Loving my 🎼 music

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Enlight1 10.jpg

Writing and playing music - especially live music - was one of my first passions...

In a couple of weeks my band is playing for the first time in months - and only the second time in about 15 years. We met at uni (university) as we all studied music together. We wrote our own songs and played regularly in pubs for years.

We have only ever played original music, and all loved every minute of it. While we never really got noticed, we had a loyal following and everyone who saw us had a great time (I've got the videos to prove it 😊).

Unfortunately, after uni we all went our different ways and all live in different cities now. But this year has seen a couple of 'round-number' birthdays and we are gathering to gig again!

I write most of the music for the songs - in a collaborative way. The singer and I write the songs, creating the world within which the other guys are free to write their own parts. This may sound strange, but each song is very different - dynamics, feel, rhythm etc. So the parts the guys play have to fit within the 'vibe' of the song. Sometimes I direct - "this bit really needs some some thumping dirty guitar and driving drums.." but most of the time I let the guys do their own thing and am fascinated and blissed-out by the results. This is (part of ) the value of forming collaborative relationships with awesome people.

So my workhorse guitar is my tele - telecaster (Japanese, mid/late 1980s, EMG pickups - seen hereIMG_3692.jpg and in the live shot above.

I love this guitar. I bought it new and it has pretty much played every gig with me. It's tone is bright but crunchy at the same time, and if I add distortion.. woah.

I play it through my Dean Markley valve amp - bought new around the same time as my tele. The amp has two channels, and I usually have a touch of reverb. I also play with a twin rack-mount Rat distortion pedal.

I basically have four levels going, pretty much based around the use of dynamics in the songs:

*Clean (with a touch of crunch)
*Distortion 1 - Dirty
*Distortion 2 - Louder Dirty
*Distortion 3 - Really Dirty Loudest (only used at song peaks for a bar or two at a time)

I contrast the tele with my acoustic Maton - which has a brilliant full and rich acoustic sound.

IMG_3694.jpg

I bought my Maton in the mid/late 1990s and its gorgeous. One of the best things about Maton guitars is their pickups - mine has a beautiful crisp, warm and full sound which can be turned up without feedback issues etc.

The use of both guitars allows for a good variety and while my style of guitar playing is consistent, the sounds change enough so the band doesn't sound repetitive and 'same-y'.

So now it's practice time(!) and I'll let you know how the gig goes

Thanks for reading!

U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

Photos by @drwom, and a still of @drwom

Check out my steemography for more posts on creativity and other subjects :-) https://steemit.com/steemography/@drwom/track-your-original-content-through-the-steemography-hashtag-drwom-ograhy-1-74-days

drwom-01.png

@DrWom and #teamaustralia footers by the fabulous @ryivhnn

Sort:  

That Maton looks really nice! I can imagine it sings beautifully. Never heard of em before ill have to check them out.

hey @drwom your guitar looks new even if you bought it in the 90's. It clearly shows how good you are in taking care of things you like.

Without music, life is incomplete. :-)

Haha! The telecaster looks a bit more shabby up close 😊, but I love it, and I love music

I will be waiting for your next music video on dtube! :-)

Great Job.

upvote and follow me please.

This post has received a 2.69 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @drwom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38