Time budgeting vs being managed by time (featuring @jacor as author)

in #steemit8 years ago

I have now been on Steemit for about weeks and the I have now realised that I have a new problem in my life:

Time Management


Before I joined Steemit I already had a problem with my busy life and now I am on Steemit whenever I have a chance!

I find the platform amazing and I really enjoy the posts, stories and new ideas that are posted. I spend a lot of time reading and deciding what to upvote. I am a great believer that the good, honest posts deserves the recognition for the time people have spent to create the perfect post in their eyes. A lot of good content slips through the cracks. I always make sure I go down the Active and New pages as far as possible to find interesting and worthwhile content. We should actually all do this as I do not see any other way to give get more good content voted up.

Back to the Time Management.

My real job as a Business Development Executive in the ICT industry, is very time consuming. I sell solutions to problems for a living. This take a lot of time and I always need to be up to speed with the latest trends in ICT for corporates and the government sector. I read a lot, I mean really a lot, so Steemit is a natural extension to what I do.

My problem is however that time is consumed at an incredible rate. Do you experience the same? If the answer is yes, my question to you is : How good is your time management?

Time management is defined as The process of planning and organizing your time between specific activities. This enables you to work smarter and not harder :)

This is however much easier said than done. In my life there are always things like tenders or new customers that always need assistance... like in yesterday, which confuses any management of time that I planned or organised.

This new platform is so exciting that it adds to the problem.

So I decided to implement some time management strategies, and I thought I will share it with those that are experiencing the same problem. I am not sure if the strategy is going to work, but I will provide feedback as I find things that work.

My current attempted time budgeting strategy is as follows:

Step 1 : Monitor time use for a week or so. Collecting as much data as possible. SO start keeping a record of what I'm doing every 20 minutes or so. Keep a chart, Excel Spreadsheet or whatever works.
Step 2: Examine the time used. Now that we have some data to work with lets analyse this. Categorise the information into sensible categories. Stuff like "work", "sleep", "social time", "meals", "tender response", "customer meeting", "STEEMIT READING", "Steemit Writing!!" etc.
Step 3: Add to a spreadsheet and Analyse the general pattern of time used. So answer a few questions. Is there something in the pattern that was not expected? What is not working well and what is?
Step 4: Go into more detail for the categories believed to be important.
Step 5: Examine the use of talents - We all have specific talents and specific things we HAVE to do. Make notes of these talents and things that I did not do.
Step 6: Look at the overall use of talents and talents not used.
Step 7: Ask the question : How do I really want to spend most of my time… I know the answer is to be on Steemit as much as possible…
Step 8: Do some problem solving. What things in life can be eliminated or combined? Could I watch a bit less TV? What activities can be combined. Example: Combine fitness time with family time?
Step 9: Do a reality check. - Easy to say I'm going to do something, but is it practically possible?
Step 10: Monitor for a while
Step 11: Schedule some time to review progress.

Hopefully the approach to my new problem will help me free up some time in the long run to spend in Steemit! Thanks again to the steemit team.

I do not mind having this new type of problems.

If only I can have the time to do this on a more permanent basis.

Happy Steeming!

Image Credit

@gavvet features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author

Sort:  

Your strategy reminds me of https://alexvermeer.com/8760hours/
This is a thorough method how to get the most from your next year (a year has 8760 hours). I have been following this plan for 11 months and it's helped me enormously!

Thank you @hr1 , I will have a read through and hopefully add something to my strategy. Thanks for sharing the link :)

Good stuff, @jacor!

As @evan7 mentioned, I highly recommend RescueTime. I don't use it any longer as I have calibrated myself to manage time, but helped me greatly to reign it in. It'll examine the time for you - after all, maintaining an Excel spreadsheet and keeping track is a waste of time in itself :)

Rescue time for everybody! we can go to an elections with such slogan)

For collecting as much data as possible (Step 1) about your time spent on your computer or mobile device, categorizing time spent (Step 2), and analyzing that data (Step 3), I highly recommend RescueTime (https://www.rescuetime.com/). I see that I have currently spent 16 hours and 51 minutes on steemit.com for the month of July, and I spend the most time on steemit.com during the 4 pm hour. Thanks for bringing my need for more effective time management to my attention!

Excellent that you already have some data to work with @evan7

What a wonderful feeling to wake up on a Monday morning and finding your post at the top of the trending page!

@gavvet, thank you for featuring me in your posts. You area a great promoter of the next generation of Steemit authors. Some more gratitude in my post Reputation, Reputation, It works to build a reputation

And to top it all, guess where I find myself now ...First Steemit post from my hospital bed

A lot of people that I'm around in the internet marketing world swear by the Pomodoro method of time management. It's basically the idea that you do short segments of time (about 40 minutes) on a single task to the exclusion of all else, then move on to something else, or begin another segment.
Further reading: http://pomodorotechnique.com/

I came over to post this. I couldn't have said it better. I personally use Clearfocus - an android pomodoro app.

@infovore, nice to see you here again. Thanks again for the feature in your article last week. It asssited a lot with my reputation building mission!!. I will check out Clearfocus. I hope it helps. Chat soon

Looking forward to a chat with you ;) and yeah, you should check it out....it's simple and light.

Time to check out my latest post :)
You won't believe where I am ... Hospital, luckily it has nothing to do with Steemit!!!

Clearfocus - I'll have to check that one out. Thanks.

I've used it. It is a great way to get things done and minimize outside distractions. It's also easy to customize to suit your needs if you need frequent breaks from certain tasks or you have tasks that you can work on for longer periods of time without a break.

All you need is a timer & a prioritized list of things to do. There are various free/paid apps out there too.

👍nice post and great strategy budgeting @gavvet

Thank you @oliverb . I will check out Pomodoro. Hopefully it helps with what I now believe is my Steemit addiction :)

It is hard to come up with the time needed to put out quality posts. Especially most having full time jobs and family. I see this all changing in the future. Most users are tying to get on the "trending page". I see this evolving over time here at Steemit. I think that people or users will do more SEARCHES for the content they like. Like I do when I go to YouTube. I go strait to the search bar an look for my favorite things. That's how I see it going here when it grows to hundreds of thousands of users. Then you would want to just write on your favorite topic or passion. Maybe you will want to be on the "trending page" of YOUR category. Anyway, when everyone stops trying to get to the main page I think users will look at the site in an entirely new way. Good Post. :)

You couldn't have said it better @peacekeeper . I am also using Steemit with the future in mind, and allthough my votes don't count for much at the moment, it will through time. I am trying to vote for a variety of good content. You will see in my post What topics are trending on Steemit , when you remove the Steemit and Introduceyourself tag, we are building a community of diversity.

For those Non-technical newbies who are struggling to search on the site - Use the following in the Google Search Type search steemit.com "Your search Criteria"

Very good piece on "what topics are trending" Jacor.

Here is the thing, Most average writers will never see the main page or "trending page". There is a growing talent entering the Steemit Community everyday and I don't expect to compete with these brilliant writers and bloggers. What I do think I can do in compete in my area of interest or my hobby. I think a lot of the non-skilled users believe they will come in here and attempt post after post trying to make it to the trending page.

Time will tell if this cycle can be broken or redirected to some sort of middle ground. I am very excited about the possibilities of Steemit. I just hope we don't forget about that diversity because the platform will need it in the long term.

Thanks @gavvet i've written something similar on work / life balance but in essence it is what you are saying with time management.

https://steemit.com/travel/@cryptofunk/letting-off-steem-with-friends-in-girona

nice article.. thanks for you sharing @gavvet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65432.88
ETH 3423.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30