You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Like the Aftermath of a Really Bad Storm...

in #steemit6 years ago

What post/livestream are you referring to when you say the Social Content angle is pretty much a throwaway, and what does that mean?

As for what’s next? Well, I imagine nothing much that is particularly new. Fed up people will leave. New users will join and go through a honeymoon phase. And the rest of us will just keep slogging on to and through the next surprise/outrage/disaster/storm.

Sort:  

Well, in not so many words — both by Ned himself, and through people's second hand reports from Steemfest 3 — this is all a "demo" to show developers what you can do with apps on the Steem blockchain. I don't remember exactly where it was said, but Steemit, Inc. sees itself as a blockchain development company, NOT as a company running a social content site. As I understand it, the reason we sit here with an antiquated user interface that has seen no material change in a couple of years is that Steemit is just not important. Maybe "throwaway" is a strong term... but I have repeatedly seen Steemit referred to as "an experiment" and never as "an end," in the more permanent, long term sense.

But yes, I imagine you're pretty on the mark with what happens next. Whether "enough" will happen to keep Steem from gradually sinking to sub 1-cent levels remains to be seen.

I’m getting caught up little by little. Ned’s last Livestream quickly points out that he is only interested in the benefits of crypto currency (store of value and ease of transfer) and that Steemit.com is not what it has been made out to be (a space to get paid for content, nor a censorship resistant platform). For me, his talk raises a lot of questions. Though I understand that Steem and Steemit.com and Steem.Inc are different things, I can’t quite figure out how to untangle them all.

When I listen to Ned speak, I feel like he is saying the majority of us are all idiots for assuming that Steem.Inc is in the social media app business and that this site is something that Steem.Inc would eventually pull out of Beta mode and turn into a high-functioning centerpiece to the Steem ecosystem.

At any rate, I see more transition and stormy seas ahead, but more initiative and effort coming from different developers in the community. This all seems like it will be a good thing in the long run. I think there are too many people overinvested here (in time and money) to turn their backs away. That doesn’t mean that we won’t be seeing new lows in Steem prices, though, but I feel like eventually something worthwhile will come out of all of this. It just won’t be here on Steemit.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71