You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PLAGIARISM | Some Tips And Advice On How To Stop It From Happening On Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

Some very important info here!!!!

Both in this post and in the linked posts.

The 1st time I got upvoted by @cheetah I felt dirty, and a little frustrated, because I knew I was quoting something already on the internet, but I had included a citation for the source material.

I have a question about something in the FAQ about Cheetah post & since this post is more recent & I think it's germane, I'll ask it here:

Under the Q: How can I stop or avoid getting Cheetah comments? it says "put a > in front of the quote".

Do you need to end that quote with a "<" or is it simply enough to deonte that there is cited material within the post?

Thanks again.

Sort:  

Copy and paste this below without the $ signs in to a comment or post.

$> Hi nice to meet you$


It should appear like this:

Hi nice to meet you

Thanks.

Yeah, I got that.

My question was do you need to end that after the copied (and cited) material or is it just enough to indicate that there's copied material?

I usually go on to expand on what I reference, sometimes I'll quote (and cite) several times in a post.

I think its ok as long as you cite the source somewhere. Hyper links are good.
With news papers I usually always include the headline somewhere with a link to the article.

This will also help you.
https://guides.github.com/features/mastering-markdown/

OK, great.

That answers my question.

Looks like each line that's quoted.

Thanks for tolerating my dumb question.

No problem. Enjoy Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53