My first contribution to steemit: steemrank.com

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hey, wonderful people of steemit!

I'm really stoked to see what's happening with the community and to be a part of it, this place is just amazing! It's great to see the word of crypto spreading to the mainstream and people that think of other stuff besides cryptocurrencies and mining hardware :D


As writing is not my strong suit, I've was trying to come up with a way that I could contribute to the ecosystem.


So for the past days, I've been hammering away on a site called steemrank.com, a tool that I would like to see grow to provide valuable data for all steemian's. 


Currently, the site only provides a live stream of what's going on with steam it, in real-time. That feature is based on @roelandp 's steamstream.com. That's right! When @roelandp is not making awesome makeup tutorials to help boost men's confidence he actually builds wicked steemit tools! However I thought the tool was a bit hard to use so I changed up a few things and made it the data more readable.



The ability to follow certain people is based on the idea of @discombobulated and steemitx.com, another project based on @roelandp 's creation.



Both of them deserve all the credit, so before you do anything, go and upvote them to show some love!

The SteemStream Thread:

https://steemit.com/steem/@roelandp/steemstream-com-a-realtime-visualisation-of-all-activity-on-steemit

The SteemitX Thread:

https://steemit.com/steemitx/@discombobulated/presenting-steemitx-com-a-simple-way-to-follow-users


Another shout out to the guys making it possible to connect with the blockchain:


What's the goal for steemrank?

well, to be honest at first there was no goal. I found steemit, fell in love and wanted to contribute in some form or another. As writing has never been my thing (something I believe steemit can change), I just wanted to get started with something that I felt more comfortable doing. I found the domain, bought it and got stuck in front of the computer for the past 4-5 days. 


At first, I thought I would whip up a simple tool that ranked the most paid and upvoted posts. As the days passed by I realized that this could be something bigger. Why not build an API that everyone can use for free? Then use that data on the site, while at the same time providing it to others that wanna build steemit tools.


However this is in retrospect a bit outside my scope of expertise, that's why I decided to launch the site before any of these features were fully built. Both to get good ideas and pointers from others while at the same time find talented  people to co-operate with.


So what was the goal again?

To sum it all up, steemrank's goal is to gather and structure steemit data for steem users and provide an open, free and easily accessible API.


If you are interested in helping out just let me know!

https://steemrank.com

#steemit #steem #tools


Sort:  

We are performing maintenance, we will be back shortly!

Ouch... this should be fixed now!

The site says it is in maintenance mode..

Yup for got to switch of before I posted the article :/
The site should be up and running now!

Cool I will put you on SteemTools.com once you have the ranking in place!
But pls can you update my name on your site maybe?

http://steemrank.com/tools and on the frontpage :)

You have a few typo's it says @rolandp but it is with @roelandp :)

thx!

ALso a typo @tools page: http://steemrank.com/tools which says SteAMstream but should be StEEMstream :) I know it's a difficult tonguebreaker :)

Maybe you could link from your tools page to http://steemtools.com thx.

Sweet :D Thanks a lot!
I'm all over the typos now. I will hook you up with a link link to http://steemtools.com as well!

YO! I got the link for http://steemtools.com up on site now. I think most of the TyPoZ should be fixed as well. :D

Looks great man, good work, congratulations.

Thanks @radium, it's just the beginning, a lot more to come!

Yet another tool for furthering Steemit addiction. Very nice!

I wonder if there is any tools out there for getting of steemit as well :P

Congratulations @hedelund! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @hedelund! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63927.21
ETH 2754.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65