What Is Your STEEMit Goal?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

What will it take for you to feel that you have reached success on Steemit?

Despite my answer to @jaynie in her STEEMIT Q&A, I plan on more than to "be pimp famous" on STEEMit. Of course, being famous or notorious on STEEMit would possibly help me meet my goals.



First off, if you are here on STEEMit, you are here to make money. If you say otherwise, you are full of it. The whole purpose of STEEMit is to create content for cryptocurrency. It is part of the DNA of the system, so get over it. Everyone is here to be rewarded. Now, as I have pointed out in my monthly update articles, not a lot of people are getting rich on STEEMit. The rewards do not flow like they did in the start, so unless you are doing some major bot manipulation, you aren't going to get rich quick.

Where am I in the STEEMit World: Nov 1st



However, just because you can't pile up the coins fast, doesn't mean you can't work to having a large amount of coins or Steem POWER. It is good to set goals, because setting goals helps you keep focused on what you want to do and how far along you have come. There is nothing worse than feeling that you have done a ton of work and not being able to see what you have accomplished and how much more work you need to do.

Just recently I saw a post by @valorforfreedom which was an update on his goals.



My Road to 100000 Steem Power & Self-Improvement Log Day 46

100,000 Steem POWER is a very lofty goal and when you start from scratch, it probably seems like an impossible goal. But, it seems as if @valorforfreedom is very motivated in reaching his goal on STEEMit and his personal fitness goals, so I salute him on his effort.

Make a goal, set markers

I responded to the article by first suggesting that he make markers or way points towards his goal. By having markers, you can see where you are and if you are making progress. 100,000 Steem POWER is a huge goal. If it was 2016, this could probably get done in about 100 articles with what apparently was going on back then with the Rewards Pool. Now, it would probably take much much longer. It could be possible to get there with 1,000 articles, if each and every article was touched by a few whales like @curie, but that's most likely not going to happen.

Next, I told him of my first goal, which was to become a Minnow. Everyone who joins starts off as a Bone Fish, then you become a Red Fish and finally when you have reached 500 Steem POWER, you are a Minnow.

I wrote an article about the different levels 4 months ago. Bone Fish, Minnow, Dolphin, Orca, Whale. How do I get there?



You can easily see where you are using Steemit Board. You can also keep track of how you are doing with daily, weekly, and monthly articles.

Now that I have reached Minnow status, my next goal is to hit 1,000 Steem POWER. A fellow steemian, @offgridlife, started the same time I did and just recently hit 1,000. He posts a lot of posts each day. He has managed to get the Monthly Author award twice on Steemit Board, showing his commitment to posting every day.

I think my final goal is to earn $100 rewards a week. Of course, Steem price affects that as well as the number of articles I create, the number of upvotes and who upvotes me with what percentage of their upvote power. However, I would want that to be the minimum amount. The idea is, I need to create x number of articles and be able to upvote myself y amount. Anything I earn from others would be a bonus on top of my regular earnings.

I'm not going to get into the discussion of upvoting yourself other than, I believe it is okay to upvote your own article and that it is bad to upvote your own comments.

This is the basic calculation:
x * y = $100
Ideal example: (2 articles per day/ 7 days) x $7.25 per upvote = $101.50 rewards.

Obviously, the increase in Steem POWER isn't a simple calculation and other factor are put in place when it comes to final reward payout. But, having $100 rewards every 7 days is the goal. This would be as if I was paid $100 a week for writing articles (again, this is why upvoting your own article is okay) and then receiving a bonus for popular articles.

Currently, with 600 Steem POWER, I have an upvote of $0.05 today. $7.25 would be 145 times my current upvote power at 100%. That would mean I would need approximately 87,000 Steem POWER to reach my goal. It would seem that @valorforfreedom goal of 100,000 Steem POWER is not far off from mine.

After I reach 1,000 Steem POWER, my next way point/marker will be 5,000 Steem POWER. Hopefully, reaching way points after that will come easier due to compounding of rewards into Steem POWER, because I do Power Up 100%.
Dr. SteemPower : Or, why I gave up trying to convert SBD and fell in love with Power Up 100%

Currently, it looks like I am earning 100 Steem POWER a month, with lower article output than I was doing when I started in June. So, I need to make an closer way point goal of figuring out a way to create more articles.

What is your STEEMit goal?


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
Steem Badges

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


DestroyAllBots.png

Sort:  

@deanlogic This Time my Power is very low. But I target this year end my power is 10000

10,000 is a good goal.
You might have to pick other topics to write articles on and do more. When I started, I was doing 4 articles a day and about 10 comments on other people's articles a day. As @valorforfreedom mentioned to me, he spends a good amount of his time networking in STEEMit, which means finding similar articles to his and making more than a short comment. This helps get followers who will read and upvote your articles.

Good luck.

Thank you for the nice words Dean.

I don't really know what to say about it and short comments suck.

So I am gonna resteem this post for you because of the information in this post and continue progressing towards my goal.

Could also be because I am on a diet and fucking hungry... shit makes you snappy and impatient.

Works for me. ;)

My current steemit goal is to reach 10000 SP by the end of 2017.

Well, it looks like you are half way there.

It's the journey...not the destination.

Yes, but how would you like your journey to be?

lotsa fun.
I disagree with your contention that the main reason to be here is to make money.
The main reason to be here is because Steemit is a SOCIAL media that means interacting with people.

I post five to ten times a day...sometimes more...seldom less. JUST LIKE I was doing on face book for many years. I post things that I find interesting and DISCUSS it with people. I'd be doing it ANYWAY...Making money is just a bonus.

Why did you come here in the first place? Why not continue posting on Facebook?

I'd be doing it ANYWAY...Making money is just a bonus.

I never said it was the main reason, but that you are here to make money. If you weren't you would just post it back on FB or on a blog site.

I got rilly rilly TIRED of FaceBook trying to make me do things I didn't want to do.
I got sick and tired of the ads.
First I used a program...don't recall it's name right now. It would allow me to block most of the FaceBook generated content on my page that I didn't want to see. It had about a hundred boxes for blocking stuff...I checked most of them. Facebook didn't like that..they gave the author of THAT program hell. It got so bad that facebook wouldn't even allow the name of the program to be posted. I tried another one...FaceBook Purity I think...same thing..then another and another. Each one would work for a little while the facebook would mess it up.

It got to be a constant FIGHT with the platform...just to do what they advertised that I could do....engage with people and talk. They neglect to mention that I had to talk about approved subjects and waste my time with about a million ads.

I heard there was another way. I saw an ebook on Amazon Kindle about Steemit...I bought it...the rest is history.

Well, interesting.

However, I assume that if I wasn't on STEEMit and I wanted to shoot the breeze on particular topics, I would just join a forum/message board. Just like the old days with BBS, however I didn't chat much with the BBS, I just looked for games I could play.

right.
and people are building that very thing on Steem Appllications as we speak.
ChainBBS for example...a BBS.
and there are games galore...
and other stuff that I don't understand..

It doesn't have the same feel or smell.

Note: You do know that facebook has a LOT of their employees that pose as 'users' ? They infiltrate the various 'rooms'( conservative topics) and agitate?

I lost 3 accounts at fb, freedom of speech is what brought me here. The snow flakes lefts can not stand anyone that loves the Constitution and guns.

that's correct.
they hate Cruz too.

One of my goals was to make my first $10 payout post. According to steem.supply I've hit that mark so just have to wait a few more days to see if it actually pays out that much.

Next goal is a post that pays out $100 which will almost double my SP. LOL

You just have to write the right article for @curie or one of the other upvoters to notice.

Just takes luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67104.23
ETH 3509.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21