Steemit Basics: Are You a Good Curator of Your OWN Content?

in #steemit7 years ago

It has been about four months since I started blogging on Steemit, and I can safely say that one of my most favorite aspects of this venue is that there is a true sense of community here.

Even though other social sites claim to be "all about social," much of the time the actual connections we make there tend to be rather flimsy and superficial.

Steemit is different!

Chives
Chives in bloom

But how are Communities CREATED?

Communities are ultimately about connecting. In turn, connections make us feel like we "belong" to something; that we are "part of" something. The "part of" feeling arises because someone interacts with our content on a deeper level than just posting a smiley face or a quick "me too" footprint. Instead, we feel like we have been addressed directly by a real person.

The important thing to remember here is that "connecting" is a two-way experience. And it doesn't stop at me saying "hello" and you saying "hello" back... and then we stand there in awkward silence.

We build on the initial point of contact.

What Does That Have to do With Steemit Content? And Curating?

An original post on Steemit is basically like a "hello" we float out to the community. Subsequently, we get comments and those are like "hellos" floating back to us. 

YellowFlower
Yellow Pompom flower... not sure what kind

But to get the most out of the Steemit experience, you are really not done yet.

Some of my most interesting moments on Steemit have come as a result of entire dialogues developing out of a comment... so take the time to come back to your post and respond to the comments people have left. It's just good blogging etiquette and tells potential followers that you're an "active participant" in your content... not just someone who "posts and runs."

Remember you can upvote comments... and replies to comments!

When someone leaves you a particularly insightful or elaborate comment, it's a nice thing to give their comment an upvote. If you have built up some Steem Power, your vote will also mean a few cents in their "tip jar," so to speak. Original posts are not the only thing you can earn a reward for!

Remember: Your Content is "Live" for 7 Days!

Sunset
Northwest sunset

Not everybody checks their Steemit feed every day... and sometimes you're going to get new comments several days after you posted something, and perhaps you'll have posted multiple new things since then. It's easy to overlook new comments, especially if you're fairly active and follow a lot of people.

I make a point of revisiting my "older" posts regularly until they have reached the payout time limit, looking for new comments or even "replies to replies.

Don't Forget Your Comments Left Elsewhere!

As we read and comment on other people's posts, it's easy to forget that we have "active content" in places other than our own posts.

But sometimes some of those interesting "discussions" I mentioned earlier will take place in the comment section of someone else's original content.

At least once a day, I will spend some time scrolling quite deep on the listing under the "replies" tab, even if it doesn't appear there's anything new... I'm often surprised by how many things I have somehow missed. 

Why Curate Your Own Content? Isn't that Just a Lot of WORK?

Potatoes
Potatoes... in bloom

The following, of course, is just personal opinion. 

However, it is based on some 20 years of blogging across many different platforms... and my "lesson" is that it's preferable to develop a smaller but active and dedicated following than a numerically huge group of followers who really don't much care about-- or engage with-- your content.

I remember having a discussion with a twitter "expert" of some note... who told me he could get me "thousands" of new twitter followers. I asked him how many of his 60,000+ twitter followers would read one of his new articles when he announced it.

As it turned out, I averaged more reads from my 1500 largely hand picked, hand invited followers than he would get from his 60,000+ 

Numbers aren't everything... quality matters!

Apologies to those for whom this post might have seemed very basic... with the large numbers of newcomers arriving on Steemit these days (1000+ new accounts per day!) I thought it might be good to go over some of the basics I wish I'd known more about at the start!

How about YOU? Do you consider yourself a good curator of your own content? Is "community" an important part of what keeps you interested in Steemit? Do you do most of the things listed above? Are there any important things I forgot to list? Leave a comment and share your experience!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, cretaed expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

There a line in a KRS song where he says "I rather have 100 true heads beside me, then 1,000 of your fake followers behind me.

Quality matters! I've always preferred the idea that it's better to have a few actual "readers" than a whole bunch of ostensible "followers."

You make some really good points her! A really important one " it's preferable to develop a smaller but active and dedicated following than a numerically huge group of followers who really don't much care about-- or engage with-- your content".
I see that happening and I'm really enjoying my little group of loyal followers. I brightens my day when I see those familiar names that took time to stop by my blog!

Agreed! And whereas I realize there is a limit to just how many loyal followers we can realistically keep up with, I still like the idea that I somehow "know" the people who look at my posts at least at more than a totally superficial level.

Indeed it all about the quality vs numbers of followers. In addition to sheer view count, I find that having an authentic interaction adds much more to the overall enjoyment of the site. Just like on YouTube, I have found the enjoyment comes from community and engagement.

I think my years of "doing twitter" really taught me a lot about the value of genuine readers vs. mere followers. Readers help build community... "followers?" Half the time, I'm not even sure who they are. Steemit is great because there really is a sense of connection here.

I upvote most replies to my posts, and often respond with my own comments as well. I definitely agree that it's a key part of building the connections necessary to be a Steemit blogging success.

Agreed... it least it fits my paradigm for successful blogging... I'm sure there are strategies and topics that help some people to monetarily do far better than you or I, but I'm just not into that kind of approach.

You reminded me that I've been meaning to reply to one of your comments about handwritten notes. I guess I need to improve my curation game:)

I just wanted to comment about the community aspect of Steemit. One thing that really solidified that feeling for me was being asked to be a guest judge on the Culinary Challenge. That really made me realize that people are watching and listening and interested. It was a great experience and made me like Steemit even more.

Regarding handwritten notes, after reading your response to my comment about mostly using email and the Notes application on my iPhone, I realized that I do a lot of writing by hand everyday and hadn't noticed it. Usually these notes end up in the garbage pretty quickly, but I think they are a very important part of my writing process, which I think echoes what you said about yourself.

Community... yes! As an "early adopter" you might get this... I always thought the whole "Come for the rewards, stay for the community" slogan was a bit cheeseball, but I've come to appreciate the sheer genius of it... the rewards system subtly "trains" us to become mindful and connected; this strange blend of self-interest mixed with the fact that our upvotes are actually way of actively helping each other succeed.

Of course, your visit reminds me that it has been too long since I last checked out your daily life in Japan series, which I really enjoy!

Yes, that slogan is very fitting for this platform, but it doesn't have a special ring to it. I feel like it hits the mark, but sort of falls short.

The rewards system is a strange motivator. A friend of mine has been saying that all along, that it really promotes good comments and conversations. Really, having everything out in the open and your reputation on the line is interesting. It creates a lot of accountability, which I think is something that is missing from many areas of society.

I'm glad you like my series. It's always there waiting for you to catch up on it and growing in the mean time. I'm curious to hear if you have any advice about how to grow my audience. It seems that my followers are constantly growing, but my views and comments have pretty much stayed the same over time. If you have any ideas, please let me know. Thanks!

Leaving comment is important for me, sometimes I found my follower comment while I was leaving comment on several other steemian posting, and wow... I forgot to visit his/her blog, lets clicking on username and read then leave comment for his/her/ :)

Well, I see your comments in many places! You seem to be one of the very active community members, and I sense you're one of the driving forces in the Indonesian community on Steemit... which seems to have grown quite large.

Yes, that is right, I also active in Indonesian community. :)

Another wonderful post ~ thank you for sharing & for asking these questions @denmarkguy. Community is a very important aspect of my love for Steemit and the pride I have in being a Steemian. I have been making the conscious effort to connect further with my new friends and to become a steady & active member of the platform - not out of obligation but rather a true love & passion for being here and sharing in this awesome journey with so many beauty-full souls. Much love to you & yours! Bright Blessings :)

Thanks for the kind words! You hit on something important here... I realize that I really do like the rewards we get here, but they are ultimately not what inspires me to create content and connect with people. My love has always been with writing and sharing ideas with others. I have often not done so because I have either (a) not been able to afford to give the time and (b) there hasn't been that sense of connection/community we have here. Where the rewards "matter" is in that I can justify taking the time to do something I really enjoy doing... in 20 years I've probably created the equivalent of 20,000 pages of content for free... it's nice that it's not "for free" anymore-- now there's a certain reciprocity.

Hope that made sense! Bright Blessings!

Right on my friend :)

Thanks for the input, @denmarkguy
I agree in all and, the fact, i'm working in create "comunity" around the #galego #portugues language. We are 250 M speakers.
At time i'm seen that (some) people don't give valor to your posts, and the retroalimentation is so weak.

But, please, explain me ...

  • The content is live for 7 days ¿What means? ¿if anybody upvote my 30 days old my post that does not count? >> I like sometimes to complete some articles with backlinks, both to complemente the content, and get some visits - or upvotes in this ecosystem - ; -)

Another think ... Thanks for remember visit the answer zone. Steem can forget to warm !! REally !!

And last, but not least, ... Saint Google TRanslator and me whis your permission for translate this work/text into #galego language, wit h recognition and backlink, obviusly. It's because i like bring #galego #portugues speakers to steemit.

Thanks for make steemit a human comunity.

Kind regards from Galiza

Hello @freyman, thank you for your comment!

You are doing something important in creating a Steemit community for Portuguese language. This is a truly global site, so it matters. The important thing is for everyone to use the same tag in their post... like we already have "cn" (China), "kr" (Korea), "ru" (Russia) and others.

You are of course welcome to translate this, with a pointer back to the original post. You might also have a look at @papa-pepper & @stellabelle's original "Operation Translation" initiative: https://steemit.com/translation/@papa-pepper/operation-translation-now-under-construction-what-it-is-and-how-you-can-help

As for the "live for 7 days" comment, it was referring to the 7-day payout period for original posts. Of course, the post continues after that, but authors no longer receive rewards. Of course, I continue to go back and reply to comments on even quite old posts.

Dear @denmarkguy :
With respect the tags i'm following guidelines proposed by @lukmarcus in Map and analysis of ALL non-English European communities on Steemit with my advices about tags. I thnk this work is serious and documented.
Languages of lusophony will be tagged as #portugues #galego & #gal #pt

Thank you very much for share the @papa-pepper & @stellabelle's link. ¡ Obrigado ! Thanks again.
Thanks also, for allowing the translation of your work.
Best Regards.

Thank you for that article. It helped me to be more aware of this. And this made it to my #steempearls number 5 ;)

I am very new here but make a point of replying to all comments I receive and upvote them - apart from anything else I think it's just good manners. If somebody has invested their time to reply to one of my posts I feel it's only right I reciprocate. The community feel here is so much more tightly knit than anywhere else I have posted previously, it's a little gem to be treasured 😀

"Good manners." Yes, I think that matters, too. Or just simple "reciprocity." Content creation is really a two-way street... otherwise you're really just shouting into a virtual echochamber of sorts.

Steemit is a great community... reminiscent of the old "social blogging" platforms that were popular before MySpace and Facebook came long. People got to know each other better back then, in part because "content" meant a lot more than merely posting a picture of the fish & chips you had for lunch...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45