Let's talk about your Steemit feature want list

in #steemit8 years ago


I've been a member here for a few weeks now and I have never had so much fun on social media. The last update caught me by surprise and the Feed was a great addition to the platform. It got me wondering what else the development team might have in store for us and what kind of features I would like to see on Steemit. Here are 4 things on my wishlist:


The ability to save content

Reddit, for example, gives users the ability to save content that they enjoyed. It's pretty bare-bones and there's no way to  sort it, which makes it pretty useless. I'd like to see a save feature on Steemit that would allow you to not only save your favorite content but also the ability to categorize it to the user's liking. 


Friend-list, Add or Request Friendship

We now have the ability to create a feed of users we follow. That is great but it would be a benefit if there was a feature to create a friend-list and add or request users we interact with to join it. It's a great way to encourage community building among the user-base.


Direct messaging

I would love to see in the future, a direct messaging feature. I've met some interesting people so far and it would be great to be able to message people I have added to my friend-list. Of course, there probably would need to the ability to 'block person' so that users could cut off unwanted, direct communication. 


Profile Pictures

When I first signed up the account icon was my Facebook profile picture. I've noticed that it has gone away and I wasn't sure if people could actually see it, or was it just for my eyes only. In any case, adding a picture or icon to be displayed when you submit or comment on content is a great way to personalize ones account and I have a feeling this is in the works.


What kind of features would you like to see on Steemit? Leave a comment.

@cryptobarry



Sort:  

I would have wished, however, that you can not only follow certain people, but which can be divided each his contributions in different categories and gives the opportunity to follow only certain categories. I post as like posts about Bitcoin, Thailand, funny nonsense or articles on my work. But I do not think that anyone wants is interested in Thailand also look for the journal article my work interesting or permanently any, though funny, nonsense from each of its forerunner.

Duration of evaluation and reward

Furthermore, I would hope that the postings can be evaluated permanently. This is also true for the comments, which are sometimes more valuable than the actual post. The dividend should be credited to the account monthly to stay but the total amount listed as orientation of the review.

Type of evaluation and reward

Also there should be a reward not only for the direct evaluation. If an animated discussion arises from a post office, the post office often has a greater value for the project. The number of posts under the post should be included in the evaluation.

You also get a penalty on your payouts if you post more than 4 articles. The current system is incentivizing people to create multiple accounts each focused on a niche rather than a single master account. Maybe this is intended to stop massive content aggregates?

Is the 4 submission rule only for content? I'm curious because I comment a lot.

Of course, it wouldn't be applied to commentaries. That would indeed increase spam in the comment section. But would be a great rule since it would for some time stop spam in created section (until there are more users). People would have to go through bigger trouble to post spam posts and curators would have an easier time reading through new content. The current system seems unholdable if there are say 100000 active users. With 6000+ plus active in last 24 hours one can't read more than 2% of newly created content in his active time ​and curate it.

I would like to see some improvement and clarity on the payout amount listed near the upvote button.

See my post here on the confusion it caused me https://steemit.com/steemit/@contentjunkie/are-steemit-rewards-payouts-broken

I'm sure many will come and think the site is a scam when they aren't being paid out what the site says it will be paying. I get that the devil is in the details and the white paper explains why the amounts might not match what you actually receive but I don't expect the mainstream to read the white paper when trying out that new thing "steemit" where you can make some money by blogging.

I definitely agree with adding profile pictures. The platform seems sterile without them -- like everyone's the same.

I'd like to see the "profile" section redesigned, or at least built out some more. Perhaps a way to customize with a header image or the capability to add ancillary resource links like to a website or two.

Totally agree, all these grey heads are boring. Lol @andrewrobbins

So basically make it like FB but with the ability to earn money for content that is highly viewed?

The things I listed are pretty common to most of the successful SM platforms. Users like those features and even expect them.

A video player on the Main Stream.

I'd like to be able to play videos right in the newsfeed without having to get inside the post itself. Yeah, just like FB.

I also like to see multiple lines of "intro text" of the post right there on the newsfeed. Currently, #steemit displays a one-liner intro-text which I believe the guys at #steemit want to stick to the minimalist approach of things.

The reason why I want to see more than just a line is because I want to be able to know what to expect to read from the post before I decide to dive deeper. This will also allow me to evaluate the post before I #upvote.

The rest of my wishlist is right here https://steemit.com/steem/@cjclaro/my-ux-design-wishlist-for-steemit-main-page

Simply Great Information and Presentation

This would be awesome! It is definitely not the greatest user experience to have to keep copy/pasting the text into a notepad file in order to save a long post while I work on it. Being able to save and come back later would be so useful!

I just featured a link to your post in my list of proposals to enhance the Steemit website :)
https://steemit.com/ui/@timcliff/let-s-make-steemit-better-comprehensive-list-of-suggested-ui-ux-improvements-to-make-to-the-steemit-com-website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83