Obsession - the Way to SuccesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Obsession is often perceived as inherently negative. However, in order to achieve things in life – especially things that lie beyond the beaten path – a healthy dose of obsession is not only useful, it is a requirement.

MV5BNzUyNDY2MjktMDMzMS00MmQ0LWIyNTUtNWY2MDEwNDM0YWZhXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjk5NjcwODk@._V1_.jpg
(me, portraying an obsessive madman)

Personally, I use an extensive to-do-list to organize my life and get stuff done. The items on this list range from ‘make paté from giblets in fridge’ to ‘learn Spanish’ to ‘finish novel’. The latter refers to me writing a novel, not reading it, by the way.

Lately, however, I find myself being preoccupied with other matters. Matters of Steemit, matters of crypto, matters of a meaningful online presence, matters of obsession.

Obsession cannot stand alone, however. Obsession without discipline lives a life of it’s own, steals your focus, and may take you to places you had or have no intention of going.

people-2590677_960_720.jpg

Not all people have obsessional tendencies.

But for those of us who do, it can be a blessing or a...well, curse is a strong word, but it can certainly be a distraction.

The blessing, however, is the ‘ability’ to be completely immersed in something. So immersed, that other things in life seem like distractions.

This is, and has always been – in my opinion – the hallmark of all geniuses.
That doesn’t mean that you’re a genius just because you’re obsessive, but it is one of the requirements.

Take Beethoven, for instance. He composed at least 722 compositions, and many more were unpublished. In other words: he was obsessive.

I’m not a huge fan of classical music, but I know that only a handful of Beethovens compositions are considered quality, and of these, even fewer are classics.

The point?

To create something truly unique, epic and impactful, you need to be obsessive.

Sort:  

I agree, to an extent - but there are exceptions to every rule so while, on balance, obsessing about something may increase your chances of delivering on it, I would prefer to work in the areas where I don't need to obsess to succeed.

In that regard I'm a big fan of the 80:20 rule, i.e. I would much rather deliver 90-95% of the output for 80% of the effort, and keep the other 20% for something else. The outcome may not be quite as 'epic', but if it is good enough then I am fine

Cheers

I don't disagree with this. The 80/20 rule is something I've utilized myself for different things. It could be an example of the undefined 'discipline' I refer to in the post. When it all comes down to it, it is to some degree a choice you can make.

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

hi how to be part of that... i tried to join on discord but i cant access it...

I believe you need a registration link. Try google search - and find a steemit post that has one. I don't remember exactly how I got in...

i used link.. but i cant access the 25,50,100 etc... vote plus.... maybe u could help me...

You have made some very good points.

How's the paté coming? ;-)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @initforthemoney to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

thanks for sharing keep it up

Cheers, brother!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 7.58 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @initforthemoney.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a 6.33 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @initforthemoney. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58909.47
ETH 2315.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46