Intro to Steem Applications

in #steemit7 years ago

Wow, the last time I wrote about Steem was in September when it was still trading at $1.

Time to check back in on Steem. In case you missed it Steemit CEO Ned Scott wrote a blog post recently reflecting on 2017 and looking forward to 2018.

One thing that struck is that there’s now over a dozen third-party applications on Steemit, some I’ve heard of, some I haven’t. So today I’ll review a few of the third-party applications on Steem.

Busy.org – This is another platform running on the Steemit blockchain similar to steemit.com. The benefits of busy.org is that it has a more social media feel, it has a marketplace, and you can send private messages.

Check out articles on it here and here.

DTube – It’s a decentralized YouTube, written in Javascript, that runs on top of IPFS and uses the Steem database. Meaning, you can be rewarded in Steem for your videos. You can learn more here.

DLive – It’s the first decentralized live streaming platform on Steem. It’s like a Twitch for Steem. It aims to take the middlemen out of live streaming, read more about it here.

DMania – Its creator describes it as 9GAG on Steem. 9GAG is a site with funny pics, gifs, and great memes. With DMania you can get paid for creating funny memes. Read more about it here.

Utopian – is a platform that gives people the opportunity to create a Contributor Report, which means providing code to Steemit. So it’s a platform for rewarding open-source contributors. Read more about it here.

Vessel – This is a desktop wallet for Steem created by @jesta. Learn about how to use it here.

It’s great to see all these projects building on top of Steemit. I can’t wait to see what’s next. And I definitely have to check out DMania!

To find more applications running on Steemit check out SteemTools.


For more on cryptos follow me @g-dubs and on SteemFollower

Use my referral link to buy Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin at Coinbase
and trade cryptos on Binance

Sort:  

f2106b16-55ac-44c8-8cee-76c489db508c.jpgI'm looking forward to our next post

Giddy up ;-p

there are 2 more that I know but you do not mention here, namely dsound and zappl

And the list grows... thanks!

There's also Steepshot.io. Steepshot focuses their attention sharing pictures in a very Instagram inspired UI. For anyone new to the platform it is a great way to let them wade into the waters of Steem with a very familiar interface to one of the top social apps used today.

Thanks for adding to the list!
Gotta admit I'm never on Instagram lol

NaziSteem

Let's do it!

That's a nice 3x if you invested in it! Steem really is getting a lot bigger proud of it!

Absolutely... and Steem can still get a lot bigger!

what is more promising there?

DSound really cuts it for me the upload rate and ratio is very fast and also, very easy to use.
Also I think busy.org is amazing, I mean the word count there makes it super sweet

I've used busy.org a few times but I'm so used to Steemit! Should I switch?

Yes I think so, it gives reward and the interphase is amazing really

Wow !!!
Nice informative post.....

All the platfrom are great 😃

Some great links here, thank you. I am fairly knew to Steemit and this really helped. Upvoted, resteemed and shared to almost 7000 on Twitter. Peace!

Thank you, thank you, and thank you!
Welcome to Steemit!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46