome feedback. Thank you @zeroooc :)

It's an age for a new kind of hero. You are one of these @jaynie

You are far too generous, but I will attempt to be gracious and simply say, thank you... that means a lot to me xxx

Look I simply know how tough it can be to "keep all your ducks in a line" when building/moderating an online community and it can be highly ungrateful work too, but if you play it right it's worth it. Keep it up :)

It is DISTURBING to say the least how people just want everything handed to them on a golden Fncking platter!

WELL said... I have come across that too in the last few years; even more so with younger generations (no offense to anyone).

Sadly, it seems to be the reality these days!

@jaynie I agree with everything you wrote here.
Most people today want "instant results" they do not have a bit of patience, very difficult to work with a relatively young generation.
They want everything now and immediately.

SOOOOOOOOOOOO sad! but true! I would like to believe it can be changed!

"When I was young I wanted to change the world, when I grew up I found it hard to change the world so I tried to change my nation, when I saw I can not change the people, I tried to at least change my city, even this could not and decided to concentrate on my family. Today I have been schooled experience, I understand that the only thing I could change it myself. I know that if long ago I would change myself, it would have affected my family, had created a change in my city and my people, then the world would change ..... " Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneerson

Over the years I have also had to train so many people. At times it is difficult to stay calm as all I want to scream is think about a solution yourself. People just want other people to solve their problems and it drives me batty.

I can completely relate!!! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65