Maybe my last post. Why i am leaving. Steemit community are awesome may i add. EDIT: steemers made me reconsider -_-'

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I write things that genuinely concern me and try and encourage open discussion about issues that affect the whole of steemit.

Such as many of the whales being inactive and thus not voting and a lot more posts are being buried! The solution (in my opinion) is an increase in normal user whales, People who engage with steemit rather than it being strictly for investment purposes.

If more whales existed then more content would get upvoted by whales just because of the fact that everyone is interested in different things and different content will appeal to them.

I keep being either down voted based on some one not agreeing with my view or they leave some half arsed angry comment. Stop looking for people to have ago at here, yes my content is probably crap to anyone who reads this but i don't care. I come to steemit for myself! (and the awesome people). On my profile if you look someone has disagreed with me and decided instead of debate they would be childish and down vote ALL my posts.

Maybe i should stop airing the views of many people who share them with me, its gotten me a lot of hate from people trying to hook whales and thus kissing the ass of whales and steemit it's self. I value the whales and i value the steemit community but if a lot of people air their opinions to me and they are all airing the same issue then i feel its worth discussing. I don't see why i am being attacked for it.

Fake female profiles! I wrote a post about fake female profiles and it has been down voted 3 times because they don't read the post and assumed it was fake or they up voted without reading it..... i pretended to be a fake girl at the very start of the post to prove a point. I was attacked for it..... If you don't agree or don't like content get off and leave it don't down vote unless its stolen content or spam! if its genuine then don't unnecessarily down vote it.

The post about fake female posts!

What caused me to feel like this is the fact my last post [The link above] was actually getting some where and because of the misuse of the flagging option my post lost all value. Disheartening is an appropriate word, A sentiment felt by many may i add.

Picture credits: Me :D . This post will probably be an example of someone talking about issues (because i want steemit to be very successful) and getting knocked or down voted for it. :( Just don't be a dick. That's a nice rule which i live by.

Also don't say things like "Just buy steem" If i wasn't disabled and had sufficient income then i would! Telling people with no money to spend money is like telling a homeless man to go home....

Many don't even read the content hence my last post getting down votes. Assuming it was fake and meaningless before they went onto it and read it. :(

This may very well be my last post as well... I shall see how i feel about the decision tomorrow to be honest.
Much love steemit!

I have had some awesome pointers from some awesome steemiters! (new word) @repholder thanks for everything bro! deserve a mention!! Made me reconsider and made me think much more deeply about this. Also the people who posted below for giving me insight aswell!

#payitforward #nicetobenice #noonecares

Sort:  

The rewards will be the same, whether whales vote or not. If no whale votes for 24hr, at most what will happen is that the "smaller" votes will decide who get the author reward. Whales being inactive is not necessarily a bad thing.

if no whale votes you are lucky to pass the 20$ mark if whales hit upvote the post will take off. its really not a money issue, thanks for the feed back bro i am listening to everything everyone says and taking it in!

If no whales vote, then all "minor" votes will be worth multiple times their normal value because the reward pool is fixed.

Think of it this way: There are 1000$ per day to reward users and 80% of them are decided by whales and 20% by smaller votes.

If the whales don't participate in the voting, the entire reward pool (1000$) will be decided by the smaller votes.

Wow you just made $70 dollars on two comments. Are you friends with whales?

No, my only friends are humans... :P

LOL. Shhhhhhhhhhusssshhhhhhhh.

Any time you get alarge diverse crowd of people there are some who will disagree with you and a few who are assholes. Dont let the aholes ruin your experience. You have some good post, but the volume and timing makes it hard for people to see the things they like. As the steam powers spreads, there will be more balance in voting. It just take time, this is still the early stages so a few a voices still have alot more sway than most.

im saying because you disagree though doesn't warrant down voting or going onto someones blog and down voting everything out of spite. Also blindly upvoting stolen content or pretending to be someone they are not!

Also people seem not to realize that they just need a relatively small amount of money invested in Steem Power to make themselves "visible ". That issue seems to be fair enough to me.

i have 166.000 SP doesn't make that much difference when people down vote inappropriately

The people downwoting you do not have much SP too, so these downwotes can not affect your reputation.
But what I was trying to say, I see lot of people around who buy a $100k cars just to sale it for $50k after two years. Meanwhile people you call whales now was just smart enough to invest into this platform about $50k two month ago. And now you expect them to rule your world.
Can't we rule our world by ourselves instead?

great sentiment but not so simple in practice. Power rules all. Even if that is Steem Power. :P

I tried to help you and added you to the steemitabuse-classic but sadly you are only in it for person gains.

thanks for helping me bro <3 nd at the time of that i was thinking you were personally attacking me. (he wasn't we are cool now also this is how people should handle differences. through talking!

Thanks for listening on my reasoning. Hope you will take my tips and use them wisely.

nah screw you ;) hahaha of course i will i can't argue with reasoning and logic. No one can.

If you want to be upvoted just say that steemit is awesome. It's as simple as that. Other opinions don't get paid here. I tried ;)

ahem
https://steemit.com/steemit/@williambanks/response-to-dantheman-notice-to-bot-spammers
clears throat
It's not so much what you say but how you say it.
You need to be sincere, and you can't be whiny or attacking. You need to show both sides of the argument and you need to be able to defend a position.

Long as you do that, you can pretty much say anything you want.
However I still make most of my money from commentary rather than blogging. So maybe I'm not the best person to ask on this.

notice how your comment has more $ than my actual post ^^

@egjoshslim Ehh sorry about that. I just speak my mind and people agree or they don't.
It's not a competition though. I mean you got 2x as many upvotes and frankly # of upvotes is where I get my sense of "have I reached enough people?".

thats a comment i do 100% agree with. if i kiss ass and lick whale ring then im sure to get upvoted! ^^ sad thats what it takes though :( or fake females ^^

Here were some rude words, but I've calmed down and change my mind).

This is just not correct - maybe just try to do this in a more constructive way in future.

Ok, let's try to be constructive. Here is my proposal to increase demand for steem. What do you think about it? it seems that nobody payed any attention to it. Oops, I'am whining again.)

i think the post is awesome bro! upvoted from me!

I feel your pain. It is kind of like how my best friend cut off my legs and left me in lava to die.

Oh Wait. It's nothing like that at all. Maybe you should tough it out and stick around. It gets better.

Not for me.. but probably for you.

i shall see how i feel in the morning nd LOL!!! hahaha :P

I would suggest rather than giving up, work on learning how to constructively argue your position. There are a couple of things I don't understand in your post. How does a person downvote? (I'm new and only seen upvoting or no vote)... and why does it matter if a person wants to set their personna to being a woman? It's up to them. Heck, being a woman myself, I have found that greater credibility often comes with being perceived to be a guy... so the argument cuts both ways I guess.

the little flag top right

Josh keep Steeming! Stay true to who you are. You could write about Asperger. When you do Let me know. Steem on!

You're right flagging is not used the way it was intended to. People use it as thumbs down button of youtube. Down voting shouldn't be used just because you don't agree with the authors views or just because you had and argument with him/her. I hope and wish that you stay here. You can also check out my post titled "Wrath of Dinu"

my last post lost all value because of 3 down votes :/

Sorry, I didn't realize that when I made my recent reply. I have seen some downwotes wars here, but people making it had little rep and SP and it seem to have no influence. So, you got downwotes from someone with big SP then?

@egjoshslim
I hate it when I see people who are doing better than me, complain and walk away from the site, not sure what it says about me, maybe i am a gluten for punishment. This post alone is worth twice as much as my net worth lol

I hope things get better for you here, I have heard that most people fail about 8 times before they achieve true success, so I would advise for you to stick around a little longer and see what happens.
Good Luck :)

it's people like you that make me feel this way, you are the ones affected more so than me. Its really not all about the money. Its about the community as a whole! i Will continue to read content just not engage as it just causes back lash.... unless you lick steemits arse....

Interesting, I published a post a few minutes ago about something similar to this happening to Steemit such as "lack of authencity" and generating content based upon likes rather than originality.

The link to my post can be found here: https://steemit.com/social/@jtech11/newbie-post-the-thing-that-makes-snapchat-different

I'd like to read your thoughts on the matter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29