I sold my upvotes to SmartSteem for a weeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

There are the exact numbers and not just estimations.

Three weeks ago, I decided to do an experiment to learn whether it is profitable to sell my upvotes and have correct numbers.
I tested first @minnowbooster service, here you can find my post on the outcome.
Last week a sold my upvotes to @smartsteem on its webpage, that provides also very popular and similar service.

smartsteem.jpg

My parameters:

At the beginning of the experiment I had 318 Steem Power but due to a delegation, I could use only 293 SP.
My 100% upvote was worth $0.06 and I authorized @smartsteem when my voting power was at 98%, just I had done it two weeks earlier by @minnowbooster.
I set a limit, that was 92% the bot could use my vote if my voting power was above.

Influencing circumstances:

I joined the @shadowbot earlier and it uses my 100% upvote in every 5 hours, for this reason, @smartsteem didn't have access to all of my upvotes.

During this week I earned four extra SP, the market price of Steem was more or less stable, but there was a slight drop in SBD market price. My 100% upvote value has not changed, it is still worth $0.05.

My rules:

I did not make a manual upvote nor self-upvote. I rewarded other authors by using @lost-ninja and @luckyvotes bots and I usually sent 0.05 SBD or 0.10 SBD bids to posts of my favorite authors.

The outcome:

And here the major point. @smartsteem used my upvotes 54 times during the last seven days.

The earnings of the last week:balance.jpg

The conclusion:

ServiceMinnowBoosterSmartSteem
Steem Power289-290 SP293-296 SP
100% Upvote$0.07-0.05 $0.05-0.06
Voting Power98%98%
Limit92%92%
Upvotes' number8554
Total income1.635617 SBD1.178 SBD + 0.015 Steem

I tested @minnowbooster and @smartsteem under the same conditions. I didn't intervene manually and steemit.com was pretty stable during both of the test periods. Comparing the numbers, you can clearly see that @minnowbooster paid better and used my upvotes more efficiently. As I saw, @minnowbooster sometimes used fragment upvotes despite my low voting power while @smartsteem always upvoted by 100%.

If you are interested in vote-selling, at this very moment I suggest choosing at @minnowbooster. Of course, it can change in the future.

Is it worth selling your upvotes? If you cannot be online for any reason and you have more than 100-120 SP then definitely yes is the answer. Besides your income in SBD, you can earn some SP by the curation rewards, too. If you usually upvote less than 10 times a day, you can configure the services and you can earn some extra money.

Earning bigger money exclusively by upvote-selling is possible only if you have more than 10,000 - 15,000 Steem Power. Until that, please focus on the content of your posts! :-)

If you like this post, please upvote it!

If you think that this post can help other Steemians, please resteem it!

Thank you!

@gabeboy

Pictures in this post are screenshots from @smartsteem webpage.

My previous posts that might be interesting for you:

I sold my upvotes to MinnowBooster for a week
Experiment - Vote Selling
Upvote Bots #3 - Quick Q&A session
Upvote Bots #2 – Our hated best friends
Upvote Bots #1 – Purposes

Sort:  

I was wondering which one to delegate steem to. Now I know it will be minnowbooster thanks to your research.

Please be not confused, delegation differs from vote-selling!!! If you delegate your SP to anybody, there's a cooldown period that lasts for a week!

18.000+Followers can see you.(@tenorbalonzo,@hakanlama,@cemalbaba,@asagikulak) Send 0.200 Sbd or Steem. Post link as memo for (minimum 15 upvote)

I've been delegating (not selling) a tiny amount to minnowbooster for the last month. The payout has been between .025 and yesterday .067-the highest I've seen. I will check out the selling vs the delegating. Looks like your decision did well for you.

I have the same in my mind. It depends on the period of time. For a week I'd rather sell my upvotes because of the cooldown period. For months of course delegation.

Thank you for sharing this information..

Comment removed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76