30 Days of Steemit (Mr Gray would you like to visit my playroom??) Part 2

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Ok coffee had, it was nice being in the garden watching the snow thaw.

Before reading this if you have not read part one its best to start there so click on below.

30 Days of Steem (Move over Mr Gray!!) Part 1 this is a long post.

Discovering networking.

So Sykochica welcomed me to send her a DM about engaging with communities. I was already on discord and a member of two or three communities.
So i decided to message her, I felt nervous she had a higher rep that me, way more voting power, I tended to steer clear of whales and dolphins. I had read stories, but not all of them are true.
She asked me what I was interested in, to be honest I hadn't thought about it. So I mentioned some things, cooking, supernatural, travelling, homesteading.

By this time I was on three discord channels, that was about to become a whole lot more.

I knew there and then that the drama had to stop no more run ins. I actually made a post about it on day 17.

Day 17 Fulltime Steemit (That's it no more run in's no more drama from me)

(Credit Pixabay)

I needed to find what was right for me, on the platform. What I needed to contribute in what ever small way I could.

So I looked at the people I followed and dropped over 100 of them.

When I started on the platform I did follow for follow, I don't do that now. (You will see an article at the bottom explaining why.)

So I began to engage on discord in the groups. I was talking to people and getting to know them, learning how to use steemit properly. How to write up a good post for it to be recognised by others.

Then I published this.

I wrote a post about a restoration project I did last year, restoring an old wood stove. I really started to learn about markdown at this point and the importance it has to a good post.
I confess I am lazy when it comes to photos and use pixabay at lot, so I wanted to share my own pictures in this post, so I took a long time getting the post to where it was.

I am happy to say that it made the Daily Whistle Stop which is run by @enchantedspirit on behalf of Steem engine. I had many people commenting on the post that meant a lot to me... the money was nice but I was more excited at the interaction.

petchka.jpg

I knew I was on to something, it was starting to fall into place. The great thing about discord groups is the encouragement they give to curate other posts. For example Steem Engine has a hard and fast rule. Upvote and comment on two other posts before posting your own link.

So I did and suddenly my comments and upvotes jumped a little.

I went from 3 comments to 33 comments, ok the posts are not making hundreds, but now we were going into double figures of votes cast.
People were actually enjoying what I was reading and engaging with me. Because I was doing the same to them.

Another person I was getting to know @geordieprepper invited me on to his podcast to interview me about my life here in Bulgaria.

Preppers Perspective Podcast with crazybgadventure on DLive

By getting to know them in the chatroom, I was networking I was showing interest in other people's work. By this time three weeks prior I would refresh the post to see if anyone saw my posts, now I was looking at the vote history it was just a line of upvotes.

votes past.jpg

The interactions were becoming more and more and I was finding I was chatting more on steemit with other people than what I was posting.

Line break..png

Then I started listening to MSPWaves and Steemstar Network.

If you did not already know there are two radio networks for steemians which are MSP an Steemstar.
I started to listen to some of the shows and attend the chats, I made some great friends, on the platform and I have to give kudos to the DJ's who are volunteering their time, they don't receive a wage for what they do.

So that was more people I was engaging with and posts to curate and engage with.

By this time I was part of 15 different servers on discord, talking to people and getting to know them and building a close network of friends, who supported me and I support them.

Then most recently...

I heard about Pimp your post by @shadowspub which is run on thursdays. Which gives you an opportunity to promote either your own or someone elses post to an audience.

After listening to @Lenadr Cabinet of Curiosities on Steemstar I remember I had mentioned about my interest in the supernatural to Sykochica. I looked on *Dsound to see of there was any podcasts about the supernatural, but I could not find any.

So after a little bit of research and checking, I decided that I would do a weekly podcast and decided to do a competition. Which was for someone to design a logo and create a name. I promoted the post on PYPT and got a nice whale vote which made me smile.
At the same time I listened to other people and picked up about a couple @lindseylamb and @richardcrill who were moving into an RV full time. Which was my most favourite post of the week, and now I follow them and wish them well on their full time journey on steemit like myself.

The Dodge Mahal - Sneak Peek! 🚌❤️

Line break..png

There is so much more I want to tell you.

It's just impossible to tell you everything that has happened in the past 30 days but its all right there on my timeline or you to read, it's a lot of reading.

I want to share with you some of my achievements in my first 30 days they are small but significant.

  • Won 100 SP delegation for a contest run by @buckydurddle and @doghaus who run whatRUat show on MSP.
  • Won 15 steem for my story submission in the supernatural writing contest.
  • Featured three times in The Daily Whistle Stop run by The steem Engine.
  • Was a guest on @geordieprepper podcast
  • Was a guest on @pennsif radio show.
  • Launched a weekly podcast called stranger than fiction.
  • Started a project for full time steemians to be able to communicate with each other on a single platform.

Looking back on that now I would say I have made a significant step in my role here. There are too many people to thank who are supporting me and encouraging me.

Conclusion.

The past 30 days have been a rollercoaster of emotions good and bad. I think I had to get through the bad to get to the good to be honest. But I can make it easier for you if those that choose to listen listen.
If I can give you two pieces of information to help you with your path then these are it.

  1. Forget about the money... for now just don't focus on it.
  2. You gotta talk to people, if you are not talking to people you are not being seen.

If you chose to read all of this I thank you deeply, and to those that upvote and comment regularly I love you all.

I leave you with some of my favourite posts I have made in the past month.

Day 23 Full Time Steemit(I won 100 SP)

Snow day in the village.

The stray dog that captured my heart.

If you are doing follow for follow... Get off the platform!!!

The STEEM Engine

step1.png

ASAPERS

Sort:  

now your getting it! :) good!

I think the Russian wood stove was the first post of yours that I saw. I love antiques and restoration projects ... maybe as much philosophically as tangibly. :)

Lol do you know I was calling it everything under the sun yesterday @ancapbarbie.... it would not
stay lit..... :D

Finding out what you want to make and post is one of the hardest things to do, but an even harder thing to do is making it better. It'll take a lot of time and work, but be so worth it in the end.

I think I need to learn from you now @crazybgadventure !
You seem to be coming on leaps and bounds and I'm glad you are finding your feet x

I always have time if ever you want to chat @rufaz :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43