Overcome by Steemit Excitement: The Second Advent of ~Perpetual Editability~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

"To err is human, but to really foul things up you need a computer."
- Bill Vaughan -


Finally! At long last! "Unlimited Content Editing!"

This Steemit development has been a long time coming.

I know, because I've been jonesing and lobbying for this ever since it was first promised to be part of the release of Hard Fork 17 way back when.

The proscription against editing has been a thorn in the side of all serious content creators here on Steemit, ever since day one.

Even the ancient scribes had the option of scraping away errors with a knife (see example at 2:56 in the video below), or throwing away manuscripts that contained egregious errors.

"Making Manuscripts" - Courtesy of Getty Museum and YouTube

Restoring our ability to edit our work is—quite literally—the best Steemit news I've heard in years.

Yesterday, I was actually in the throes of trying to figure out a workaround for Steemit's restriction on editing older posts. I was fiddling with Chrome Developer interface, trying to see if I could hack in an [Edit] button in older posts... <sigh!>

When I hit my frustration limit with that futile exercise, I googled for any recent news on the topic, and was blown away to discover this:

"The release will include a change to allow unlimited content editing (beyond seven days)! ... Steemit has already created pull request 2826 to update condenser to allow unlimited content editing, which will be deployed to steemit.com after a sufficient number of witnesses have updated."
- from @steemitblog: 'Steem 19.10 Officially Released'

Wow, finally! Relief from an idiotic and unwarranted limitation. Thank you, Steemit.

Table of Contents

Unlimited Content Editing! Hooray!
Image courtesy of Anne Karakash and http://pixabay.com

Who needs unlimited content editing?

Any human author, that's for sure. As Alexander Pope famously said, "To err is human...," and I, for one am certainly that. But it has been extremely difficult dealing with this corollary to that quote:

"To err is human, but to really foul things up you need a computer."
- Bill Vaughan -

Yes, to err is human, but the powers that be in the Steemit world of computers have really fouled this essential up for entirely too long. I am ever so grateful that they've finally come to their senses and announced this imminent remedy for such an egregious problem.

You see, I've been complaining about this for years. Here are a few of the articles I've written in protest over this short-sighted oversight:


🆘I'm Still Jonesing For That "Edit" Button! - Please???🆘
TIL... Now I'm REALLY Frustrated With the STEEMIT User Interface!😤
Seeking EDITABILITY Beyond Seven Days!
Can ~Anybody~ Out There, *Please* HELP Me? Desperately Seeking Editability...
Curmudgeon Grumbles; Steemit Needs More READERS!
Seven Compelling Reasons to Enable "Perpetual EDIT" for Content Creators

As perhaps you can imagine,

I got a little excited when I heard the news about Unlimited Content Editing. This is obvious in the comment I posted under that announcement:



Table of Contents

My comment on hearing the good news... ~ Original Image by @creatr


I'm not alone.

In these other comments below the announcement article, you'll discover that I am not the only one rejoicing at the prospect of this change:

"Love the unlimited editing idea - as there's plenty of times when I've noticed a spelling mistake or where I miss said something and I wish I could go back and alter or fix but I'm unable to because of the 7-Day window."

"...the ability to EDIT past seven days is very welcome... because it (in essence) enables a broad-based ability to keep content "evergreen." ...

"Why does it MATTER? Because Google likes Steemit! But Google DISlikes "stale" content. And their algorithms (which — in terms of complexity — put the Internal Revenue Code to shame!) will increasingly "bury" stale and out-of-date content."

"goes back and revises everything ever written :) ok, maybe not.. but super stoked about this!"

"Being able to go back and update locked in content to keep well ranking posts relevant is a pretty wide-ranging addition to a release that already has a lot of great implications for performance and stability."

"Editing beyond 7 days!!! At last, I am so happy about this. There is nothing worse than looking at old posts and seeing some icky grammar of your own making."

"Not only grammar, but if new information gets out for a particular news story, you can edit to add a correction or link to a new article with recent developments."

"As a content creator, I am very excited about the ability to edit posts that require it."

"Congrats on the unlimited editing idea. That will really help the "professional" writers/bloggers who are continually expanding and updating their material."



Table of Contents

Finally, Steemit EDITING!
Image courtesy of Gianni Crestani and http://pixabay.com


"unlimited editing is great. this will fix a potential issue of content owners coming after steemit for plagiarized content that couldn't be removed."

"The unlimited edit feature is a killer! It has been a very long time I've waiting for this!"

"Unlimited editing is definitely a step in the right direction. This will not only allow us to correct mistakes, but also to add links to newer posts. Since I post how to articles on visualization where later posts often related to older posts, this is a big deal."

"This is a really good thing for Steemit."

"Unlimited editing was "The First" thing I realized would make a lot of sense to implement in this great platform."

"Wow! The ability to edit posts past 7days. That's the one factor that has been holding a lot of development. Can't wait!"

"I'm very happy to see the unlimited editing! That has been a source of frustration for a long time."

"The unlimited content editing is finally there ! I saw it on the GitHub some weeks ago and have been patiently waiting for it to get released ever since !"

"“Unlimited content editing (past seven days)”,opened a behind-the-scenes "dressing table" for the writers, and constantly seeking beauty is human nature.😄"

"I really like the part that it will permit unlimited content editting,"

"Unlimited editing is a fantastic idea. Between catching spelling errors and fine-tuning ideas, this will hopefully help promote quality content, which is the reason we're all here!"

Thank you, Steemit,

for at long last making this utterly essential change.

- @creatr


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more Steemit content, CLICK our Library Steemit Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

There are some interesting angles on this.

For content publishers/writers who are (more or less) publishing their work on the blockchain, indefinite editing means I could publish a short story on steemit, gather what rewards/accolades/spambot messages I may, then come back in a month when the story is long forgotten and....erase it. Or just leave a tiny teaser paragraph. Or a link to something else entirely. It does take away a certain feeling of permanence to the blockchain. Revisionist history.

However, it would also give me full control of my content and full ability to 'republish' that story with another (real/mainstream) publisher since the original would be long gone and Google would no longer see it (although the original versions are still stored on the blockchain, of course, they're effectively invisible for all intents).

So, it could be used for both good and evil.

"...the original versions are still stored on the blockchain..."

Yes, yes they are. That is the key which, for me, overcomes all objections to editability.

Writers live and die by their reputations. If you use this ability for evil, your reputation will suffer and your impact for evil will diminish. Watchdogs will be able to unequivocally display your perfidy.

Of course, some of the scenarios you've described are open to moral interpretation.

"Or just leave a tiny teaser paragraph."

I would maintain that this could be an entirely legitimate option, redirecting the "hoi polloi" to Amazon or wherever you may care to transact, exchanging your valuable wares for Steem or SBD.

In other words...

This is the best frickin' thing to happen on Steemit since,
like, for-EV-er!

It's all good!

Thank you for an outstanding comment! :D

If Shakespeare were alive and writing today, would he go back and edit his work? I don't think so. I'm of the school, the hand having writ, moves on...or as Jaggers says, who wants yesterday's papers (nobody in the world) lol

Ah, John...

That may well be true of the Bard forsooth. I do not imagine myself to be in a class with his genius.

I make typographical errors.
I make errors of fact.
I am inherently error prone.

That is but one category of reason that demands I have access to the eraser, to the scribal blade allowing me to correct my work.

I also write my songs and tell my stories with joyful trepidation. Though they may often be poorly drafted, without the ability to review them in the light of day and make appropriate adjustment, they would be even poorer still.

And so, today I celebrate the promise of this change for these, and other reasons still, not the least of which is my Library project. I can now rationally maintain a library of my work without having to take extreme measures.

If one truly cares to see and remark upon my early drafts, a blockchain archaeologist can unearth those paltry beginnings for him. However, I don't expect it to be worth the effort.

Everybody knows Christopher Marlowe edited Shakespeare's work.

(Sorry that's an inside joke for playrights and literary snobs.)

Unlimited Editing... wut? It's about fekkin' time! YAHOO!
I've got some old evergreen posts that need a facelift. Looks like I need to set aside some ME TIME to edit. Honestly, I'd kind of given up on that function. If you hadn't mentioned it, I would have been blind to this update! Thank you!

Yeah, great news fer sure! :D

Sharpen those pencils... Ready... Set... EDIT!!! ;)

Hey sounds bittersweet. Does this mean I can resurrect old content and post as new?

Also, FYI, new haiku contest round just opened - candy!

https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/contest-vdux-haiku-mosh-pit-2-sbds-and-more-for-the-winner

"Does this mean I can resurrect old content and post as new?"

You've always been able to do that on Steemit, although it is generally frowned upon... You can easily re-release an old article as if new.

However, you just can't edit articles beyond the initial edit cutoff period. That period was (initially) thirty days, and then was reduced to seven.

The promise (for which I am impatiently waiting) is that we will have the [Edit] button available on our own work permanently. So, when I discover a typo in this article two months - or two years - from now, I'll be able to fix it.

Thanks for the note about the new contest; I'll check it out. ;)

@creatr You have received a 100% upvote from @taginspector because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

That sounds like good news for serious steemit writers. The YouTube video was most interesting to learn from. Thanks @creatr

This is amazing, outstanding, long awaited news, Thanks!

They are really very good news, so you can add details to the publications and even update them. Greetings friend @creatr

Good news indeed, Thanks! :D

I am also excited to be able to access older publications, all points of view and author permission to add more value to the content of their publications. I join your celebration friend @creatr

Thank you, friend. :D

I knew this would make you happy! Lololol

I messaged you last week but didn't see your reply to my comment hehehehe😍

No, sweetie, you didn't message me... You simply left a comment under the article, which I finally saw today? :O

And, Yes, as you can see, this does make me very happy! :D

yessssssssss you are correct - i could have sworn I whatsapp'd you... but... i'm not seeing it hehehehe and - you must not have gotten the tag because you don't have GINA I'm assuming??? LOLOLOL

and yes - i knew it would!!!! :)

G’day mate! and I Upvoted you :) !
:
“Keep your heads up! We are sinking!” ====> Ljupka Cvetanova

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63152.69
ETH 3233.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45