Like the Aftermath of a Really Bad Storm...

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit, these days, feels a lot like a community in the aftermath of a really bad storm.

I make this observation as someone who has been through quite a few of those.

There's this odd feeling of "quiet resignation," underlying the more superficial feelings of... outrage and dejection and various other things.

No doubt, we have all been buffeted on the stormy seas of a fickle crypto market... and perhaps had the ubiquitous question of "Is this a bubble?" answered in spades.

0686-Solstice4.jpg
What's in the maze?

But nobody's actually dead, and in the aftermath of storms, there are also opportunities. Chances to restructure and rebuild.

Of course, some people move away. The stormy weather is too much for them, and they say "I'm not having any more of this!"

Others snap up cheap real estate and rebuild.

But before that... there's a period where everything just seems very quiet and people are just sitting around considering the reality that "that just happened..."

Seems a lot of people are doing that, here, these days.

I wonder what will happen next?

What do YOU think will happen next? Who stays, who leaves? What will become of this community? If I understand Ned's words correctly, the Social Content angle is pretty much a "throwaway." Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

xx-Bloggers.jpg

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 181202 17:18 PDT

Sort:  

What post/livestream are you referring to when you say the Social Content angle is pretty much a throwaway, and what does that mean?

As for what’s next? Well, I imagine nothing much that is particularly new. Fed up people will leave. New users will join and go through a honeymoon phase. And the rest of us will just keep slogging on to and through the next surprise/outrage/disaster/storm.

Well, in not so many words — both by Ned himself, and through people's second hand reports from Steemfest 3 — this is all a "demo" to show developers what you can do with apps on the Steem blockchain. I don't remember exactly where it was said, but Steemit, Inc. sees itself as a blockchain development company, NOT as a company running a social content site. As I understand it, the reason we sit here with an antiquated user interface that has seen no material change in a couple of years is that Steemit is just not important. Maybe "throwaway" is a strong term... but I have repeatedly seen Steemit referred to as "an experiment" and never as "an end," in the more permanent, long term sense.

But yes, I imagine you're pretty on the mark with what happens next. Whether "enough" will happen to keep Steem from gradually sinking to sub 1-cent levels remains to be seen.

I’m getting caught up little by little. Ned’s last Livestream quickly points out that he is only interested in the benefits of crypto currency (store of value and ease of transfer) and that Steemit.com is not what it has been made out to be (a space to get paid for content, nor a censorship resistant platform). For me, his talk raises a lot of questions. Though I understand that Steem and Steemit.com and Steem.Inc are different things, I can’t quite figure out how to untangle them all.

When I listen to Ned speak, I feel like he is saying the majority of us are all idiots for assuming that Steem.Inc is in the social media app business and that this site is something that Steem.Inc would eventually pull out of Beta mode and turn into a high-functioning centerpiece to the Steem ecosystem.

At any rate, I see more transition and stormy seas ahead, but more initiative and effort coming from different developers in the community. This all seems like it will be a good thing in the long run. I think there are too many people overinvested here (in time and money) to turn their backs away. That doesn’t mean that we won’t be seeing new lows in Steem prices, though, but I feel like eventually something worthwhile will come out of all of this. It just won’t be here on Steemit.com.

I am quite enjoying it but, I am a bit strange like that perhaps. It would of course be nice if price was up and everyone was happy but, would the development needed be done if there was no sense of urgency? The past and the present indicate the answer.

I think you're right that action often is the result of someone's "tail feathers" actually being set on fire... then we see movement. I always had the feeling that Steemit, Inc. seemed to spend a lot of time "coasting" because they were pretty "rich" as a result of the crypto boom. Now that everything seems to be falling apart, suddenly there is more activity.

Hey @denmarkguy thanks for your post. I think you're right as there is ample opportunities in this kind of restructuring shift in Steemit or seemingly shift.

I have been a part of the @thealliance. A top notch writer and curation team. Similar to Steemit Bloggers. Many are in both. And I have been giving permission by them to select a few who are worthy of being a part of @thealliance.

And you are definitely more than worthy with your skill as a Writer.

So here is an invite to the castle ( the stomping grounds of the Members) at @thealliance :)

Cheers,
Robert
https://discord.gg/QsFSDW

I appreciate the invite @robertandrew, and I will definitely check it out! Of all the various groups around Steemit, @thealliance has always been one I have kept my eye on, even though I have never pursued a membership before. Perhaps it is time!

After HardFuck20 it's hard to tell what they'll do to us next.

When this is all over we are going need a tshirt. Survived Steemit 2018.

While some amazing people have left or don't show up much anymore. I can understand when they needed motivation or where more dependent then they should have been on the markets.

I have my hand full everywhere I look it seems these days. Guess I'm just to busy trying do things and fill in gaps when I can. Along with everything else going on with holidays being very busy. I don't think I really understand the full impact of the markets right now. To tired, eyes been blood shot red for weeks. I just keep marching forward. I just hope not off a cliff. I would not see it coming.

Hi @denmarkguy:) I've been away, but regularly check in with Gina, and she tells me that there's a lot less going on here. I hope Ned's mistaken, because I quite like the Social Content angle here :)

Hope all is well with you.

That sums up my mood quite well. The intail rush of feelings are over, now I am kind of watching and waiting before deciding what happens next.

I'm not sure a lot of people are aware that we've lost any hope of marketing, future development and exchange relationships.

We shall see how it plays out long term.

.........any hope of marketing,

there was none, was there? - none as far as I'm aware....?

There are a few out there who assure that when a really bad storm hits, lots of the sediments & rubbish from the bottom of the oceans and the seas are stirred up. And then the, otherwise invisible organic matter, living down there floats towards the surface.

So, I'm gonna stick with that theory and I will keep posting my waste as always. ¿Who knows? Perhaps those chaps are right and after two years and a half that I've been shitting around here. Now, I'm not gonna lose my chances that some opulent whales can see my long hidden in the depths 'sediments' and suddenly they may decide that they certainly want to take a brownish bath. };)

You were 'unfollowed' on my followed list...strange...(it's happened 2 times before, not with you)

I thought you were being quiet!

...as to your post - steemit is dying, and the happy clappy lot are still continuing in delusional certainty, (due no doubt, to doubling down on investment losses) ...in my opinion.

Nothing quite as zealotry, as atheists who lose money! lol.

Serious re calibration without the will to see reality head on, is a disaster waiting to happen...(imo)

Yep, Adapt or Die.No more attention is being thrown at Steemit by @ned and the team. So we have to look at it as Steem and hopefully if you have connected with people and built relationships and grown with a Community here( there are a number of good ones) then you adapt with the environment. This is all just the beginning. Steem is still going places. Steemit is dead, though.

Embrace the change !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66779.99
ETH 3503.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70