5 Honest Reasons I Remained Absent from Steemit for Two Months!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, 

How are you doing? I am certainly missing the old days when I used to be active here and shared 3 to 5 posts a week. The most amazing thing was the interaction that happened in the comments section of my posts, and those of my favorite authors. The abundant information on cryptocurrencies was also a bonus. I have regularly been following crypto though because of my investments. I am trying to come back for a while now but there has to be some point to start from. Why not the reasons I left in the first place?

It was towards the end of March when I, sort of, became inactive here. Here are the top 7 reasons why it happened.

1. Haejin

Not exactly him but the absence of a way to get him out of the system. People tried (I did too) but his stake, and that of his biggest voter, was too big to be challenged. He persisted in looting Steem ecosystem's reward pool and it left a very bad taste for me. Bad actors should not be allowed to exist or persist in a community.

Here's a direct tribute to him from my side, which was flagged obviously.

I have conveyed my deep felt message to Haejin on more than one occasions and have received heavy flags from him too (undone by community leaders mostly). I thought standing on the right side of things was important in the need of hour. Steem needed all of us to protect this ecosystem.

2. My First Car

Among my 2018 goals, buying a car was a prominent one. March was the month I wanted it to be done. I had started the process in March. The car was booked on 5 April and delivered on 19 April. It being my first car, the process took a lot of time and effort. I had to go through it all along side my job. Steemit took a hit. 

After having my hands on it, the next 10 days were crazy. In the first ten days of owning a car, I traveled 2254 kilometers. That's 225 kilometer per day. At that rate of traveling, how could I be active on Steemit?

3. Consistent Market Dip

Not only because Steem had fallen a lot! I have some amazing and some upcoming coins in my portfolio and they all dipped. A massive chunk of my money is in the crypto and I am hopeful for a strong rebound of Bitcoin and altcoins to get some liquidity. Having HODLed my way through February, March and April, the excitements dwindled down a little.

Having my money invested in crypto with no intention to sell at loss, I was unable to pursue the goal of buying a car for myself. There was no cash to do it. In a rush, I borrowed money from friends and bought my car. Then I withdrew some money from my longterm savings and repaid my friends with it. There's no debt on me, as usual. 

However, a glorious bull run is badly needed to pursue the construction of my home and support the charitable causes that I tend to support, like @educateonechild.

4. Deep Research

I am not the only one who got stuck in study and analysis of all kinds. Weeks ago, I was worried about @inquiringtimes not posting regularly. When I asked him why he wasn't active, he mentioned research on various topics as a reason. This time around, I got stuck in research too. A lot of topics of global significance but scarcely known.

This post by @lukestokes triggered this never ending quest of finding the hidden truth about the global financial order. The role of central banks in shaping how the world functions is massive. I am not going into much details here but you can have a sniff at it by watching the following video.

https://youtu.be/lu_VqX6J93k 

The search hasn't stopped yet. It's going to be a long journey I know. I was always into financial side of things but the truth about central banks and paper currency has taken this interest to an entirely new level and dimension. Personal fiance has suffered during the course because I left my second source of income; Steemit. But the research is totally worth it and I am not sure just as yet what to do with this intriguing information. I'll most probably start sharing it soon.

Here's the latest of the videos that I watched on the topic. This is especially about Japan and how central banks engineered social and economic change.

5. Lack of Progress on Steem

I am highly grateful to Steem blockchain (and a big thank you to @vortac for a big vote on my return post). I have been a big big advocate of Steem and most probably will remain so. However, despite all my hardwork in promoting Steem, I got a little demotivated by the pace with which things were moving. I now understand that the market would probably not have reacted to the massive announcements amid all the dip. It is probably best to have the big announcements delayed until we are into a visible bull run.

I have backed STEEM to be massive in 2018 in my new year post. I also analyzed STEEM as an investment and won a 75 Steem price for it, nearly 25 of which was given away by me. Point being, I have been a big fan of Steem for a long time and I still love the technology it presents in a crowded blockchain space. I have read a lot about Steem's past and near future and shared all the findings with other people via above posts. 

All of these reasons combined made it hard for me to be able to post regularly. Some of the thoughts were mentioned here last week. I know two months have been wasted because I have a goal to reach 70 reputation score and 10,000 SP by end of this year. Will I be able to do that? Who knows...

Happy to Be Back!

I am so glad to have written a detailed post after a long time. The blogger in me is surely alive and there's a lot to share. I will soon be back with sharing useful resources for newbies and struggling Steemians. My previous guides are here for your help, if needed.

A list of all the guides concerning Steemit ecosystem and the services enhancing it is found below for anyone who may find them useful.
  1. How to Use GINAbot and Get Seamless Steemit Notifications for Free!
  2. How to Use eSteem App, A Steem App with Amazing Features
  3. How to Use MinnowBooster - 7 MinnowBooster Services You Should Know About!
  4. How to Use SmartSteem - A Vote Selling/Buying Service You Can Benefit From!
  5. How to Sell Your Vote on Steemit and Earn SBD/Steem? An Exclusive Guide on Vote Selling!
  6. How to Use SteemVoter to Automate Voting and Maximize Curation Rewards!
  7. How to Use Combination of BlockTrades and Litecoin to Convert Steem/SDB to Bitcoin
  8. How to Use SteemAuto to Leverage Automation For Upvoting Authors and Earning Curation Rewards!  

Sort:  

Interesting post @ilyastarar. Glad to hear you're feeling more like writing again.

It can be a very roller coaster experience here. Sometimes I feel like walking away too.

Recently it has been just one thing after another and the spam accounts are totally rampant now.

A friend of mine joined 5 weeks ago and has more than 120 followers. Every single one of those is a spam account. He has posted every day since he joined and, despite my help, is not getting seen at all.

I hope things start to turn around for the better soon. The only thing that keeps me here is the people I've met. But even there I've noticed a number of people I used to have great chats we are no longer active.

Better stop writing now before I get myself into another slump. 😢

Keep on, keeping on! 😍

It can get very tricky. But the connections here are strong. Do your friend a favor and ask him to comment more than he posts on his blog. He will see an opportunity.

Check this post by @spiritualmax.

Yeah. I've talked to him about commenting but he works really long hours and doesn't really have the time. Sometimes he starts at 5 a.m. and finishes at 8.00 p.m.

He has other priorities. I thought if he just posted regularly he cold build up an account. Maybe he can. It remains to be seen.

I'm just hitting a phase of being fed up with it all myself and am having thoughts of walking away for a bit like you did.

Thanks for the post link. 😊

For a person committed in too much, Steeming can be really difficult. I know that.

Agreed. @ilyastarar. It takes a lot more "work" than you think it will at first. At least if you want to progress with your reputation and earnings. 😊

There are stuffs I know about on Steemit that I would never have known if it wasn't for you. Please get your groove back. I got to know @jbn through one of your posts and he's an amazing person.

Well thank you very much.. actually he is the one who brought me to steemit back in October of 2017.

Welcome back! The new car looks good and will keep you positive for the next months :)
About The reward pool news! We have other problems than Haejin lately :( Phishing and it became another major problem as well. Many accounts were stolen and money transferred our to Bittrex. There are many other users upvoting their spam comments too, but nobody can take any action :(
So the only solution that I see is to be active and keep posting. Somehow we need to balance the situation here and make more Dolphins than Whales or Minnows :)

Agreed. There are other issues too. I did look at phishing and tried to educate people about it here.

welcome back brother. love to see your writing in steemit again. i learn with your post about how create good looking post when first time i join steemit. it helps me so much. thank you @ilyastarar

Thanks a lot. I am glad my post helped you. Hoping to be of more use to the community.

of course. i think it helps more steemian beside me

glad you're back
I liked your way of being real and honest on steemit! I hope to learn a lot from you! Thank you @ilyastarar

Thanks a lot.

Glad to know you still here with us @ilyastarar, this system still need you to enlightening us, me and others steemian I think. Thank you and thank you.

Thanks a lot. Let's Steem on!

Welcome back my friend...
Your most candid feeling about some parasite(you know who I am pointing to) are highly appreciated.
And 225km per day, that's crazy really:)

Thanks a lot, @xabi. I had to let the feeling out. Haha. The travel was thoroughly enjoyable though.

After reading all the reasons you kept away, good to have you back - it means you managed to overcome or at least pushed those reasons out of the way. And may you always do so...

Thank you so much for such a positive message!

Some things are still unchanged.

Welcome back, i hope you got enough encourage this time and you will do good again.
Best of luck :)

We have to move our focus away from those things for a while and do our own thing. Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58251.90
ETH 3138.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24