Are Steemit Rewards Payouts Broken?

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm guessing there is something I'm doing wrong but it appears the payout system might be broken. Maybe I just don't understand how it's supposed to work and someone can fill me in.

Yesterday I submitted many stories in an attempt to learn what kind of content resonates with the Steemit audience. Out of those submissions a few did alright and I succeeded in my humble goal of reaching a $1SD payout.

Here are my 4 best performing posts and how much it said I would be paid.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@contentjunkie/i-just-invested-in-steem-steemit - $0.83
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@contentjunkie/solar-powered-bitcoin-mining-farm - $0.02
https://steemit.com/funny/@contentjunkie/the-gig-economy - $1.14
https://steemit.com/steemit/@contentjunkie/steemit-follow-train - $0.21

Here is a screen shot of what my blog page looked like before I went to bed with those payment amounts


That is what it looked like when I went to bed. When I woke up today I expected to see at least $1SD in my wallet from those posts. What I actually received was far far less. Here are screenshots of my wallet, author rewards and curation rewards.



https://steemit.com/steemit/@contentjunkie/i-just-invested-in-steem-steemit - $0.83 Actually received: 0.024SD and 0.012SP
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@contentjunkie/solar-powered-bitcoin-mining-farm - $0.02 Actually received: NOTHING
https://steemit.com/funny/@contentjunkie/the-gig-economy - $1.14 Actually received: 0.041SD and 0.020SP
https://steemit.com/steemit/@contentjunkie/steemit-follow-train - $0.21 Actually received: 0.016SD and 0.009SP

So what happened? Is the system broken or did I do something wrong and this is how it's intended to be? I know someone mentioned to me yesterday that posting more than 4 times a day can dilute your payouts and 20 - 30 upvotes a day to others is optimal. Is that what's affecting my payouts? Did they get diluted by my other posts that didn't fair as well? If that is the case the system still seems somewhat broken. None of my content was flagged and most received at least a couple upvotes.

What am I not getting? How did $2.2SD in payouts shrink to $0.122 SD & SP combined? This doesn't seem like a good system for a social network starving for content. Something like this would just encourage bots across multiple accounts with snoeshowing while still punishing individual power users.

Sort:  

It seems that you are not aware of the algorithm on steemit.com that encourages users to post up to 4 articles per 24 hours with the goal of going for higher quality content than for posting too much. After the 4th article you start getting penalties in the rewards you will get for the 5th, 6th, 7th and so on publication with the penalty increasing with each additional publication you make.

Ugh so yet again they are incentivizing me to create multiple sock accounts. This is like mining, unless I want to stay idle for a period of time create another account.

Or just don't go too obsessed with making money on steemit... :)

Honestly, without the making money aspect, Steemit would just be a sub-par forum lacking basic features.

I said not too obsessed, if you focus too much on that aspect and don't get what you expect initially in a short period of time you can quickly get discouraged. Look around, learn how things work and try, but don't try too much if things don't work, as luck also plays a big role in here.

do you know if comments and blog posts count the same in the 4 posts algo?

No, comments do not have such limitation.

Furthermore the amount you get is the value that your post has recieved at payout time, it can be higher prior to that and get reduced when the payout time comes (user's vote worth changes over time). You also don't get 100% of the rewards shown for your post, you get the larger portion of it that is split in SP and SBD and a smaller portion goes back to the people that voted for your post as curation rewards.

Interesting, so curation rewards come out of my payout?

Yes, you don't get the full 100% of the reward for a post you make.

So 4 posts a day and 20 - 30 upvotes. Do you have any idea what the magic number for comments is? I hope those don't count against your post number.

There is no magic number, it is just the more you vote, the more your voting power dillutes to the many posts you vote for and if you have less Steem Power, then each of your votes will not count for much and you will hardly get curation rewards back.

Just think of steemit as a community of which you are a part, and not a place where you can make money and only think about making money, and just like in a real-world community here interaction with other members is key if you want to be popular or successful...

You've been a great help in understanding steem, thanks! I have another question if you don't mind. Am I correct in thinking that the amount of Steem Power I hold affects the payout I receive on my content? Does it directly increase the payout or indirectly by attracting more upvotes due to better placement?

Or does holding Steem Power only make my upvotes and flags carry more weight on the content of others?

Having more Steem Power means your vote has more weight, giving higher reward for the posts and comments you vote on, it does not result in you getting higher rewards, though it may help you in some ways indirectly.

Hey Captain of steemit. You hit the fucking iceberg!

hmm not suire if its broken.. maybe it takes some time

We are well past the initial 12 hour payout window on all those posts. From my understanding these transactions should be rather instantaneous after the waiting period is over.

When you click on the arrow on the right of the reward value you will see what is the pending time for the next payout, if it shows 0.00 you should not expect to get anything as payout. I've seen some articles take more than 12 hours for their first payout, though ot exactly sure what might extend the initial period.

Well the thing is they did pay me it's just far less than expected. Do you know if I can see these penalties being applied? Is it something I can lookup on steemd.com?

From the amount measured at payout time (which could be different from the numbers you see during the 12 hours period, because it adjusts itself according to market price for Steem and Steem Backed Dollars) , 25% of that amount goes to curators of your post, and the remaining 75% that goes to you is split in two : half is paid in Steem Backed Dollars, and half is paid in Steem Power.

https://steemstats.com is very useful to see how many votes you used in the last 24 hours, as well as showing you your "voting power" (which goes down by a small amount every time you upvote or flag a post or comment), it is usually best to try and keep that number above 75%, otherwise your votes have less "weight" and impact.

Hope that was a bit useful :)

No, I don't think they are being shown somewhere on steemd.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63