My Steemit Design: Steemit as a place where beautiful things could growsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

e9.jpg

There are times when I wish that I could get my "old self" back. In my younger days, I was very much in touch with my artistic side. I drew a lot back then. When paper dolls were the thing on my 4th grade, I would use all my spare time making paper dresses. I remember going to my mom's room and inspecting her clothes to find some clue on how best to draw long sleeved blouses, pencil skirts, and balloon dresses. My drawing and designing spree continued on until my high school days. In my second year, my friends and I took on a darker road and designed coffins. I discovered poetry on my third year in high school and I immediately fell in love with Frost, Byron, Shelley, and of course Shakespeare. I was so enamored by these poets that I strived to be one of them and submitted some of my works to be published by the school paper. It was then that I became a romantic and all of my "art" would be devoted to love. And so when I met @steemitph, I showered him with love letters and even gave him a notebook full of sweet nothings, thoughts on mundane things that filled my days when I was without him, and professions of my undying love for him.

e4.jpg


And then the kids came. Not that I have any regrets about it; my girls are the most incredible thing that happened to me. But I got caught up; first in their tiny heartbeats that my small sickly body needed to sustain; then the tiring days and sleepless nights to do every little thing for them; to building a future for them that will surpass ours by eons.

So I tucked my sketches, my poems, and that gypsy spirit of mine somewhere so dark that I'm afraid to reach out for it. Of course my children are blameless. It was I who got lazy, who thought I could not make time, who got old and jaded. And like the knight in shining armor that he is, @steemitph came to the rescue once more and ushered me into a platform where he believes I could be my self again.

e5.jpg

This damsel in perrenial distress took her time. Yes, I did. It took a lot of self-motivating steemians and hundreds of inspiring articles to make me believe that maybe it's not too late for me to learn something new and revive the artist that's sleeping in a comatose inside me.

It was difficult to say the least. It is always painstaking to mold oneself into another form and leaving one's comfort zone is known to be frightening. But the Steemit platform makes all that bearable. @eroche would always start his post on his Culture Vulture Challenge by saying "Inspiration is everywhere" and I find myself thinking along the lines of "what can I write about this?", "how can I make this interesting", or "would someone need this?" even while staring at the Taho, my usual breakfast on busy school days - and I was able to write something about that too!

e6.jpg

I've gotten used to being on auto-pilot while doing the house chores and so thinking about how I could present an idea can be so very tiresome for my lazy brain cells but I remember @surpassinggoogle's article wherein he said "People did sleepless nights to even create steem and steemit. People do sleepless nights all around the world daily, to find lasting solutions against malaria and I tell you; "many of these people, have hardly come across mosquitos. So who are they exerting themselves for? isn't it for YOU & me?"" and here I am typing away at 2 am.

Years of pity partying has made it a hard habit to break. I constantly pity myself because I'm living in such a small world that's revolving on laundry, dishes, and elementary level homework. I almost convince myself that I couldn't possibly write anything when I remember @stellabelle's article saying that you can write about your shoes even if you don't know who you are. But I do know who I am. I still even know that poem-loving, romantic, gypsy designer part of me I haven't seen for more than a decade now. Maybe she could give me something to write about after I dust her off and do some upgrades.

e7.jpg

I made time to learn something new and decided to learn embroidery. It's not the most spectacular or glamorous thing to learn but I'm NOT aiming for either of that; I'm aiming to be myself and I've always loved embroidery.

Finding training materials was easy enough. It was the practice that took time and effort. After buying supplies like needles, threads and cloth from a General Merchandise store in the market, I started with the most basic stitches. The yellow line is made up of Split Stitches which are appropriate for text and outline. The line above that (in green) is made up of Chain Stitches that work well as a frame for a pattern. The one in brown is made up of Feather Stitches, another variation of chain stitch which look great as a border to an embroidered piece. And the multiple-colored waves are made up of Satin Stitches that can be used to fill in designs. When I was confident enough with how my stitches looked, I started working on the design.


It's been years since I've drawn anything and it's my first time to draw anything that I will be using as an embroidery design. I made designs on my practice cloth and embroidered them. It was a trial and error method of learning that took hours but provided significant information. I discovered I could only use the satin sticth to fill gaps that are not too narrow or too wide. I also found smaller stitches prettier. Based on what I learned, I came up with a final design that I would use on my favorite pair of jeans, a hand-me-down from my mom. I remember seeing her in these pants in the late 90's but it's still in good condition.


I decided to make two designs on the pants. One would be on the upper part and one on the lower part of the pants. I made sure the petals weren't too narrow nor too wide. I first used the chain stitch on the stem but decided against it after a few stitches. The chain stitch was just too big for the stem and decided it was best to use the split stitch. I used the satin stitch to fill the petals of the flowers. I then had to learn the fishbone stitch that I used on the leaves.



I used the Steemit logo on the design in the lower part of the pants. I created some sort of stencil out of paper that will serve as a guide for when I draw on the pants. I wanted the design to showcase what the Steemit platform is for me, a place where beautiful things can grow so I also decorated it with some flowers that looked like it stemmed from the logo



My finished product. It took me more than a week and I could not be any more proud. It's a very simple design but this means so much to me. I showed this to my mama and she approved of the design and said that the design gave the old pants a new look although she thought it was queer that I used blue-colored threads on the grass (she mistook the steemit logo for grass. hahaha!).

This is how I see my Steemit journey so far. I have been in this platform for 2 months now and I am very happy with the way it has changed me. I am looking forward to seeing how much I would evolve in this platform in the days to come.

Sort:  

i love that steemit jeans.. well done

You are most welcome!!

@dandalion better late than never. Share your love story of @steemitph that would be great article. And thank you for sharing this it got me motivated as well :)

I'm glad it did, @grazz! I would love to be part of the positivity here in Steemit. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Your welcome :) Basta I'm still looking forward pa rin with your lovestory. Ayyiieeee

Hahaha! Ang kasal namin ni @steemitph ay isang malaking proyektong pinagsisikapan namin ngayon. Sisiguruhin kong maimbitahan ka pag dating ng araw na iyon. 😊

PS. Sabi ni @steemitph sa huli niyang post na siya na daw magsusulat ng "love story" namin.haha!

Embroidery is a very good craft to get busy with and it needs patience and determination to finish one and you had done an excellent job there @dandalion
Dropping a post about your poems here are welcomed and are loved to be read by most friends.

Awww. That's very sweet of you my friend. Thank you for your kind words. I will see you soon! 😊

Ang tyaga mo. :)
Ganda ng mga designs, really nice. :)

Salamat, @zararina! =)

mga idol may community ba kayo? pa follow naman po sa inyo kahapon lang ako nag register.

This is really awesome. To get back to something that you haven't been doing for a long time already can be quite overwhelming (sometimes in a bad way) and I'm glad you did it! Your patience and creativity for embroidery is seriously amazing. I love your works!

It was at first! For the first time in a long while I had to exert effort to persevere and it's a great feeling! Thank you for taking the time to read my story and for this sweet comment. You're one of the people who make Steemit great. The positivity in this platform is so addictive.

Madam!!!! You are a lady after my own heart! Love love love that you wrote this, although we have next to zero interraction I feel as if I already know you. I can relate on so many levels with your journey. Motherhood can be challenging, and yes we at times (or most of the time?) set aside our person to give priority to the kids and family life in general. Then I realized that, other than being a mother, I am a person too. @dandalion is a person too, with passion and dreams outside of parenting. Glad you're taking the time to do something for YOU.

I have the outmost admiration to the family you and @steemitph have built, the love is simply evident even from this stranger's eyes. And this grows stronger seeing your individual strenghts and achievement. Hope to see you showcase more of your bountiful gifts and talent!

I am teary eyed at this point. Thank you @dreamiely! This "project" really meant a lot to me and I hope it gives others reason to believe that there is always Time that they can give to themselves. And that making You better does not mean you're being selfish. Salamat sa supporta ninyo sa amin ni @steemitph.

I can see you being an inspiration to many, will be watching this unfold. :)

Wow,, this is amazing!! ☺️☺️☺️ Nice work!! I salute all moms who are dedicated to family, they can forgot who they are and just blend on what is required by the family. BUT art is something within... that no matter how long it sleeps in you, once awaken can still do wonderful work! And youve done it!! 😍 Looking forward for more amazing arts from you... I too love and creating poems... artworks... stories... way back elem-HS days,,, same like you... sleeping for years now, because I thought that life is soo busy and I dont have time anymore... But Now, I am able to showcase it again here in Steemit... 💕 Indeed, an amazing platform! ☺️ Followed u and looking forward to more artworks from you ☺️ See you around sis! 😍

Awww. Thank you, @pingcess! Your words cheer me on to dig further and share in Steemit more of what I discover from here on. I would also love to see your works so I'm also following you. Thank you for dropping by and taking the time to leave your reply on my post. You guys are all inspiration to me.

hi dear @dandalion, nice article you wrote with beautiful pics, and showed nice piece of designing art. well done, nice effort. appreciate your work... Followed

There will be more to you than you know. You just need to find yourself.

I must say. You are creative

this is so cool! grabee ang ganda nya!!
Panalo to! wow!!! we wanna see more!

Salamat, @sunnylife! I'm already working on a canvass bag. I might use paint this time though. Thank you for cheering me on. ❤

Oh whoooa! gleng naman! can't wait :) kzo minsan ko kayo makita sa feed kaya nde maka comment or upvote:)

I like the steem logo very original super!!! I love it! very creative!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48