PLAGIARISM | Some Tips And Advice On How To Stop It From Happening On Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


The attempt to pass off the ideas, research, theories or words of others as one's own

 
Over the last few days I've noticed a few accounts that have been earning $ from plagiarized material. Obviously being an original content creator myself I wasn't happy about this. So I went on a bit of a one man crusade to bring this to the attention of the community. Plagiarizm isn't a big problem on Steemit as the bots and community are pretty good at filtering it out but sometimes a post or 2 does slip through the net. But I suspect that as more and more people join Steemit every day thinking they can make easy money plagiarism will surly grow. So I thought it was a good time to bring it up.

One particular person I took issue with this week had cut and pasted an entire article, pictures and all, into a post which he then claimed as his own. That post is currently up to around $70 dollars. After I bought this to the attention of the community and calling him out in the comments for plagiarism he eventually edited the post to include his own words. This was a positive action but the problem is the rewards he got for the original, unedited stolen content remained. I feel this is deceitful and misleading and not something the community should tolerate.


 

TIPS AND ADVICE

Before thinking about plagiarizing someone elses content take into consideration the consequences. Ask yourself if it's really worth taking the chance to earn a quick buck for the sake of your reputation? It may be worth it in the short run but you will inevitably get caught out, and once you are on the radar of some of the bigger whales here your reputation dead. I've seen some accounts go from 50 to -6 in minutes. At the end of the day good quality, original content will serve you a lot better in the long run. Not only will you feel satisfied with yourself but you will also gain the trust and respect of the community.

  • Before flagging a post you suspect is plagiarized copy and paste a few lines into a search engine and see if returns and results. Usually if it is stolen content it will show up in more than one search result.

  • Call them out in the comments section. If you have located the original article post it in the comments section with a warning to others that the post is stolen.

  • Summon @ Cheetah or @ Steemcleaners bots. These are automated Steemit bots that help to stop plagiarized posts. You can summon the bots buy including there names in the comments section under the post you suspect of being plagiarized. The Cheetah bot does not flag the post but it will leave a comment letting the author and others know that the content in the post can be found elsewhere on the internet. This is essentially a gentle warning to the author and people reading the post that the content could be plagiarized. You can read more about Cheetah bot here. The Steemcleaners bot is the one with all the voting power that will flag you. This account has a lot of reputation and Steem Power and has the ability to flag a post out of existence. If you would like to keep up-to-date with what they've been up to both the Steemcleaners and Cheetah accounts give weekly reports on all the accounts they've caught stealing content, including descriptions and reasons.

Cheetah Report - 2017.06.21

Steemcleaner Report - June 20, 2017

  • Tell the community buy joining one of the Discord chats. Find the person on Facebook or Twitter and call them out, let them know that plagiarized content has no place on Steemit. Here is a great post by @beowulfoflegend that shows how the community rallied together to stop a plagiarized post from paying out.

Since joining Steemit 4 months ago I've built up a lot of respect for Steemit and the community and have learned a great deal about the world of crypto. This is why I felt the need to write this post. The main lesson I've learned during my time here is the community rewards good content. So spending a day or 2 putting together a really well thought out post that gets $5 or $10 will be worth more to you long term than a stolen post that nets you $50 or $60 now. Since I've started I haven't earned a significant amount of Steem but knowing that I've been rewarded for my own original content makes me feel very satisfied with myself.

For anyone doubting themselves or Steemit, don't. The best advice I can give is to not worry about how much you might earn, worry about the quality of your posts. Don't expect miracles over night, it takes time but eventually if your posts are good they will be seen. For me it's been an amazing journey and one that you wouldn't find on any other social media platform. Thank you @steemit.

Remember that we can all play our part in curbing the ever increasing threat of plagiarism.

 

FURTHER READING


FORTIFIED

Steemit | Gab

Sort:  

This has been my topic for the last week. I am planning to help eradicate image plagiarism. That's my passion.

Have you noticed that, too? Here's one of my posts about it

Upvoted. Resteemed! Please check out my proposal to make a Cheetah Version 2.0 ... for images!

I'm guessing this will be a bigger issue as people try to cash in on the HF19

Yes I suspect smaller accounts will think they hit the jackpot and will try to cash out as quick as poss.

Some very important info here!!!!

Both in this post and in the linked posts.

The 1st time I got upvoted by @cheetah I felt dirty, and a little frustrated, because I knew I was quoting something already on the internet, but I had included a citation for the source material.

I have a question about something in the FAQ about Cheetah post & since this post is more recent & I think it's germane, I'll ask it here:

Under the Q: How can I stop or avoid getting Cheetah comments? it says "put a > in front of the quote".

Do you need to end that quote with a "<" or is it simply enough to deonte that there is cited material within the post?

Thanks again.

Copy and paste this below without the $ signs in to a comment or post.

$> Hi nice to meet you$


It should appear like this:

Hi nice to meet you

Thanks.

Yeah, I got that.

My question was do you need to end that after the copied (and cited) material or is it just enough to indicate that there's copied material?

I usually go on to expand on what I reference, sometimes I'll quote (and cite) several times in a post.

I think its ok as long as you cite the source somewhere. Hyper links are good.
With news papers I usually always include the headline somewhere with a link to the article.

This will also help you.
https://guides.github.com/features/mastering-markdown/

OK, great.

That answers my question.

Looks like each line that's quoted.

Thanks for tolerating my dumb question.

No problem. Enjoy Steemit.

Haha in my earlier articles I had @cheetah comment once (I copy pasted a couple of FAQ paragraphs from another website), I figured hey at least the bot is paying attention to me. But now I understand how it works, thanks for the info.

No problem.

Yes it works pretty well. It's a good deterrent. Don't be afraid to stand up and say something if you do come across and plagiarized content.

Technically speaking, all those youtube embedded links are plagiarism too lol, unless the user is the original video author. Cheetah skips that apparently.

I guess they are ok if they are part of a commentary or its being discussed or critiqued . That would fall under the creative commons license. But yes posts with video tutorial etc are pretty cheeky.

I have a blog about books. I write reviews and they are on that blog. All these reviews are written by me and are original. It is very good content and I put a lot of time in all these blogposts. Now, if I want to share one of my bookreviews in Steemit and I past and copy the original text, is that considered to be plagarism ?

I wouldn't have thought so. As long as you cite yourself.
If you do get the Cheetah maybe take it down from your blog and post in to steemit then linking your blog back to here. Could be a nice little way to drive some more traffic to your steemit blog.

Although I expect having a blog about books gives you enough to write about :) I'm sure you'll be fine.

Another possibility of course is to edit the reviews. I wrote (and still write) them in Dutch but I can highlight the most important parts, translate them in English and make a new concise review. I see possibilties to publish them without causing problems wth plagarism. :-)

Sounds like a plan.

@fortified, if I write "SOUNDS LIKE A PLAN"
.... does that mean I am plagiarizing you?
Because you said it first.

Good post. Stealing other peep's work and claiming it as your own is disgusting behaviour whether you make money from it or not. Everyone needs to be on the lookout for it. Thanks for telling us about those two bots. Upvoted!

Thank you. No problem.
The community on the whole does a great job to stop it from happening so we all have to play our own little parts.

I strongly disagree.

Right on... Originality means value. Plagiarism is simply theft and fraud.

The more people are aware of @cheetah and @steemcleaners - and the code of value creation, the better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53