A QUEST FOR THE PERFECT PITCH (Attracting Awesome Content Creators to Steemit)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


SteemFest was a revelation to me. The combination of seeing how well the conference came together and talking with the people behind the platform it made me realize the huge potential for tremendous success we have here. Yes, there’s money to be made on Steemit but the true potential is much larger than Steem or Steem Dollars. At its heart Steemit is about connecting with a more enlightened readership and interacting with a real community. In my enthusiasm I’ve really stepped up my efforts to think of ways to recruit new users to our platform.

I had been trying to introduce people to Steemit for several months before SteemFest but struggled to find an effective pitch. The struggle didn't come from not believing in the platform, I believe in Steemit more than anything I've ever been involved with. Steemit can be difficult to explain to newbies precisely because our platform is such a significant paradigm shift. Those people I spoke with previously always seemed to have the same kinds of responses…What’s crypto-currency?, I don’t have time to be on one more social media site, it’s too much to learn, etc.


“You believe today's paradigm are not going to change.... Ask the caveman then if his paradigms changed or not. Think for yourself you lose. Think for coming generations you win.” ― Sameh Elsayed


Then yesterday I was in my car driving and BAM an idea hit me. That idea was Don’t just focus on people who you think will connect with the concept of Steemit. Instead, try focusing your energy on friends who are already getting a huge amount of reader engagement on other social media platforms. These content creators already have demonstrated both the passion and ability to write well and connect with readers and they’re doing it elsewhere for free.

The more I thought about it the more this idea started to click. When I analyzed the post content of the friends who first came to mind I noticed how varied their genres and writing styles were, variety, which was another huge plus. I began using this new recruiting approach last night and of the three people I asked I got three immediate yeses. A 100% success rate during my first attempt! Two of these three have already signed up.

It was then I realized that, all along, it wasn’t my pitch that was wrong but it was the bandwidth of the audience I was focusing on. People who spend the time necessary to craft engaging content on other social media sites are doing it purely for the enjoyment of engaging with others. This same desire to connect with readers will likely overshadow any trepidations they harbor about joining a new social media platform.

One friend I invited has undergone a personal transformation and writes about yoga and aerial acrobatics, among other things. The other recruit mainly writes short posts polling people for their opinions on a variety of things, the third person I invited writes about her joys and struggles as a mom raising three boys. Each of these friends write about different topics but all of them have one thing in common, people really connect with their work. I’ll be sure to share their user names of these three (and more) with you after they’ve written a few posts. It’s a great feeling for me to know these people I’m introducing to Steemit have a real potential to be successful on our platform and even make a little something for their efforts in the process.

For those who are interested, here’s a script for the very simple pitch I used successfully last night (sent via Facebook Messenger):

Hey, [name] - Hope all is well. I've been writing for this new social media platform called Steemit for a while and had real success. We're trying to recruit some new writers on the platform and I thought about you. I've noticed your Facebook posts get lots of engagement and I think you'd do really well on Steemit. It's like Facebook only it’s a more positive and cohesive community. You also get rewarded each time someone "likes" your posts. Let me know if you join and I can send some pointers. Here's a link – [link to Steemit homepage]

The pitch is short, to the point, and can be modified easy based on the situation. Of course I know once they get here and write a few posts they’re going to realize how awesome Steemit is and will stay. As soon as new users get over the hurdle of signing up and learning the basics of posting here the rest of the knowledge they need to thrive will come through practice. Once these people realize the potential for themselves they will use their powers of persuasion to recruit others and so begins a self-perpetuating cycle (in theory). In short, our community sells itself and has the ability to change lives...it definitely changed mine for the better.

The general consensus I hear lately among many of my friends is they’re getting frustrated with other social media platforms for a variety of valid reasons. I've noticed a few of them have even started taking extended breaks from social media. I think people are ready for the next generation of social media and I see huge potential for a flood of new users here on Steemit. There’s never been a better time to show people there is something out there that is different, something that is better, and that something is called Steemit.

This latest epiphany has been a good reminder for me that it’s not always the wheel that needs to be reinvented but sometimes just the direction in which I’m rolling it. Steem on!


(gifs sourced from Giphy.com)


“That's been one of my mantras - focus and simplicity. Simple can be harder than complex: You have to work hard to get your thinking clean to make it simple. But it's worth it in the end because once you get there, you can move mountains.” – Steve Jobs


I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and goofball. To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Have you heard of Project: Pay It Forward for the Holidays? If not click here to learn more about a simple way that you can make a real difference. If you decide to participate please share your story in the comments of the post and you may experience some good karma of your own (hint, hint)!

Sort:  

Pitch perfect... that's been done though, hasn't it? ;)

Good post! I'm not only Resteeming this post, I'm also sharing on my social media pages and I'll copy the link to people I think will be open to this.
I've also been successful in luring friends over here.

Well done Eric :)

Yes, pitch perfect has a better ring to it but it was taken! : ) Thank you so much my friend!

It may have been taken, but was it copyrighted? ;)

I have upvoted your post and feel that there is merit to it but I did exactly what you are saying in recruiting people who already had a following on other platforms. They all quit Steemit despite me helping them get everything going.
One of them has 4,500 followers on one of his YouTube channels and is gaining more subscribers rapidly. Another one has around 1,500 very engaged Instagram followers.
I have the thickest skin of anyone I know and I'm the only one that didn't quit but I did have to primarily go into "sleeper mode" where I mainly just played Steem Sports and have my bot voting for me.
Don't get me wrong I think there are a lot of awesome things about Steemit and I'm bullish on the platform in the long run but there are still a lot of things to hash out. In my experience even people who are content creators on other platforms for whatever reason aren't real excited about getting on Steemit. I think part of it was because of inconsistancy of payouts. They would see some of my post that I spent 5 hours on and then I would get $0.36. They would post and not get anything so it just seemed like too big of a crap shoot to try to get a payout. That was the main thing I could gather. One of them said. "It really seems like walking on egg shells over there."
I have been posting quite a bit since July and at this point my vote isn't really worth anything the way the system is.
Don't take this response the wrong way. I think there are a lot of positive things about Steemit and I really do think these other content creators should come over here and post but there are a lot of reasons why they don't want to or why they won't stay.
Another issue is that by my calculations there are no content creators on here that are able to make a full time living off this platform at this current time. Some say they are full time and all that but if it came down to having to rely on Steemit to pay their bills I don't think anyone who is getting decent payouts would be able to survive right now. @knozaki2015 and @sirwinchester are the closest ones right now but I don't think they could totally maintain themselves off the Steemit Rewards right now. That may not seem like a big deal but it actually is.
I guess at this point I'm personally not going to worry too much about recruiting people to join Steemit. I will tell people that I make money from blogging and if they are interested I will say I post on YouTube and Steemit but I'm not going to push them too hard. If they seem super interested I will tell them that anyone can post there and they could create an account and make some posts.
Perhaps some of the ones that quite will come back around at some point if Steemit gets a lot bigger but it is hard telling. I really feel that the core of Steemit will be the crypto community or people who have some direct connect to the crypto community like a spouse or something of that nature. But maybe I'm wrong. Maybe it will be like Linux. Where all these people are using it directly or indirectly but most people have no clue what Linux is if you asked them. It would be possible for Steemit to become really popular but people wouldn't even know what Bitcoin or Crypto currencies were if you asked them. Only time will tell.

Thanks for your comment @brianphobos. Part of me used to wonder if Steemit would hit their stride and be more widely adopted. I have no doubt now. This is the really exciting part of being an early adopter now while the platform is still in Beta.

I try not to emphasize the money aspect of Steemit when I pitch because sometimes it does take a while to find your niche and start making decent money. I always tell people to write what they're passionate about and the rewards might follow, even if people don't make a lot of money they are making more than they would be on any other social media platform in existence today so I see it as a winning proposition no matter what.

Yeah it is awesome to be apart of this so early and see it evolve.
In general I would agree with you on the premise that people would make more money on Steemit than any other platform. Right now it says this post has 88 views and it is saying $123.29 for the payout. That blows pretty much everything else out of the water. The exception to that are some of the YouTube channels that are able to succeed out of magnitude of the viewer base. Zoie Burgher is an example of this. Basically she took YouTube by storm in August and her channel went super nova right away. She is making over $30,000 / month now and just in a few months she has captured 1,147,392 subscribers and gaining thousands every day. There are other situations like this on YouTube as well. Even if the largest YouTubers came over to Steemit I don't feel that their payouts would become larger than what they are earning from YouTube simply because the model is different. Let's say they brought over a ton of traffic to the website. It wouldn't cause them to get a higher payout. If everyone signed up and started voting it would take an unbelievable amount of them to get the payout to a few dollars. It would still be dependent on whale votes that that point.
Don't get me wrong Steemit has a lot of cool things going for it and it will be interesting what happens overtime.

great write up, thanks! simplicity is one of the things I try to follow in every action. And pitch script is awesome...

I appreciate your kind words, @good-karma! As I get older (and busier) I very much appreciate simplicity in my life!

Wisdom of our elderly helps us a lot! Because ultimately we all have same challenges in life... Thanks again! ;)

Hey, I'm not quite elderly yet! ; ) Thank you for reading and commenting!

:) Sorry, I was referring, you being older than me and we should be keen to learn from your experience...

No, it's quite alright! I wasn't offended at all.

☆☆☆☆☆!

I appreciate your thoughts about this. I used to have a large readership on http://nolanchart.com - I should see if I still recognize any of the authors there, and look into recruiting them... ;)

Thanks, @creatr! Best of luck in your efforts, if you find a technique that works please share!

Interesting... I've thinking on pitching to some friends with a very big social media presence --- but like you said, it can be hard to explain what Steemit actually is.., and then add cryptocurrencies on top of that and...........

Yeah, I agree, I think the best way is to convince them to sign up and just start writing. The rest of it is learned little by little through practice and repetition. We have a lot of helpful people here who are more than willing to lend a hand to newbies too. There are some amazing folks here!

That's a great pitch! I love talking about cryptocurrencies, but when explaining Steemit, I make sure to tell people they don't have to understand the technology to use it. Steem is the first blockchain project I can honestly pitch that way. Even if someone was interested in the technology, explaining the social dynamics of the community would be more important.

Thank you @edb! I think the approach of explaining the social aspect of our platform first makes real sense. I really do feel like I'm doing something good for someone when I introduce them to Steemit so I sometimes have to temper my enthusiasm. : )

Excellent. I joined steemit a week ago, and you're absolutely right, beyond the initial hurdles of figuring out how it all works (and I'm still learning) it sells itself. I'm already an enthusiast, and I'm working on getting my brother here-a talented musician, and not because I'm biased, he's truly excellent. For him I've gone a bit above and beyond and posted a few of his songs-including two originals-on my page. But I was thinking of how I could lead others here and your pitch is perfect. (haha) Thank you!

Oh yes and, you have a new follower ;)

Awesome, @dreemit and welcome! It sounds like you're going to be an excellent addition to our community! Thanks for the follow and the comment!

very good thinking @ericvancewalton and I look forward to learning about the folks you've brought on board. I'm going to integrate your approach to bringing new users onboard, thanks! And I LOVE that Jobs quote.

Thank you, @natureofbeing! I’m excited to introduce them once they’ve done a few posts. I have a short list of some really talented folks that I think will bring some new ideas and fresh perspectives to the platform. I like that Jobs quote too. It’s fun chosing a quote or two that correlates with your post, it can be challenging too (maybe that’s why it’s fun)! : )

great post here. Still blown back by steemit and this whole new wave. Its exciting really. Upvoted and followed I look forward to your posts

Thanks, @soundlegion! I feel very lucky to be a part of this next gen of social media. I appreciate your follow, comment and upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64807.94
ETH 3507.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37