Steem changes everything: My ongoing creative projects and making time for steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

image.jpeg

As a creative person, it is seriously cool to be rewarded through steemit. But I still have to make time for my other projects!

As I engage with new creative projects I can end up with a number of ongoing (read unfinished) creative works. And as some of these ongoing projects are long term, there is the risk they may never be completed.

I have two creative projects which have crowded out my other work at the moment:

*Steemit - I am trying, like we all are, to write good quality, engaging work, to increase my followers and retain the interest of those who already follow me (a big hi to you all! 🙃)
*My upcoming gig (a gig is a live performance - this one is of my band, see my post from yesterday: https://steemit.com/music/@drwom/nourished-by-music)

You are all familiar with steemit, and maybe you, too, have noticed how much of your available free time and creative energy is put into it. It's easy to justify - we're getting rewards for it: new friends, an engaged audience, and sometimes steem too.

But between it, and the time I need to devote to practicing and rehearsing for my upcoming gig, there's not a lot of time left for my other creative pursuits.

So here they are. I want to track them somewhere, to ensure I get back to them and complete them.

*Song project for my wife (written with my daughter - see: https://steemit.com/creativity/@drwom/creative-gifts)
*Boardgame (designing it with my daughter, more of an ongoing holiday project) and backstory
*Book 2 of my fantasy trilogy (see https://steemit.com/writing/@drwom/the-case-for-well-written-derivative-fantasy)
*Science fiction novel (see https://steemit.com/writing/@drwom/writing-the-alien-the-challenge-for-good-science-fiction)

Hopefully by tracking them, they won't 'fall off the radar' and it may even encourage me to get back to work on a couple of them.

There are also a couple of other projects waiting in the wings - but this is probably enough for the moment, don't you think?

I'd love to hear about how you make time for steemit as well as your other creative projects.

drwom-01.png

U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

Photo courtesy of pixabay.com, mashed with steem logo by @drwom.
@DrWom and #teamaustralia footers by the fabulous @ryivhnn

Check out my steemography for more posts on creativity and other subjects :-) https://steemit.com/steemography/@drwom/track-your-original-content-through-the-steemography-hashtag-drwom-ograhy-1-74-days

Sort:  

If the shoe fits, wear it!

When you feel the need to work on one work it, when you feel the need to work on the other, then do so!

You call the shots!

Don't stress out over either, life is too short, enjoy life and make both of these things in life become something that fulfills your time on this earth, don't turn them into "burdens"!

That is all I can say... and yes, I wish I had listened to that advice in the past, but unfortunately no body gave it to me and even if they did, who knows would I have listened....

Now.... well, I guess time has made me learn a thing or two... not enough, just a thing or two!

;)

Jack the wise..

Some quality response here mate. I shall ponder your response, and not stress about it 😁

Variety is the spice of life ! Loving it :)

awesome work, i will help your stuff with some votes

Thanks mar!

It takes alot of work to have a quality steem account. Keep up all the hard work. Its looking
real nice

thanks themmahippie - I appreciate it😊

Please help me, i just joined in steemit. Help me friend: '(:' (: '(

Https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@isfar/hello-stemian-2017827t22045430z

Just keep writing good posts 👍

Indeed! Very well said. Thank you for sharing.
I'm newbie here too on Steemit and I will be an active member in the community.

With regards,
Mike

Good luck you! I look forward to seeing your posts :-)

Tracking is a good system to stay "on track" and be organized/structured/disciplined and follow through your goals. I do find steemit can take time away from creativity.

Yep, lists are good :-)

Ha steemit sure can!
But its very creative too.

Wow! This certainly illustrates the awesome positive community here! So much #awesomesauce :-) #teamaustralia

Hey @drwom,

As a relief teacher, my mon-fri are mostly full with the occasional day or two off here and there. For me, these days and after school is the time I use to write. My main interests are travel, hiking, vegan food and fiction writing - i'm currently writing a saga called, "Adventures in Elowyn Glade" that features a fantasy theme and some pretty bad-ass characters that I've become quite fond of in just the first 5 issues of it's production.

Writing is a much greater priority for me now. I started writing a travel book about a year ago (read unfinished!) and I'm not sure if I'll get back to it. I love that I can post whatever I want on Steemit (tiny updates or huge swathes of fiction) - for me, regularity is key. I don't want my followers going hungry for new content - especially relating to Adventures.

Thanks for the content and look forward to more in the future.

All the best,
Nick

Great Job.

upvote and follow me please.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43