You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Basics: Are You a Good Curator of Your OWN Content?

in #steemit7 years ago

You reminded me that I've been meaning to reply to one of your comments about handwritten notes. I guess I need to improve my curation game:)

I just wanted to comment about the community aspect of Steemit. One thing that really solidified that feeling for me was being asked to be a guest judge on the Culinary Challenge. That really made me realize that people are watching and listening and interested. It was a great experience and made me like Steemit even more.

Regarding handwritten notes, after reading your response to my comment about mostly using email and the Notes application on my iPhone, I realized that I do a lot of writing by hand everyday and hadn't noticed it. Usually these notes end up in the garbage pretty quickly, but I think they are a very important part of my writing process, which I think echoes what you said about yourself.

Sort:  

Community... yes! As an "early adopter" you might get this... I always thought the whole "Come for the rewards, stay for the community" slogan was a bit cheeseball, but I've come to appreciate the sheer genius of it... the rewards system subtly "trains" us to become mindful and connected; this strange blend of self-interest mixed with the fact that our upvotes are actually way of actively helping each other succeed.

Of course, your visit reminds me that it has been too long since I last checked out your daily life in Japan series, which I really enjoy!

Yes, that slogan is very fitting for this platform, but it doesn't have a special ring to it. I feel like it hits the mark, but sort of falls short.

The rewards system is a strange motivator. A friend of mine has been saying that all along, that it really promotes good comments and conversations. Really, having everything out in the open and your reputation on the line is interesting. It creates a lot of accountability, which I think is something that is missing from many areas of society.

I'm glad you like my series. It's always there waiting for you to catch up on it and growing in the mean time. I'm curious to hear if you have any advice about how to grow my audience. It seems that my followers are constantly growing, but my views and comments have pretty much stayed the same over time. If you have any ideas, please let me know. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59364.81
ETH 2658.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49