Unveiling The Human Behind The Steemian. My Adaptation of Steemgigs' Mission & VisionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

em1.jpg

I have been a part of the Steemit platform for 80 days as of this writing. In those 80 days, I have found a mountain of information about culture, the arts, foreign places, food, religion, cryptocurrency and so much more. I have spent those 80 days immensely enjoying fiction from various writers, in awe of great artworks, being transported to foreign places through the most detailed reviews , and learning about other people as much as about myself.

The most pleasant thing about those 80 days is the time I got to interact with the people who make up this wonderful platform. It could be through the comments left on my own posts or the replies I got from leaving a comment on others'. I find this truly amazing because I wouldn't have been able to do this in any of the other platforms I use. In facebook, I only accept friend requests from people I personally know and in Instagram, I personally know all those who are following me. There would have been no way for me to find out about a fellow steemian who lives just about 7 km from our residence and is now someone I consider family, I wouldn't have been able to commend someone from Thailand for way she promotes her country, and I wouldn't have known about this wonderful island girl living by the steemit ocean.

The Island Girl, @sunnylife

I first came in contact with @sunnylife after I posted a blog about a day I spent at Alinaga Music and Arts Project, she left a very touching comment on that post of mine and I decided to check her account. I read her most recent posts and my first thought was that she picked a really good username; it suits her very well - her words radiate the warmth of the sun. I felt that should I have a bad day, I would definitely go looking for her account so I started following her. @sunnylife posts almost everyday and so I always get to leave a comment that she would then reply to. In one of her replies, I found out that she actually lives by the ocean, THE ATLANTIC OCEAN!!! I started perusing her account for her older posts. I understand that may sound creepy so let me just say that I've always loved the ocean. @steemitph and I are still debating whether we should retire high up in the mountains or by the beach and @sunnylife's posts might be able to tell us if life by the ocean really is the life I imagine it to be. To my delight, I found more than what I was looking for.

I discovered that I've already come across @sunnylife before she left that comment on my post. A week before I started following her, she authored an open letter to our President, thanking him for all his hard work. I remember reading that post and giving it an upvote but I don't recall @sunnylife being the one who posted it. I am from Davao, where President Duterte was elected Mayor seven times and served our city for twenty-two years. Though I do not pick a fight with people who don't share my views about him, I appreciate the people who do and I am happy that @sunnylife is one them.

I also found out that she lives in Andalucia. I first came to know Andalucia through Coelho's The Alchemist. The first few pages of the book tells of its countryside where the protagonist, Santiago, was. He was leading his flock of sheep to another town where they will be sheered. Ever since, I've wanted to visit Spain and go to Andalucia but I never imagined that I might know someone there.

Like me, @sunnylife loves nature. She spends a lot of time outdoors, biking or walking with her husband. In her posts, she shares beautiful sunsets, lovely flowers, and green meadows that is part of her everyday life.

sunny7.jpg
artwork by @sunnylife

I could say those are the reasons why I like @sunnylife but that would be wrong, because the reason why I look forward to her posts is the positivity she radiates. The way she is free while acknowledging restrictions. The way she warmly replies to anyone who leaves a comment on her posts. The way she treats everyone like an old friend, and how much she values helping others. The other day when Steemit.com was down, she immediately sent me a direct message in Discord to let me know where I could still check my account. She also sent me a picture of seashells forming my name on the sand. Seeing her artwork sent me working on my stitching cloth. It is one the of sweetest gestures anyone has shown me and it will always be something I will treasure.

@surpassinggoogle always talk about unveiling the Human behind the Steemian, and I would like to think that I have found my own way of doing just that. I have personally met two other Steemians and I will tell you how much they inspire me too, but I will pause for now. As always, I will take my time; I want to make sure I do justice to our story. In the meantime, I will be looking out for you too and hope that you all will be part of my Steemit journey.

Photo Sources

President Duterte
The Alchemist

Sort:  

whoaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!! This is very touching:(:( I didn't expect this at all. Thank you so much sis.

I remember commenting on that post. I read it only once, coz it was emotional for me. You and husband did really an amazing job not only here on steemit but also touching the lives of others. I can feel the love, passion and the effort that you put in every post that you make. You maybe don't know how much you inspire people like me....Thank you for that...

God bless your family always and wish you all the success in the future. Keep shining!

Lots of love and sunny hugs.

ur jologs kapitbahay,
@sunnylife

p.s. thanks for the additional info about Coelho's The Alchemist:)

Omg, @sunnylife! You didn't have to get that upgoat for me but thank you!!! I feel your appreciation for me. Much love from me to you.😙😙😙

sis. just sharing my blessings!! check my message on discoord:)

You are the sweetest, @sunnylife! ❤

Nice. I forgot already who borrowed my book..but i hope that it was enjoyed and lent as I did.

Same thing happened to me! 😁 It's my all-time favorite book but I don't have a copy anymore. I plan to buy one for my girls though. Thank you for dropping by, @immarojas!

Yw. Yeah it's a good book..it's my 1st of his.
Very inspirational. Meron 25th edition, you will love that.

I will look for that. ☺

@immarojas, nay, thank u too for your guidance!
Mabuhay Steemph Family!

What na namang guidance yan lolsss..sobra ng baet yan ahihihi.
Mabuhay ang Pinoy!

nay, yong source/links etc. sau ko natutunan yon, kung nde nalintikan ako ni cheetah haha saka ikaw yong kauna- unang nag encourage sakin d2 na gorabels lang.
nalalala nyo yong banga ni lola? hahaha

ay un? uu hahaha
baka mag-stricto na sa references, read how to reference ate.usap tayo sa discord xoxo

I too can attest to @sunnylife 's sweetness and beautiful personality.

She has very kindly messaged me a few times to help me, a stranger she barely knows.

Youre so right when you say she radiates positivity.

So do you my darling. You are also one of those bright shining stars ⭐⭐

I do adore you both ❤

Aaaaw. Thank you @bearone! I'm so glad I found you guys here! You all make Steemit the great platform that it is. ~mahigpit na yakap~

Thanks to Steemph family,for guiding us through out our journey here on Steemit.
God bless the SteemPH Community!
Mabuhayyyyyy!!!

This is just soo beautiful and creative....i really love this

Thank you, @amec! I understand you are @sunnylife's little brother. She calls me sis so I guess that means you're my little brother too! 😁

Aww...cool
Thanks for accepting me into the family😊

that is sooo sweet:)

hugsssss xoxo

Good article! I much appreciate when seeing that you also mentioned Thailand in your post and I think that's one is me, right? Many thanks.

Yes, it's really great to be part of this platform and we are all good friends. ;)

That's right, @tangmo! I really appreciate the work you put into your writing ; so much dedication! Your blogs are one of the things I look forward to in this platform and I am very grateful for the friendship too! =)

I'm really happy to hear that! Thanks so much for your kindness and good friendship! ;)

You are an excellent writer :p. I think I may have to follow @sunnylife now, lol.

Haha! I bet you'd love the daily dose of positivity too. 😁

Three of the warmest women who cares for me converges in here :)
@dandalion @sunnylife @immarojas
I'll include @chelsea @girlbeforemirror and @bearone

Awww. Thank you, my friend!

sooo sweet:):) hugssssss

I would definitely choose the beach for myself :]. Ive lived in both the mountains and by the ocean but somehow the ocean just does it. Also very healing to take a swim. Definitely does something good for the body/mind.

Yup! That's what I feel about the ocean too!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dandalion to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54337.36
ETH 2271.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32