Steemit, A Gateway to the New World

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Lately, I find myself thinking more and more, "Damn, we’re so lucky to be alive right now." Although you won’t know it from watching the news, we live in a time of convergence between the current world and a new one. Digital Disruption. We are on the cusp of this huge wave of technological and societal evolution that will totally transform our world as we know it. This tsunami will be disruptive to much that is fundamentally broken within our society. If you’re a member of Steemit you have a front row seat.

What is Digital Disruption?

Blockchain technology, cryptocurrency, advanced robotics, artificial intelligence, autonomous vehicles, and renewable energy. All of these technologies will hit the mainstream at about the same time (renewable energy will come a little later) and there’s nothing that anyone can do to stop it from happening. This will scare the absolute shit out of those in power when they really begin to understand true impact this will have on their corrupt monopolies and the great power they’ve grown accustomed to wielding because of it.

A sure sign those in power don’t yet understand the impact of this coming wave is they’re doing nothing to prepare the populace for the job loss it will cause, especially in the US. We must fend for ourselves and cryptocurrency is the perfect way to do that.

Gen X’rs Were Handed an Outdated Roadmap

I’m Gen X’r (born in 1971) so I was raised long before most of these transformational ideas took root. The world I grew up in was like a puzzle. You see, we were given this roadmap to success that supposedly worked for previous generations but that roadmap could no longer get us to our desired destination.

Some of the antiquated goals of the previous generation that were indoctrinated into Gen X’rs:

  • Go to the best college you can;
  • get a white collar job with a stable company;
  • give that company 30+ years of your life, acquire tons of stuff, defer joy until your golden years;
  • invest as much as you can in your 401k; and
  • retire, relax, and enjoy your golden years.

The world was changing so fast that these goals no longer fit for my generation because:

  • the price of a college education became astronomical;
  • companies suddenly were more interested in profit (and funneling that profit to upper management) than the success and well-being of their employees;
  • 401ks are a gamble, laden with hidden fees and risks;
  • “golden years” are a fallacy and as elusive as finding a unicorn that poops gold bricks.

This antiquated life-track wasn’t even conducive to happiness generations ago, when it could be accomplished. At its core, this was a system that benefited only the elite. It brainwashed people into believing in the fairytale just long enough for them to get trapped into a cycle of debt and meager rewards until they were psychologically beaten into submission.

I’ve seen the dead eyes of so many of these people in my life. I was one of them once. You can’t miss them because even when they smile you see no spark of life in their eyes. This was pretty much the entire catalyst for writing my novel, Alarm Clock Dawn.

The True Power of Steemit

I’ve never been a part of anything like Steemit. What many of us are beginning to discover, through the good times and the bad, is Steemit is more than just a social media platform or a currency. Steemit and cryptocurrency provide a gateway to a new and better world. Communicating and exchanging ideas with people of all ages and backgrounds on this platform has changed me, as I suspect it has changed countless others, in profound ways.

How Has Steemit Changed Me?

Now that I’ve experience blockchain technology and understand how it works, I see how the future world will be more equitable. I have renewed hope that life for the majority will be more than just getting by. Why? Because I’ve found a life-track that leads to happiness and personal fulfillment. Thanks to cryptocurrency, I also have the means to give breath to my dreams. I now see through so much bullshit and have far less tolerance for it.

I’m writing this post as my wife is driving down the highway. If you’ve seen the condition of the interstate highway system here in the United States, this isn’t an easy thing to do. We’re on our way back home from a weeklong trip to visit my family in Ohio, which was totally funded by Steemit proceeds.

Looking Towards the Future


The great thing is I know this is only the beginning. Honestly, now have one foot in the new world but the other five toes are still stuck in the mud of the old world (not by choice). Very soon I’ll be completely free and the old world will seem like a distant memory. It’ll then be a mission of mine to become like a ferry boat pilot that will bring people over to our new world one load at a time.

We here on Steemit, are early adopters but more people are starting to divest themselves from the old and toxic ideology of generations passed. One thing is for certain, once you experience true freedom there is no turning back. I can feel it in my bones, one day everyone will live this way.

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com, images from Pixabay.)


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Nice post but 95% of all other posts are complete garbage.

I am really sorry to read this comment, are you looking through more than just what's on the top trending? I can provide you with a starter list of people who post some great/entertaining stuff.
@therealpaul
@canadian-coconut
@dwinblood
@son-of-satire (though he's been a bit busy of late)
@meesterboom
@ezzy
@jedau
@nonameslefttouse
@surfermarly
@benjamin.still
@writingamigo
@fisteganos
@papa-pepper
@verbal-d
@opheliafu
@everlove
This is off the top of my head, but there really are many more. I hope you give it more of a chance :)

@novina as far as your comment: I think you are right LOL.. I was going to argue..I don't really think they are bad.. just not that interesting .. oh well.. :)

Hi there :) I replied to @novina's comment with a list of people that may hopefully change your mind about that.

cool..yes there are a lot of great people in here, including you and I.. when I go to "Trending" it is always the same thing.. :) I was finding a way to agree with the guy.. I feel his pain.. lol

I know, some of the trending posts can definitely be disheartening. I'm headed out the door in a minute, but I'm going to put your page up in my browser, excited to check out someone new :)

Oh thank you.. the trending never change.. you would think trending would be something new all the time. Thus the name trending.. haha :)

Brilliant post brother. Glad to have you here I truly believe we are going to change the world with Steem. We are all blessed to be apart of this. - @ericvancewalton

Eric is a content provider, would love to hear your takes -- both of you actually on my article out today where Coindesk leaned on Omar aka Crypt0 for his YT content where they have censored him!

The age of Decentralization like is discussed here eh, LOL

I commented, my friend! Thanks for bringing this kind of censorship to light. We all need to blow the virtual whistle when we see this kind of thing!

You will like what I put up in the last hour for sure then on this topic -- the Bilderberg Group meeting was announced......

You would write a killer book on this kinda stuff with your talents, even if it was fiction......

  • you know like what the MSM / Lamestream media publishes 90% of the time to keep their masters happy and harming the public at large.

I'll check that out. Oh, I have so much of this woven into Truth Is Stranger, Barry. In the book there's a group called SQ1 (status quo one). It's a global shadow intelligence organization whose sole purpose is to create a false story for every truth reported in the MSM. No one truly knows what is real unless they listen to their hearts. I can't wait to share this book with you all.

Good Lord man, can you just adopt me? LOL

I know we were born the same year but the beagle will likely be ok with me around hahahahaha

God bless ya man, I am so excited now.

Good on ya man. Honestly. Good work!!!

Lol! So when is your birthday? Amstel is always happen to have new pack members. God bless you too, Barry. One day we'll meet around a real campfire and share stories.

8/19/71 brother. I may delete this off here in a few mins if you do not mind LOL

Sounds like something I ENCOUNTERED a couple weeks ago. I could FEEL everything people were thinking. Almost as if I was absorbing their energy. Some people I needed to get away from. Negative energy is VERY painful.
STEEM ON my friend.
1 By 1.

Thank you very much @thejohalfiles. I believe in this more than anything. Blessed is a great word!

I am hanging in there since June and I'm not going anywhere else, maybe to the Mars in Musks spaceship 🙀 Eric, you know we are lucky to be early adopters

We're so lucky. Sometimes I wonder what I did to deserve it. Mars would truly be an adventure! I want to try Hyperloop too. : )

I also wonder why I was so lucky to have found this technology before the masses.

I never ever powered down and just keep saving here for my first "loop-ride" together hahaha

I wish I didn't have to cash in as much as I did. I moved some of my Steem to outside exchanges though. I can't wait for the first HyperLoop ride! : )

VOTED and Following.
SOME have NO idea.
STEEM (keep) on STEEMIAN on (keeping on).
1 By 1.

I'm still getting my head around the concept of disruption being a good thing..a lifetime of brain washing in the ways of the old system is a hard thing to erase ...but agreed, these feel like the early to mid 90s when this thing called the internet was being touted as the 'next big thing' .. you never know :-)

A lifetime of brainwashing is definitely not a good thing but I think, for us, it was all a matter of timing. It took me half my life before I really woke up.

It took me half my life before I really woke up.

Damn! Makes me happy to know I was enlightened faster. All, really, thanks to folks like you for sharing the truth.

top knotch insight here! great post it is def an exciting time to be alive. i have much hope for the future.

Thank you, @soundlegion!

It's a part of my genes to crave for freedom 👻

One thing is for certain, once you experience true freedom there is no turning back.

Mine too, @mammasitta! Thanks so much for the resteem!

You expressed my thoughts 💫

You are a content provider, would love to hear your takes -- any of you, actually on my article out today where Coindesk leaned on Omar aka Crypt0 for his YT content where they have censored him!

The age of Decentralization like is discussed here eh, LOL

Have a nice week Eric --- what a last few days you have had on the road with family and keeping up your good work here my man.

Have a great week.

This will scare the absolute shit out of those in power when they really begin to understand true impact this will have on their corrupt monopolies and the great power they’ve grown accustomed to wielding because of it.

They are already invested in all these technologies. For example all renewable energy companies are owned at least partially by the fossil fuel conglomerate.

They have diversified. They are not idiots.

The part I don't fully understand yet is why the government isn't starting to prepare us for this massive job loss. What is your opinion on this? If they don't have a plan in place one very likely outcome is social unrest and collapse of the financial markets.

Because there won't be any job loss. More jobs will be created as it happens always with any technological advancement.

The belief that mass-automation will create unemployment is unfounded. The steam engine did not take horse guys out of business. it create an exponentially new industry (engines) that employed even more people in a variety of industries.

I really hope you're right. I value your logic, that's one reason I'm drawn to your posts.

Thank you man. It means a lot.

My pleasure @kyriacos, you're one of my favorite authors on Steemit. I don't always share the same views with you but you have great intellect and cut through the bullshit like a razor blade. Have you ever considered self-publishing a book?

you are way too kind. yes I have but it appears a bit douchy to me. I also don't want to depress people. I get that a lot from people around me. my thoughts make people miserable.

Understood. Online is the future for writing anyway. As you said in a comment people can consume online content in manageable chunks, as time and their interest allows. Posting my novel in installments here last summer convinced me of of this.

Thanks for sharing .... i follow/Upvote and Resteem :)

I really enjoy reading this post. Thank you for sharing Eric!

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks!

I like this type of valuable content !! thank you for this type of post.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84